We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated luxury in south amarica's st tropez”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Understated luxury in south amarica's st tropez”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Sitting by the simply stunning pool at playa vik, you cannot help but a certain amount satisfaction that you have made it! With only a few hotel options in Jose ignacion itself (due to tough zoning laws), the Playa Vik maintains both discrete luxury (there are no signs to even advertise it is a hotel) while being within walking distance of the social hotspots of this luxury destination. The place is so relaxing and accessible, that I would go so far as to challenge the actual necessity of a car (defined as a requirement by most guides to the area - but really, spare yourself and get a driver to transfer you from the airport).

The rooms a luxurious with great bathrooms. Understated modernism summs them up (sure we have had more charming (Dutch house Sri Lanka) or had more toys - but the rooms tick most needs).

Service is charming and reasonably attentive. The live in staff is young and enthusiastic. They might lack some polish and you might crave the care you got on your last Asia trip - but he'll, this is the beach in south America - what did you expect! They go out of their way to help when asked, and we're delightful with our baby (who they quickly adopted as their own).

Where criticism is to be found it is unfair to focus it specifically on the Vik. This is a luxurious and exclusive community where things come at a price. Meals will cost you 80usd pp without wine (typical throught the town, with the excellent pizza joint being the low cost option at 30usd for a reasonably sized chunk of dough) while the hotel has few bottles less than 80usd (the house wine is truly great - from chile). But when you are paying over 1000usd for a room belt is time to be philosophical, i reckon. The food could also be better, and the much remarked upon grills never happened while we were there!

So should you go? If you are coming to this corner of the world, hate big resorts and are passed roughing it, then this is for you. But here is a bit of advice. If you can get a larger group, I would improve value and toys by hiring a villa. And given a choice, try to come in march, where it will be off season, (while still being hot) and you moght have a fighting chance to negotiate a deal.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank APURKISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boulder, co
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I recently had occasion to stay at Playa Vik for several nights. To be clear, the physical property is unreservedly unique and 100% as advertised – that much is unrebuttable. Moreover, Jose Ignacio is as unspoiled and charming as everything you’ve read. That said, this property suffers from a conspicuous identity problem. Upon arrival, guests are told that the goal of the property is to make people feel like they are staying in their own homes/apartments, as opposed to at a hotel. Indeed, guests are actually asked to sign somewhat quizzical tenancy-like agreements that are similar to what one might sign for time-shares and “hotels” where the units are privately owned, and rented to guests. But, in reality, this is not a home/apartment rental situation at all, inasmuch as there is daily maid service with evening turn-down, and a modest breakfast is included in the lodging rate. On the other hand, most of the service/conveniences you’d expect at a high-end hotel are either absent or poorly explained. For example, there are no menus for snacks, lunches, or dinners, and guests are left to try and locate dining staff and communicate with them about what’s possible to eat (English is spoken, but not terribly conversant). Moreover, the hotel made numerous dinner reservations for us, but it never dawned upon them to proactively provide confirmations/driving directions, etc., rather it was incumbent upon us to locate hotel staff, ask if reservations were indeed made, and then solicit directions. To be clear, the “concierges” at the property are definitely helpful when approached, but it’s far from the professional/welcoming sentiment one would expect in this price point. Accordingly, this property needs to either offer a dramatically more user-friendly experience that is consistent with what you’d expect at other similarly priced properties, or they need to ratchet back the price for what is actually provided.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank dylanjefferies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Truly one of the most idyllic properties in South America. The casual elegance and luxury with a genuinely kind staff, caring for every need was a highlight of our family trip to South America. Families with children of all ages felt comfortable along with couples as well as individual travelers. The staff at this property, along with their sister property, Estancia Vik, several miles inland and entirely different, yet equally as spectacular, were amazing in their level of professionalism and care for our well being. The properties are both works of art, each room unique and comfortable with only the finest linens. The chef prepared wonderful meals. A real highlight not to be missed is the seafood BBQ on the deck ocerlookingthe ocean. Very worthwhile. Highest reccomedndation. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

this is one of my favorite hotels. beautiful pool looking out on the ocean, great spaces for sitting, reading, sunning or having your meals. each room is fitted with difference accents and art, and the architecture is really special. the staff is incredibly nice and food was delicious. *highly recommended*

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moderndayxplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

...too expensive for what it is. Don't get me wrong, the place is a movie location, the service is great, the view is fantastic, the rooms are pure design, but it's just overpriced.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank marvelloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Max, the english guy and the other in the staff was great. We had barbeque lunch, one day eith fish and other with meat. View of the ocean and very peaceful. One of best place we Ever been to. Stayed at estancia vik but was more than welcome to playa vik Every day. We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanddw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

By far the best place in José Ignacio, Punta and vicinity.

Astonishing location, architeture, staff...Glamorous and yet low profile.

Unforgettable sunset, worth every penny...

Thanks for the excellent servive, Ryan, Juan, Gonzalo and all the guys.

Hope to came back soon....

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jose Ignacio
0.9 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
46 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
153 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
17.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa VIK Jose Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa VIK Jose Ignacio

Property: Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Address: Los Cisnes y Los Horneros, Jose Ignacio 20402, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jose Ignacio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jose Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa VIK Jose Ignacio 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa VIK Jose Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Vik Jose Ignacio Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing