We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Panama for scenic beauty, a bit of relaxation or adventure and viewing wildlife while in comfort.”
Review of Pacific Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacific Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Bejuco
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Spent two weeks traveling around Panama with my wife and two boys ages 17 and 15. We had a great time exploring the Panama Canal zone, Lago Gatun, the Boca Chica region, Boquete and Bocas del Toro, however we all enjoyed our stay at the Pacific Bay Resort (PBR) the most. We probably saw and did more at PBR in two days than we did anywhere else 
It had a great balance of natural scenic beauty, invigorating activities, relaxation, amazing wildlife and solitude. Early one morning sipping some excellent coffee, I observed a group of howler monkeys making their way from tree to tree around the main lodge, whilst taking in spectacular views of Volcan Baru and nearby island beaches dotting the serene Pacific waters.
One afternoon, while my wife was reading on a swaying hammock strung between coconut palms on her own private beach, and while my boys were catching nice waves on boogie boards at the adjacent beach, I decided to explore the other side of the bay. Walking along the soft yet firm sand, climbing a few rocks, peering into small caves and crossing a shallow sandbar at low tide, I came across some fascinating geological formations where there were about 7 different colored parallel plates of rock jutting out of the sea. I wanted to explore the interior of Frank's daughter's jungle island but felt that would be better left for another time. So, I had to settle for collecting some beautiful sea shells and swimming in the warm ocean waters. 
Frank led us on a private guided tour around the "island" perimeter searching the tide pools for octopi or crabs. Later we kayaked in the calm open ocean amongst sea turtles and we wanted to kayak into the mouth of the river and venture upstream searching for small caiman and sloths but the tide was too low. We had hoped to snorkel at nearby Isla Seca or dive for a lobster dinner, but just did not have enough time. 
Late one evening on our cottage porch we viewed directly overhead both northern and southern hemisphere constellations, while simultaneously enjoying a spectacular lightening storm over the distant Chiriqui highlands, the combination which was uniquely breathtaking.
Despite what I have written, this place is not for everyone. These are not five star accommodations although very clean, spacious and comfortable. Thankfully there is no TV or internet. My biggest complaint would be the slippery cart paths one has to negotiate to get around the property. However, if you are somewhat able-bodied and are not too pampered, if you enjoy natural scenic beauty and a little adventure this may be just the spot for you. Frank is a delightful character of innumerable talents who passion is to ensure that you enjoy this island playland as much as he does. We certainly did and we all hope to be back someday!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 61 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

A wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature. The food and staff were outstanding! The owner was not only the "Jungle Whisperer, but our friend, guide, teacher, and made you feel right at home. He has a lot of love in his heart and great stories to share. You come to this place with a smile, and leave with one! A true JOY and experience in every way! The cabins are just beautiful, we were impressed!!!! It is like having your own private
sanctuary and island. Definitely worth the trip! :-)

Room Tip: The pink cabin down by the water if you want your own private beach and to hear the sounds of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexisebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I am writing to share our favorite discovery on a recent (July 2012) trip to Panama.

If your idea of a tropical getaway entails all-you-can-eat buffet, satellite TV, sub-zero air conditioning and jet skis, now would be a good time to stop reading. However, if you prefer to see Panama’s lush Pacific coast the way God made it, the Panama Beach Resort is your ticket. Accessible only by 20 minute motor boat ride from the tiny fishing village of Boca Chica, just off the Pan-American Highway en route to David, the PBR is actually a peninsula jutting into a sheltered bay, but with the slender neck of land connecting it to the shore covered in a dense green rain forest, it is best to think of PBR as a private island. The resort consists of just 10 reasonably priced, simply appointed, comfortable and immaculate cabins tucked into acres of unspoiled rainforest rich in wildlife and ringed with three football field length, pristine, white sand beaches.

The personable laid-back proprietor, who refers to himself fittingly as the “custodian,” Frank (frank@pacificbayresort.org,) turned his back on a successful career as a Boston-based restaurateur and real estate investor to follow his heart to this healthier, unharried, natural retreat. And PBR is a perfect mirror held up to his quest for renewal and reconnection. The entire estate is a model of self-sufficiency, sustainable use of resources and environmental sensitivity. From the solar panels that furnish all power, to home grown fruits, vegetables and herbs, to landscaping materials from the surrounding forest, everywhere the resort experience focuses upon what nature provides.

Frank may have put a career as a restaurateur behind him but not his love of fine dining. PBR serves its guests three truly gourmet meals a day, achieving a remarkable subtlety and complexity using simple, fresh ingredients often including fish pulled from the bay within sight of the resort and a wide variety of homegrown groceries.

There may be no pool with a swim-up bar; but even when all the cabins are full it is common to have a lovely beach all to yourself! There may be no humming AC but the rooms are well cooled by ceiling fans and dependable sea breezes. There may be no para-sailing, but In just two days of roaming the extensive grounds, we had chance encounters with howler monkeys, deer, agouti, black squirrels, several large and colorful species of crab, and nameless legions of exotic birds. And the resort is happy to lend its guest a sea kayak to explore the shoreline or to arrange excursions to snorkel or dive nearby corral reefs or to watch whales and dolphins in season. There may be no TV, but it is heaven-on-earth to pass the day reading in a swaying hammock. And, in what is perhaps the most remarkable facet of the experience, at night, there is not a single artificial light – not one – to be seen anywhere on the resort or the mainland beyond!

To put it more simply, the resort really delivers on it motto, “harmony at the jungle’s edge.” There is nowhere else like this and we simply loved it.

Richard H. & Deborah B.
Belmont, Massachusetts
2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Pacific Bay Resort was the perfect way to end our vacation in Panama. Imagine a secluded tropical location accessible only by 20 min boat ride, in the middle of a tamed jungle with three white sand, isolated beaches, with comfortable cabins and the friendliest staff you will find anywhere. That is Pacific Bay! Owned by a former Boston resident (Frank) we makes you feel right at home along with the rest of the welcoming staff who work to make sure you have a relaxing vacation.

Highlights of our time at Pacific Bay Resort:
- On one of the 3 secluded beaches of the resort, the only two people there, peacefully hanging in hammocks hung especially for us in the shady spot of our choosing
- The sunset from the main house/restaurant
- The personalized tour of the property by Frank
- Petting a baby deer who Frank and the staff have befriended
- Listening to howler monkies while falling asleep
- Sea kayaking in the aqua blue ocean (if we had been a bit braver, we could have gone to nearby deserted island to explore)
- THE FOOD! The amazing Chef Andy made us the most delicious food we found in Panama! My favorite was the poached pear for dessert, the home-made foccacia bread, and fresh fruit for breakfast. And it's included in the price!

It is off the beaten path, so it takes some effort to get there . . . but that is part of the point! It is also an extremely good value (Frank specifically created this place as an affordable option for the average person to be able to enjoy). The resort does a lot to support the local community, which made us feel great about spending time here as tourists.

Will DEFINITELY be back!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a bit of climb to the main house, so ask for a cabin closer to the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

It's remote. And there are geckos in the shower (sometimes). And the monkeys might wake you up at night while they swing through the trees. And you might run in to a hummingbird while walking down the very steep path. BUT (okay, fine, I actually love the previous things), it's really the most amazing place ever. Best bang for your buck you'll ever get, with great food, beaches to suit every taste, views that take your breath away (especially when you're watching a thunderstorm pass through - wow!), a good book collection, and comfy hammocks you can spend an entire day reading in. We went in July of last summer for a week and were the only guests. The staff was incredibly kind and thoughtful, and always inquired about what we wanted to eat and at what time. We will be going back - hopefully many times. As previous reviewers have said, it's paradise! By the way, bring good gripping walking shoes/sandals - the steep paths get slippery, especially after it rains.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first cottage (pink) called Chiriqui, closest to North Beach. We could hear the qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Pacific Bay Resort is a hidden gem. It takes a bit to get to it but that is part of it's charm. It's a beautiful haven away from computers and cell phones. Nothing but the sounds of birds and howler monkeys. Frank has gone to great lengths to make sure he is and his guests are respectful of the animals and the land itself. You can feel good about staying here. Frank himself is a great character. Always quick with a joke but also has a deep caring side as well. People who stay there become like family. The staff are all friendly and very respectful. One thing we were not expecting was the amazing food! It was to die for! Great food, great people and beautiful surroundings.....perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zimmer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We just left one of the most amazing places! Pacific Bay Resort is accessible by boat only. No Internet, no electricity (there is some solar power) and no phones. This is an Ecco vacation that is not soon forgotten.

It may be a little remote, but well worth the effort. The views are spectacular, the food is outstanding and the staff are so accommodating. I tore my Achilles tendon a few months ago and walking is a little difficult. But it was no problem for Frank and his crew. They took me anywhere I wanted in one of their golf carts.

The beaches are secluded and you pretty much have your own private beach. Did I mention the food?

Pacific Bay Resort far exceeded our expectations, we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CNielsen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Bejuco
0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 4 in Boca Chica
538 reviews
0 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 4 in Boca Chica
207 reviews
0 mi away
The Resort at Isla Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
0 mi away
Show Pony Beach Resort
Show Pony Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Hato del Rosario
5 reviews
0 mi away
The Buenaventura Golf & Beach Resort Panama, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Bay Resort

Address: Punta Bejuco, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Punta Bejuco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Bejuco
Price Range: $135 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pacific Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Bay Hotel Punta Bejuco
Pacific Bay Resort Panama/Punta Bejuco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing