We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Suaya
Nearby Hotels
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio(Jose Ignacio)(Great Value!)
$126
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lomas de San Vicente(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$440
$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Paradiso(Jose Ignacio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Laguna Garzon Lodge(Jose Ignacio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbol Casa Loft(Jose Ignacio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
94
47
13
11
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
47
13
11
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscan't wait to come backboutique hotelrelaxing vacationuruguayocean
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 182 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I'm very surprised by the poor reviews here. This is a peaceful easygoing lovely place by the sea. You can swim in the sea, sometimes there are Jellyfish, I guess on those days, hike along, find a spot where they aren't, and get on with your life, that's not hard, is it?
The rooms are clean, very pretty, breezy if you wish, AC if you prefer.
The restaurant is great, delicious, healthy, well prepared food.
The staff are very friendly, kind, efficient, well organized. My AC leaked the first day, it was fixed and perfect within 30 minutes.

I am here with a group of people, some of us working, some chilling, this place works for all of us, the internet works well.

There are lots of insects in the pool, they jump in every night, and that is life in the tropics, you just swim on, and off they drift, no big deal. There is even a tiny frog, a rather beautiful little thing.

Juan Ignacio is a beautiful little town 3k away, a walk or a drive. Taxis can be abominably expensive, borrow a hotel bicycle or rent a car.

The only thing I would be wary of is the house red wine. Chilled, it tastes great, only the next morning are its true colors revealed. I shall not partake again.

If you want a Four Seasons, then this is not the spot for you. If you want peace, good food, great music, cool people then this is the spot.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms at the back of the hotel are the ones, if you are in the back, otherwise ask for the rooms at the front, closest to the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My stay at Casa Suaya was everything a vacation should be: relaxing, beautiful, elegant, nourishing. The property is impeccable. The service is exactly how I like it (attentive, but not over the top--it's the kind of place where you do your own thing rather than have staff all over you at every moment). It's right on the beach. And you feel like you're at the kind of place that only a lucky few get to experience. I had heard about the owner, Adolfo Suaya, as a food and nightlife impresario in L.A., and his experience in hospitality really shows here. Everything is gorgeous and simple, there's a sort of Bohemian/European vibe, and nothing is over the top. It's the perfect intersection of luxury and relaxation. I've been to some top luxury resorts like Round Hill, Casa de Campo, and Lyford Cay, and this is my new favorite. It's just a realy cool, enchanting place. Its hard to understate that. If you go, make ABSOLUTELY certain you spend a long leisurely lunch with pitchers of clerico at La Huella (a world class restaurant nearby--worth the trip alone) and be sure to make it to the treetop Vietnamese spot Nam. I want to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is truly upsetting. I hardly ever write long reviews, but in this case I guess I can make a lot of people happier by recommending them to stay away from this place. Yes, the rooms are wonderful, tidy, spacious and offer a nice view (if ur on the second floor)! But the rooms are not exactly the problem. Neither, the location. Jose ignacio is beautiful and it has a bunch of great restaurants close by (make sure you come by car, which you will also need to get to a beach! You cant really use the beach by the hotel!) Its the poolarea: wow - out of nine days, I made it into the pool once, but only because i was dying of heat. The pool is pretty disgusting. its very disappointing, cause the poolside is pretty much the only thing casa suaya has to offer! The owner claims on the website you can bring your friends to the poolside, but i assure you you dont wanna bring anyone to this dirty pool. Everything around here is a little rusty and about to break. Plus the service is unprofessional, the breakfast is super simple and dont dare to ask for anything addiotionally than whats on display - the "waiters" will give you a confused look. The management desperately needs an update in hospitality. Our criticism did not come as a surprise for any one in the area, its seems like casa suaya is relying upon the hype of jose ignacio during the season to get this place booked. The owner def needs to invest in his property, especially the pool, as rumor says it its not the first season in which the pool has turned green. Some people who work here are lovely, kind and amazing and I feel sorry for them to have this place as a reference. Leo, for example is the DJ at the pool and the concierge. He has by far the 'bestest' music in jose ignacio! The owner was fair enough to offer us to move out with a reimbursement, but most things were fully booked plus it would have been a little too stressy! At least they tried a little harder! Despite all empathy and love I have for the nice individuals who work here, I simply can not recommend this place at all. This property requires a proper make-over! Do not let it disappoint you!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AleOel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We want to complain about casa suaya services and value for money. Two of the three days, there was no hot water, we had to call twice to get our room cleaned, and there was no bread during breakfast. When we complained to Mara, she said that Expedia should be the one to be responsable and that they could not do anything about it. The location is beautiful but do not expect a four star hotel service. No hotel managers were available while wecwere there, and the only two people availble were helpless. Not worth $275 a night.... A joke.

Room Tip: Not worth the money
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Monts2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have spent a long weekend at Casa Suaya last March.
Great place to stay....in front of the beach.....2min from Jose Ignacio beach, and la "Huella".
Excellent breakfast, don't miss the medialunas clients!
The room very spacious, and the service great!

We really hope to be back for New Year eve!!!

Thanks again for the great hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lore_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews