We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but frustrating at times”
Review of Casa Suaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Suaya
Ranked #1 of 8 Jose Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, but frustrating at times”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We liked Casa Suaya and would probably stay here again -- it seems like one of the better places to stay in Jose Ignacio which is one of the best places I've ever been. Just be aware that things are a little off.

The good: the beds were really comfortable; the location is pretty good, not that far from Marismo and other restaurants and a few minute drive from town; the breakfast spread was nice and the vibe at breakfast was great -- almost tropical feeling; the bar was great and fun and Tony the bartender was great; and you're in Jose Ignacio, so how can you not be happy?

The bad: the property needs way more lighting (it is a bit dangerous to find your way to your rooms at night); the property itself is a little dangerous -- one of the stairways up to the second floor had a handrail on only one side with a drop down to the first floor on the other side) -- they are asking for problems with that; we had serious problems at check-in. Apparently, two different people take reservations and they don't always talk to each other when making the bookings. We had booked two superior rooms for the first night and two junior suites for the next two nights. At check-in, we were told that the category of room we booked was not available. Furthermore, they told us that one of the junior suites would not be available on the second night. After much discussion, we took the rooms they were offering on night one and were told that we would be moved into a junior suite and a higher category room for nights two and three. Of course, after coming back from the beach, this had not happened for one of our rooms and we had to get into it with them again. It took awhile, but they solved the problem and put us in the correct rooms. It all worked out but was a bit frustrating. Also bad, the TV situation: on night one, we couldn't figure out how to work the TV and were told when we asked at breakfast the next day that there are only two channels in Uruguay (not true -- we saw many channels on the TV in Punta) and that we should care about watching TV since we were on vacation. The next day, one of our new rooms did not have a TV. When we asked about that the next morning, they told us it was out for repairs and would be replaced that morning. That evening the TV finally arrived and my husband had to help one of the workers at the hotel hook it up because he didn't know how to do it. They also offered us some DVDs to watch but the DVDs were either broken or in the wrong package. None of it was a big deal at the end of the day, just a little off. Also, the concrete in the bathrooms/shower is unsealed so after a shower, your room will smell like a wet sidewalk until it dries.

Overall, we absolutely loved Jose Ignacio and despite the issues we had, enjoyed our time at Casa Suaya, too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashjoffe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    46
    12
    11
    16
See reviews for
37
81
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Casa Suaya is very special. It offer charming and spacious rooms with sea view. Moreover, it balances privacy and attentive staff. The breakfast is quite simple relative to all the rest. It is tasteful and offers fresh fruit, juice, croissants, bread, and so on. However, Suaya is quite special and I believe breakfast deserves an upgrade. This is a minor thing and I am looking forward to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucarotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Casa Suaya for 4 nights in January. Neither of us had been to Jose Ignacio before but we were very pleasantly surprised. We absolutely loved the town and especially the hotel. We stayed in a separate bungalow which was very rustic yet very chic like most of Jose Ignacio. All the staff was very helpful, especially Fernando and Tony. They helped us with recommendations for restaurants and were all around really friendly. The hotel was a quiet getaway which we liked. They had a very good breakfast in the morning as well as a very nice pool area. Thanks Casa Suaya for a great vacation!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent Christmas 2013 there and had a lot of good, and some not so good experiences.

Positive:
- The room was very spacious and beautiful, the bed very comfortable.The only thing missing: A big mirror and the TV was broken, but has been brought to our room/replaced the second day.
- Toni, the barkeeper is extremely attentive, professional and always in a good mood. He was our highlight during the stay.
- The breakfast buffet is really good. Everything you need is available.
- The pool area is very beautiful, perfect to just relax the whole day and listen to good music.

Negative:
- The staff at the reception was not professional at all and not 4* hotel standard. (not even hostel standard)
- The set menu at christmas evening was way too expensive and the quality was very average.
- We didn't get back the IVA on our restaurant bills
- We complained on the first day, that we only have cold water. The second day, the water was still cold, and we had to talk to several people until the problem has been solved.

Overall: A beautiful place to relax and spend some days, but there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed at Casa Suaya for 2 days in December. I flew from BA to Punta Del Este, rented a car and drove approx 1 hr to Casa Suaya in Jose Ignacio. Very easy drive, hotel is on the main/only road along the coast.
Rooms: the rooms are beautiful, large, clean and rustic yet luxurious. I had some issues with the water in the shower(shut off mid shower), but it soon restarted and it was not a big deal.
This is a small property located in a beautiful area but very quiet. If your goal is to relaxation, this place is perfect! There is not much to do at the hotel but relax. Neither the restaurant/bar or pool area were very busy. The beach is across the street and a bit of a walk, we never went. We drove to Jose Ignacio town and went to the beach by La Huella there. As for La Huella, it's the main hangout in Jose Ignacio. We spent a full day there, lunch, dinner, drinks. The town is quiet and this restaurant seemed to attract all the visitors.
Overall, great hotel if you want a gorgeous view and tranquil setting. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmd10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Like Kim Bowen said, we were here for work back in February. I scouted this hotel ahead of time before choosing where to book my group of 14 associates during a 4 day break in the middle of our month long commercial shoot.

I was wary of the property because the reviews here were so violently opposed. Yeah...there are bugs in the pool...it's in the middle of a beach and a forest...that's what bugs do. Our power went in and out one night, making our A/C units beep with each off and on. So? Really? You're in a quiet, clean, luxurious, small property, in Jose Ignacio Uruguay. If that's your take away you need a longer vacation and another massage in the beach hut.

Mara, the proprietor at Casa Suaya could not have been sweeter and more accommodating to us. The bartenders & servers are cool. Most of the staff speak English. They do things by hand here. You never have to sign a bill. They just handwrite your chit and keep track for you. No key cards here. Good old metal keys in wood doors. But the rooms are not provincial or rustic. White linens, polished concrete floors, A/C units with remotes that do their jobs, beautiful 14' long drapes with black out curtains, open air showers. The Suites have kitchenettes, fridges in the smaller rooms, and the closets are the biggest hotel closets I've ever had the pleasure of utilizing to live unpacked.

Don't miss the Asado nights!! More meat cooked with love than you could possibly stomach.

And be sure to lay in the grass, just out of reach of the light from the campfire. You'll see more stars and your place in them than us city folk are almost ever blessed to witness.

You don't have to leave the grounds, but you could. Shopping in Jose Ignacio is elegant. And if you miss a meal at La Huella you may as well turn in your Foodie Membership card right now.

(*The photos are from my all access scout to make sure my well-traveled people would enjoy their rooms on their time off. I agree with Howell when he said, "I like me here!")

Room Tip: The 2nd floor suites have unobstructed views and cool balconies. You may want to request one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

...We had a little bungalow looking over the pond. It felt so private and the staff never bothered us, but they were available if you needed them. Sebastian and the entire staff were helpful and allowed us to make barbecues outside on their property. The breakfast room is beautiful and the food was wonderful, specially the doce de leche! So good!
The location is perfect, just steps away from the beach. The beach in April was totally empty, no one for 5 miles. We can't wait to come back in the near future.

Thank you Casa Suaya for the best vacation of our lives!

Carla and Patchy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jose Ignacio
0.2 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
153 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
#5 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
46 reviews
1.7 mi away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
111 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lomas de San Vicente
Lomas de San Vicente
#40 of 65 in Punta del Este
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Suaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Suaya

Property: Casa Suaya
Address: Ruta 10 km 185.5, Jose Ignacio 20881, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jose Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Suaya 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy traveling and opt for discretion; intimacy and comfort Casa Suaya is for you. Your experience at Casa Suaya will be unique, you won't be a room number for us, you will be our guest.Whether you decide to explore Jose Ignacio or just cozy up and spend the day on the property, we have everything you will need.Stay with us and you will feel like home, where you begin and end you day in your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Casa Suaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Suaya Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing