We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, incredible food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Choroni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Posada La Bokaina
Ranked #2 of 14 Choroni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, incredible food”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here for a truly incredible stay. The hotel is tricky to find if you don't know where you are going, but we phoned them from the town, and they came to find us. The hotel is great with the nicest rooms I have seen in Venezuela. The night food is great, costing about £10 for a three course GORMET meal with drinks (the mango cocktail is incredible). The location is good, you feel safe (which is an amazing thing in Venezuela) and the staff really do their best to help. Much recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanAndMelissaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    25
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
56
88
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Berks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Choroni is a great place, especially if you are backpacking. It's the only place in Venezuela we've been to, so I dont know if the whole country is as free of foreigners, but we saw very few considering this is such an obvious watering hole.
There are cheaper options than Bokaina, but if you are with a family on a short beak (i.e not backpacking) then it's worth it. It's as close to town as you can get while still being on the other side of the river where the larger places are with proper gardens.
The owner is delightful, as you'll see from just about everyone else's reviews. The garden is under constant development, so I'm sure it will be just a bit better than last time. The only serious minus was the small pool, which was all the more irritating as they were building (quite silently!) a new large kidney shaped one in a perfect location while we were there, I'm sure it's finished now.
At weekends a chef turned up and cooked some top quality stuff, but during the week you are so close to puerto colombia that you have plenty of choice. We went to the beach every day, usually early. The life guards there get very upset if you go very far out, but it's great fun just getting hit with the waves.,there's obviously a serious undertow.

Incidentally, if you are backpacking, get to puerto colombia early enough to join a boat to chuao. They run all the time and you could probably hire one at almost any time of day or night, but it will just cost less. Chuao is much much cheaper and a great place to chill out in for any amount of time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Stretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We just returned from a 4 day trip to Choroni with our family. Based upon the trip advisor reviews, we decided to book with La Bokaina and it turned out to be a perfect choice. As others have written, the posada´s garden is like paradise. It is just as beautiful in real life as it appears in the photos on the website. As we were there in the off-season, things were very quiet and we actually had the place all to ourselves for a couple of nights. Evelyn was gracious and accommodating, as were all of her various staff. The posada rooms were spacious, charming and extremely clean. Breakfast in the mornings on the terrace was plentiful and delicious, filled with Venezuelan typical specialities and fresh fruit/juices. (One note - Carlos is no longer the chef at La Bokaina, but the lady who cooked our breakfasts did a lovely job. See the reviews on Madera Fina restaurant for info on Carlos.) The short walk into town down a verdant green path and over a bamboo bridge makes you feel like you are miles away from everything when you are really just a few minutes from it all. We would love to return again and can highly recommend La Bokaina.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamakanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We had a wonderful time at la Bokaina and highly recommend this place! The garden is the perfect place to relax and the beach is only a few minutes away. Evelyne and her daughter gave us great advice on things to do and restaurants to try out! Especially the little restaurant next door, Madera Fina, is a must!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie_herbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We can highly recommend La Bokaina to everybody who is looking for a perfect place to have relaxing holidays. We enjoyed the great breakfast with fresh juice and arrepas, the beautiful garden with lots of exotic birds, lying in the hammock reading books or using the free WiFi. The room was very nice and clean and we appreciated the warm shower.

Evelyn, the owner and charming heart of La Bokaina, has helped us a lot whenever we needed her. She is highly engaged to fulfil the requests of her guests and she as well as her son Javier and her staff have done far more than we had ever expected.

Carlos who prepares the delicious breakfast has now the little restaurant Madera Fina which is only a few walking minutes from La Bokaina. To have a five-course dinner at Madera Fina is a fantastic event you should not miss.
Both La Bokaina and Madera Fina were absolute highlights on our trip throughout Venezuela.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuliuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Venezuela
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I found La Bokaina as a beautiful, peaceful and charming place I’ve ever been before, is in side nature, you can feel the silence of the environment, the see waves, the wind passing through the trees, the birds singing, the river passes near the place so you can hear it...see it, and the personal attention that Mrs. Evelyn gives to all her guests is just perfect, she is a beautiful person and that`s really important when you are a tourist in a place you don`t know.

The room was amazing, super clean, the bathroom is big and comfortable super clean too, it has air conditioned and a fan, good light, anti mosquitoes net so insects can’t pass to your room while you’re sleeping...that’s important, there are hamacas all over the place just to relax, the water comes from a well so it`s great, it has cold and hot water.
The food is made by a chef is the best restaurant in all Choroni.
Here in Venezuela we have a lot of beaches, I’ve been in all of them but nothing compares the beauty and easy access by sea of Cepe, Uricao, Chuao, La Cienaga (which is a paradise), etc.
La bokaina has private access to one of the beaches of Puerto Colombia, so you can stay there and feel all the energy of the virgin place.
This is the most nature related accommodation place I found in choroni. If you want to disconnect yourself from the city noise and stress of maybe just something different this is the place I recommend because it worked for me and my husband.
The place was full when i arrived there were a family from Canada and a couple from England the rest were Venezuelans, the amazing thing was that in all places you can find privacy and you don´t feel the place crowded or annoying sounds...
So it`s perfect.
The people in Choroni is kind and happy is a very secure place in venezuela.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Particularly on weekends, Choroni, or better Puerto Colombia, where the beach is, can be quite crowded and loud. This posada has the advantage of being within five minutes walk of the village but is peaceful and quiet. The lush gardens are accessible from all rooms (each one with its hammock) and breakfast is served on the terrace. The restaurant service is friendly and good, the evening meals on offer are of very good quality. The rooms are simple but well decorated and functional. The air conditioning is a bit dated and loud, but one gets used to it fairly quickly. As anywhere in this area, at certain times of the year, insects can be a problem. The rooms are relatively free of them, when outside one does need repellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caracas2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Posada La Bokaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada La Bokaina

Property: Hotel Posada La Bokaina
Address: Hacienda El Portete, Sector La Bokaina No 4, Choroni, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Central Region > Choroni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Choroni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada la Bokaina is located in the heart of Choroni. La Bokaina is an oasis of tranquillity in an ever increasingly stressed world. Staying at La Bokaina means leaving your daily life and possible problems aside. With it's unique location close to the beach and village but isolated from stress and noise; amazing wild life garden (pool); great and spacious rooms (a/c, wifi, hot water, TV); and truly personal service, we assure that our guests will receive revitalising and enjoyable experience! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing