We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go off season!! And relax,”
Review of La Posada del Faro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada del Faro
Ranked #1 of 8 Jose Ignacio B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Go off season!! And relax,”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I must say, Jose Ignacio is one of my favourite spots globaly,

During high season, late december and january this is packed place and and the village is crowded,

Go in march, when they left,, this place is beautiful and people go there for a reason.

Excellent staff, great rooms, best sunsets during dec jan, a bit worse in marc april when sun sets over land,

Pretty basic rooms but lots of feeling, great community rooms, like the tv room, or the pool area,, a open bar by the pool, where you make a mark if you mix a drink youself ,

Borrow bikes or rent a golf car, for faster access to La Huella, or Cafe la Place.

Great value off season, incredible expensive high season, plan your holiday.

Room Tip: One floor up, ( which means top floor) More privacy and better view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicklas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Schweiz
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The posoda is more than it appears from the outside.. it is a small jewel that will offer you everything you are asking for: great service, great vibe and what a view... fi you want to disconnect from the world this is the place to go to F2 will be back again for sure. and everything is close and can be reached by bike. cheers frank

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankherrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

JJ, from the 70's TV show Good Times, would love this place b/c it is Dyyyy-no-miiiiiite!! It's kinda small-- about the size of its neighboring beach houses, but still it pops--clean, good-sized suites (at least the upper corner ones) with a homey backyard, pool deck and cool little swim-up bar, sweet views of the sand dunes, south atlantic, and sunset, close to the beach and the little town of Jose Ignacio, and fashion-forward owners that break the mold by being incredibly sweet and mindful of their guests even though they look like they just stepped off a jet from Milan. I think that's it---the posada del faro is not what it appears to be from the outside. It exceeds expectations at every turn. It quickly feels like a big beach house you've been going to every summer for your whole life. Too bad it's 5000 miles away, or i would indeed go back every summer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RossGrisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Posada for 3 nights in April, which are the autumn months in Uruguay. We had the entire hotel all to ourselves for the first evening. Punta del Este was very very quiet this time of year and as such there weren't many dining options available to us; most establishments were closed mid-week (we ate many a chivito). Our host at Posada did his best however to help us find places that were open and although we were the only people there, someone was always at the front desk. Breakfasts were stupendous; we ate fresh fruit and eggs by the pool overlooking the ocean just a stone's throw from the beach. I loathe the term barefoot chic, but love enjoying the atmosphere of a barefoot chic establishment :) This hotel is the best example of it I have ever seen. They knew when to serve us and when to leave us alone.

The only problem I had was that although there was only one other couple staying on the premises we were put two doors down on the same floor as them. Although we made friends with our vacation cohorts and had a lovely time, the quietness made us feel like we had to whisper and tip-toe around our room. It would've been nice if they had put a bit more distance between us...They could've upgraded us! All and all it was great. Loved the bon fire they built us, the attention they paid us, the privacy they gave us, the LOCATION cannot be beat but it fell short of spectacular on that one point. We would definitely definitely return during busier months

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cage434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camberley
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We spent 2 nights at La Posada del Faro and enjoyed it immensely. The location was superb and the hotel well appointed with a personal service. In all it was a sensational place, which deserves more publicity.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Light years away from the 70’s high rises and flashiness of Punta del Este, yet only about a quick half hour by car, is Posada del Faro. This place has laid-back charm written all over it. It’s like you get to go hang out at your friend’s posh beach house. While it may not be the most fancy or luxurious hotel in the Jose Ignacio/Punta area, it certainly may be one of the most charming and cozy. The first thing that has to be said for it is location. If you come to Uruguay for the beach, this place is amazing. Right out the front door is a great stretch of beach on the calm side of the peninsula. If you can, get one of the upper level rooms and you will have an incredible ocean view. One thing that I loved about the rooms were the fireplaces, which came all set up with wood and pinecone starters, so with the flick of a match, anyone could have a fire going in no time. The staff is totally relaxed, and lets you have your included breakfast at any hour of the day, so if you party hard the night before, you can get up at 2pm if you want and call for your breakfast in bed.
There’s a ton of stuff to do in the Jose Ignacio area, such as surfing, kite surfing, horseback riding, and the hotel has nice Trek bikes that you can use for free. If you feel like lounging at the pool, the hotel library has tons of books, and piles and piles of magazines. In the summer the place will be packed out, so book way in advance.
For me winter was a great time to go…Jose Ignacio was dead, and I had amazing waves and the beaches literally all to myself, which was priceless. The place isn’t exactly the cheapest hotel you can find, but if you are worried about saving a few dollars, you probably should stay away from the Punta del Este area in general. All in all, I had a great time at this place, relaxed profoundly, and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

A great location - with fantastic views and beaches.
But the Poasada del Faro seems like a hotel where the management have given up.
We stayed in this hotels 5 years ago and have just returned.
The rooms are now faded, the towels and linen old, the pool often dirty.. there seems to have been no maintenance since our last visit!
Its living on its past reputation, but there are now many other better places to stay in wondeful Jose Ignacio.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fussy-guests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jose Ignacio hotels
1.9 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
#5 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbol Casa Loft
Arbol Casa Loft
#9 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Faro

Property: La Posada del Faro
Address: Calle de la Bahia Esq. Timonel | Faro Jose Ignacio, Jose Ignacio, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jose Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada del Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Posada del Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Faro Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing