We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you want to experience a hotel where you feel you've lucked out and been invited to the most gorgeous home for the weekend where the staff and hostess will do anything to make you happy PLAYA VIK should be your choice. Situated on a perfect beach near Punta Del Este without the Miami Beach feeling, this work of art structure is filled with fabulous art, the most perfect staff and fellow guests from all over the world. Each suite is designed by different South American artists. A cantilevered pool hangs over the beach which is inhabited by sensational homes of the rich and famous of South America. Very quiet and peaceful, almost isolated, Jose Ignacio is home to the chic beach shack resto La Huella provides great people watching and social activity. Season is very short but we went just prior to that in November and LOVED the experience. Reminded us of the Hamptons in winter in the 70's. empty and gorgeous $$$$$$$ but worth it for a special treat

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janieB1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 99 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I just stayed at Playa Vik and absolutely loved it. By day you can enjoy sunbathing by the modern, infinity edged pool (which is most likely what you'll be doing as the pool is not heated) and in the evening your eyes will be diverted to the gorgeous sunset views out over the ocean as the property is situated to face the setting sun and at night you'll be stargazing in the night sky and in the pool. A stunning light installation embedded in the bottom of the black granite pool by James Turrell depicts the very same constellation of stars. Check out #playavik on Instagram to see all the photos (there are tons) and know that those don't even do this place justice.

The staff was very accommodating and helped us make reservations at various restaurants (La Huella, Olada, La Susana, etc). They also helped us schedule a couples massage in our room which was amazing (and surprisingly not too pricey at $100 per hour). We stayed in the Valentina suite - a MUST if you stay at Playa Vik. The room has a view of the pool, beach and of course the sunsets. The front window opens (very James Bond) so when the weather is nice, you can catch the sunset in the privacy of your own room while getting the same view as anyone down by the pool and still get the breeze. The Valentina Suite is in the main structure and has a HUGE walk in closet. The bathroom is also very big and has a cool design (and huge tub).

During our stay we went horseback riding at their sister hotel, Estancia Vik. The estancia is more of a ranch style hotel and has a pool table, BBQ (parilla - just call to ask when these BBQs are being done - unfortunately we missed this opportunity but hear they're wonderful) and a pool. If you stay at either hotel you get access to both which is great if you want a change of pace at any point during your stay.

I've stayed at some beautiful places (Post Ranch Inn in Big Sur, Four Seasons in Budapest, etc) and this really tops the list. Truly a breathtaking hotel in a wonderful town. It's the perfect balance to the laid back vibe of the rest of Jose Ignacio while still getting pampered. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Valentina Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tashu0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

For quite some time we wanted to visit José Ignacio and stay at the Playa Vik. Finally we made it and it's worth every dime. We love the place. Outstanding design & location, extremely nice and attentive service - and one of the most beautiful pools of the world. Best place to stay at José Ignacio. Would we come back? Anytime.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjacobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Playa Vik is a small (11 room) but beautiful hotel located in the charming and very trendy fishing village of Jose Ignacio. The main , art filled "Structure" contains two huge suites overlooking the infinity pool and ocean as well as public areas on the floor below. The remaining rooms are in other contemporary design buildings, all done in a very tasteful fashion. The young staff is very friendly and accommodating. The food is good but not great, especially given that there are a number of very good restaurants in the vicinity, several located in the village which is a short walk distance away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

stayed here at the end of a great holiday and it was the highlight. Quite possibly the most ridiculously extravagant place I have ever stayed. Clearly a huge amount of love has been poured into the design of these incredible spaces. James Bond would be very at home here....

Go for a room in the main sculpture building - esp valentino - as you get the most amazing sea views and the most amazing james bond style opening windows.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect at this small hotel on the beach in the small exquisite town of Jose Ignacio. Friendly attentive service, great food, marvelous art and furnishings, a nice pool, very comfortable suite - it was all as good as it gets. It is right on the quiet beach in town with fantastic sunset views. The town is the nicest beach village we have ever seen. We are going back as soon as possible.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JimKeeneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The property is superbly located with a 180 degree view of the beach. The architecture, the artwork, the infinity cantilever pool, the open common area....every corner I turn my heart skipped a beat. Great architecture does not normally go hand in hand with comfort and utility but here it does, to the perfection!!! And I don't even know how to begin thanking the staff, they are all friendly, efficient and kind. Service even starts before you check in. I was in the Jose Ignacio area already but had to stay somewhere else because it's fully booked as of four months ago. They let me enjoy the hotel facilities even before I checked in and arrange me to attend their New Years party. The food was also amazingly good, something that I do not expect of hotels. I really am very impressed and will definitely book now for next year. What a gem!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jose Ignacio hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
56 reviews
2 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
263 reviews
5.1 mi away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#5 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Laguna Garzon Lodge
Laguna Garzon Lodge
#6 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Paradiso
Hotel Posada Paradiso
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa VIK Jose Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa VIK Jose Ignacio

Address: Los Cisnes y Los Horneros, Jose Ignacio 20402, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jose Ignacio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jose Ignacio
Price Range: $676 - $1,465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa VIK Jose Ignacio 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Playa VIK Jose Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Vik Jose Ignacio Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing