We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Extraordinary Experience Not to Be Missed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“An Extraordinary Experience Not to Be Missed”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Playa Vik is unique in the world. An architectural masterpiece with stunning modern furnishings and art; set on a charming beach in a locale that must have been what the Hamptons, St. Tropez and St. Barths were like before they were discovered; and with a staff as pleasant and accommodating as any we've encountered in years of travel. Our suite was perched over the beach, with floor to ceiling windows on two sides, a luxurious platform bed with top-of-the-line Frette linens, an art deco desk, a huge bathroom with hand-carved maple tub and sinks and a free-form rain-shower area, and an enormous walk-in closet that could have handled our entire wardrobe, not just what we brought on the trip. Our three days there were the most relaxing of any holiday we've had, with the manager Augustine and his English speaking staff making us feel very special. The delicious buffet breakfast (with Nespresso machine, homemade bakery items, a waffle maker and eggs to order) started each day. The small but well-equipped gym with windows to the lawn allowed for good work-outs. And about the wonderful staff: From arranging and even accompanying us on a horse ride at the gorgeous sister property, Estancia Vik, to arranging for meals at very special local restaurants, to providing bikes for a coastal ride by miles of beaches, and much more, we have never had better attention at a resort and certainly never had such personal attention. Moments after our arrival, a platter of local cheeses arrived with drinks, along with an offer to unpack our luggage for us. Even housekeeping was better than most, sensing when we were out of the room to do service and turndown, so the room always was in beautiful shape. We especially appreciated the stated effort to introduce us to Uruguayan culture and food, so that our visit was not just a generic beach resort stay. Cannot recommend Playa Vik more highly based on our experience.

Room Tip: The suites in the main building -- called "the Sculpture" are perched over the beach while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capcityman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Elevated 100 feet above the beach, Playa Vik perches its guests in pure luxury with a 270 degree command of a rare, pristine part of the Atlantic coast. I watched the fisherman rig their boats and depart to sea every morning as I arose in our fabulous suite. Playa Vik has an elevated level of hospitality – the super-friendly staff believe in the property and are proud to be apart of a resort driven to an elevated level of service, which is revealed in their happiness, warmth and family-oriented approach to service. Thanks to all the staff for adopting us into the Playa Vik family.

The chef is top-notch and always accommodated our 11-month old son with fine dining equal to our meals, which were clean, light, fresh and delicious. The best part of the experience is sunset dining – in the spacious and simply elegant dining area we felt elevated to the level of the distant horizon as the sun falls amidst an expansive view of the Atlantic. Then the celestial lights in the pool come on to mirror the heavens. Ahhhhh - an elevated Eden it is!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Sitting by the simply stunning pool at playa vik, you cannot help but a certain amount satisfaction that you have made it! With only a few hotel options in Jose ignacion itself (due to tough zoning laws), the Playa Vik maintains both discrete luxury (there are no signs to even advertise it is a hotel) while being within walking distance of the social hotspots of this luxury destination. The place is so relaxing and accessible, that I would go so far as to challenge the actual necessity of a car (defined as a requirement by most guides to the area - but really, spare yourself and get a driver to transfer you from the airport).

The rooms a luxurious with great bathrooms. Understated modernism summs them up (sure we have had more charming (Dutch house Sri Lanka) or had more toys - but the rooms tick most needs).

Service is charming and reasonably attentive. The live in staff is young and enthusiastic. They might lack some polish and you might crave the care you got on your last Asia trip - but he'll, this is the beach in south America - what did you expect! They go out of their way to help when asked, and we're delightful with our baby (who they quickly adopted as their own).

Where criticism is to be found it is unfair to focus it specifically on the Vik. This is a luxurious and exclusive community where things come at a price. Meals will cost you 80usd pp without wine (typical throught the town, with the excellent pizza joint being the low cost option at 30usd for a reasonably sized chunk of dough) while the hotel has few bottles less than 80usd (the house wine is truly great - from chile). But when you are paying over 1000usd for a room belt is time to be philosophical, i reckon. The food could also be better, and the much remarked upon grills never happened while we were there!

So should you go? If you are coming to this corner of the world, hate big resorts and are passed roughing it, then this is for you. But here is a bit of advice. If you can get a larger group, I would improve value and toys by hiring a villa. And given a choice, try to come in march, where it will be off season, (while still being hot) and you moght have a fighting chance to negotiate a deal.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank APURKISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, co
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I recently had occasion to stay at Playa Vik for several nights. To be clear, the physical property is unreservedly unique and 100% as advertised – that much is unrebuttable. Moreover, Jose Ignacio is as unspoiled and charming as everything you’ve read. That said, this property suffers from a conspicuous identity problem. Upon arrival, guests are told that the goal of the property is to make people feel like they are staying in their own homes/apartments, as opposed to at a hotel. Indeed, guests are actually asked to sign somewhat quizzical tenancy-like agreements that are similar to what one might sign for time-shares and “hotels” where the units are privately owned, and rented to guests. But, in reality, this is not a home/apartment rental situation at all, inasmuch as there is daily maid service with evening turn-down, and a modest breakfast is included in the lodging rate. On the other hand, most of the service/conveniences you’d expect at a high-end hotel are either absent or poorly explained. For example, there are no menus for snacks, lunches, or dinners, and guests are left to try and locate dining staff and communicate with them about what’s possible to eat (English is spoken, but not terribly conversant). Moreover, the hotel made numerous dinner reservations for us, but it never dawned upon them to proactively provide confirmations/driving directions, etc., rather it was incumbent upon us to locate hotel staff, ask if reservations were indeed made, and then solicit directions. To be clear, the “concierges” at the property are definitely helpful when approached, but it’s far from the professional/welcoming sentiment one would expect in this price point. Accordingly, this property needs to either offer a dramatically more user-friendly experience that is consistent with what you’d expect at other similarly priced properties, or they need to ratchet back the price for what is actually provided.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank dylanjefferies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Truly one of the most idyllic properties in South America. The casual elegance and luxury with a genuinely kind staff, caring for every need was a highlight of our family trip to South America. Families with children of all ages felt comfortable along with couples as well as individual travelers. The staff at this property, along with their sister property, Estancia Vik, several miles inland and entirely different, yet equally as spectacular, were amazing in their level of professionalism and care for our well being. The properties are both works of art, each room unique and comfortable with only the finest linens. The chef prepared wonderful meals. A real highlight not to be missed is the seafood BBQ on the deck ocerlookingthe ocean. Very worthwhile. Highest reccomedndation. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

this is one of my favorite hotels. beautiful pool looking out on the ocean, great spaces for sitting, reading, sunning or having your meals. each room is fitted with difference accents and art, and the architecture is really special. the staff is incredibly nice and food was delicious. *highly recommended*

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moderndayxplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

...too expensive for what it is. Don't get me wrong, the place is a movie location, the service is great, the view is fantastic, the rooms are pure design, but it's just overpriced.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank marvelloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jose Ignacio
2.0 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
153 reviews
5.0 mi away
Laguna Garzon Lodge
Laguna Garzon Lodge
#8 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
98 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa VIK Jose Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa VIK Jose Ignacio

Property: Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Address: Los Cisnes y Los Horneros, Jose Ignacio 20402, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jose Ignacio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jose Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa VIK Jose Ignacio 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Playa VIK Jose Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Vik Jose Ignacio Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing