We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved staying there...”
Review of Casa Suaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Suaya
Ranked #2 of 9 Jose Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

...We had a little bungalow looking over the pond. It felt so private and the staff never bothered us, but they were available if you needed them. Sebastian and the entire staff were helpful and allowed us to make barbecues outside on their property. The breakfast room is beautiful and the food was wonderful, specially the doce de leche! So good!
The location is perfect, just steps away from the beach. The beach in April was totally empty, no one for 5 miles. We can't wait to come back in the near future.

Thank you Casa Suaya for the best vacation of our lives!

Carla and Patchy

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 170 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

To say that Mara and her wonderful team made us feel at home would be an understatement: Casa Suaya is a paradise, an elegant yet understated homely affair on a gorgeous stretch of Atlantic Ocean Uruguayan coast. This owes much to the owner and his excellent team, as well as to the care brought to design, comfort and general coziness. I can only express heartfelt gratitude for stumbling upon such a gem of a property.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilsfavdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just loved this hotel, restaurant, staff, pool area and the big and comfortable room!
There was just a small problem: we have not received the IVA back from one of ours restaurant bills. We have been to several restaurants in Uruguay while travelling and all of them, during the summer, have given the IVA amount back at the credit card for foreigners. I have emailed the hotel twice, without an answer. Actually is a very small amount of dollars, but the lack of an answer makes me rating 4 stars instead of five.
Alexandre Gomes, from Brasil.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liskauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Arriving by plane from Buenos Aires to the small, but pristine, airport of Punta del Este - I was in desperate need of a break. I had only contacted Casa Suaya the day before my trip and several members of staff got in touch with me to help me organise my flight and car rental (We used Marinio Sport and could not have been happier). Upon my arrival, on a windswept, overcast day in Autumn, I was greeted by Mara. Mara takes care of Casa Suaya and all of its guests and treats us all like family. She showed us to our rooms - huge, wooden rooms with massive beds and fireplaces that looked over the off-season sand dunes of Uruguay.
I wasn't sure of what to expect of Jose Ignacio but now I can't wait to go back. Casa Suaya has the unique capability, that only a few, really special hotels have, of making you feel like you are staying with family whilst enjoying a 5-star experience. I would highly recommend Casa Suaya!

Room Tip: We stayed in ocean-front rooms and were very happy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a fantastic weekend at Casa Suaya this Easter holiday. The weather couldn't have been better. The second level rooms are a special treat as you have wonderful views of dunes and sea. Nothing could be more relaxing than sitting on that terrace with that view. The rooms were nicely appointed with white walls and floors. The rooms had nice sheets and the maids did a great job of cleaning. Breakfast started at 9:30 and there are usually families waiting. Lunch was not that great, too salty and too expensive. The prices are high but you are in Jose Ignacio.

The beach is wondeful. We tried surfing and enjoyed swimming in the waves.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Well, this place is laid-back, very laid-back. The hotel is great to stay but the hotel needs some 'updates'. For example the pool area: The pool was a bit dirty and not filled up on hot days. There are also a lot of nails sticking out of the wooden floor.

The restaurant has a limited card (5 or 6 'dishes' lunch and dinner are the same).
Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The hotel didn't meet up to our expectation but we had a nice stay. (the website is great!).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The place is about a mile from Jose Ignacio, which makes it perfect since Jose Ignacio in season is not a quiet sleepy place anymore. The setting is spectacular. The rooms are elegant in their simplicity, there is no unnecessary pomp; huge windows let the sea and the dunes in.
The beds and linen are first rate. The maids clean the room as soon as you leave it.
Breakfast was not the best, too much starch, not enough fruits. They should warn that the five dollars espresso is not included.
The fish at dinner was spectacular, better than in restaurants nearby.
All the requests were immediately seen to.
All in all it was a delightful stay. We will return.

Room Tip: The second floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank natasha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jose Ignacio hotels
0.2 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
#5 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
47 reviews
1.7 mi away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
111 reviews
3.2 mi away
Laguna Garzon Lodge
Laguna Garzon Lodge
#8 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Suaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Suaya

Address: Ruta 10 km 185.5, Jose Ignacio 20881, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jose Ignacio
Price Range: $161 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Suaya 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy traveling and opt for discretion; intimacy and comfort Casa Suaya is for you. Your experience at Casa Suaya will be unique, you won't be a room number for us, you will be our guest.Whether you decide to explore Jose Ignacio or just cozy up and spend the day on the property, we have everything you will need.Stay with us and you will feel like home, where you begin and end you day in your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Suaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Suaya Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing