We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of La Olada

La Olada
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Jose Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We are so happy we came to check out this restaurant! We enjoyed the intimate, warm atmosphere inside with the chefs in the kitchen nearby. Great looking cozy patio outside and a cute, funky little bathroom worth mentioning. Service was good, friendly, unobtrusive. Noticed lots of JI restaurant owners also in for dinner so knew this was the ticket.

The menu presented a pared down number of choices from what we were used to seeing and it was a nice change. The green salad was fresh, full of a variety of greens, and huge - one of the best if you are looking for a simple salad done well. We had the lamb which melted in your mouth and the mussel ravioli, which aside from unheard of, was beautifully served and delicious. I come from the PNW with menus full of mussels and I've never had a dish quite like this. Albeit labor intensive, I will be replicating this from my kitchen.

This is a real find and recommend you scope out the location while it is light outside so you don't miss this restaurant as it is located off the primary road. It was our last night in SA and a fitting meal to end our trip. So happy we found it and will definitely return on my next visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    69
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very cool place. Felt like we were in a Ralph Lauren Ad”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is pretty difficult to find, but worth it. In a funny neighborhood about a 10 minute walk from jose ignacio. Delish pizza, amazing pumpkin with goat cheese and arugula. We didn't sit on the patio, but I imagine it is pretty incredible in the summer months.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wende N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Probably our best meal in Jose Ignacio”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Like many of the restaurants in JI, this place has good food and ambiance. Unlike many restaurants in the area, it also boasts great service and somewhat reasonable prices. The meal an cozy atmosphere made for a great night that was topped off by a a glass of wine near the firepit.

Helpful?
Thank travelbug_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We really enjoyed this restaurant - one we went to because during low season (early Dec) everything else was closed, but one we would have gone to anyway. We went twice, it was so good! They have ample outdoor seating (with two fires) and 5-6 tables inside. It is very rustic and cozy, and the resident cat, Lucy, will come up to you for a little petting every now and then. We had the lamb which absolutely fell apart it was so tender, the steak which was one of the best we've had on the continent and the mussel ravioli which was perfectly cooked and so flavourful. It's a testament to how good the food was when we can also rave about the sides - juicy eggplant and zucchini and a perfectly crispy-yet-soft-in-the-center potato.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rustic homely setting in La Juanita (close to Jose Ignacio)”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Lunchtime visit and what a lunch it was! Great outdoor location (indoor seating available) with house garden with herbs and salad that go straight into the cooking / I've heard the mojitos are good, will try next time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Olada also viewed

Jose Ignacio, Maldonado Department
Jose Ignacio, Maldonado Department
 
Jose Ignacio, Maldonado Department
Jose Ignacio, Maldonado Department
 

Been to La Olada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing