We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find, Right Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Find, Right Price”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent the last five days of our SA trip at Posada Arenas and couldn't have picked a better spot. This is a small hotel architecturally designed by the owners and complemented by the clean modern style as is found in Jose Ignacio.

I can't say enough about the staff at hand. From the moment we arrived to our departure, we were taken care of in a way that made us feel like we were amongst caring family. Inquiries, requests, and recommendations came at the right time, were genuine, and handled with pleasure. We had a couple lights which were not working properly in the bathroom and we came home to a note indicating we would be upgraded to another room. This wasn't necessary but again only demonstrated their focus to our satisfaction.

The rooms are simple and clean and brightened by natural light from the windows. The bathrooms have nice large showers with windows privately looking out to the terrain. Hammocks flock the entries looking out to the infinity pool front stage and center. The place to be for a perfectly refreshing dip on a hot day. Or, you will be provided with chairs and towels and you can head to the quiet beach reached by a five-minute walk. Bikes are also available upon request. This is the perfect setting for relaxation away from it all but if you need to tap in, WiFi works on a dime.

Excellent restaurants are aplenty but you really need a car to venture about as the hotel is off the main road, remote and quiet. Once the sun sets, you realize you are far, far away. When you look up, you realize how far you've come when all you see is the sky lit up only by the constellations which appear before you. Jose Ignacio is a very special place and this hotel really bridges a price gap that barely exists. Joined with the simplicity and friendliness within, this is a true gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    26
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
34
81
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you are the type of person who doesn't like to read long reviews - then the punchline is that this is the best hotel you can stay at in Jose Ignacio for the price range, you can feel confident that you are making the right choice with Posada Arenas. For those who wish to earn a bit ore, please read on...

I stayed here for 5 nights over the Xmas holidays as part of my honeymoon vacation in South America. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and there is a pool in the center "courtyard" (more of a garden with a pool and hammocks in front of every room) but what sets this place apart is the hospitality of owner Fernando and his team (all English speaking and extremely friendly). They not only made sure that the trip was special, they were a pleasure to talk to throughout the stay.

The property and its architecture is visually appealing and make it easy to lounge around in the mornings or late afternoons. Also, while the property is located about 5-7 minutes away by car from where the 'action' is in Jose Ignacio, they share the road with a well-known and popular dining destination (Murismo) for the vacationing jetsetters, so you can rest assured that you are still extremely well-located and close to the 'must-see' locations. However, you will want to have car if you stay here, though you could theoretically use any of the bikes provided by the property, which is a nice touch (but whoever heard of showing up at a fashionable destination on a bike?).

I also stayed at Miradores for a night, and preferred Arenas hands down. I plan to make this my go-to when vacationing in lovely Jose Ignacio.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at the Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio for 3 nights. I originally was planning to stay for 1 night, but the place was so relaxing and nice, I extended my stay. The owner has done a great job in designing the posada. It is very modern and holds a great Uruguayan charm.

The setting is also amazing. You are a couple of blocks to the beach, set in an area surrounded by trees and sand. You are minutes to the Laguna de Garzon, where you can kite surf. And a small boat tows you across the lagoon to miles of empty beaches. You are also minutes to the Pueblo Jose Ignacio, which is located on a point surrounded by water on three sides. Make sure you visit La Huella for lunch or dinner. There is no place quite like it.

I will definitely be back to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jud5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This Posada is owned and managed by the very accomplished architect who designed it and his wife. They were beyond accommodating and helpful when it came to local knowledge, things to see, great restaurants - anything at all. Although this property is away from the beach, it is a short hop to some of the best beaches you could ask for. Jose Ignacio is a very exclusive area, so being a little off the beach front makes for a more affordable experience, and the Posado itself is wonderful, hammock on your balcony - what more could you ask? Wi-Fi in your room, everything clean and stylish and tasteful. A lovely pool right out of Architectural Digest is the centerpiece of the property. The Posada is in a wooded area, great for a morning hike before the included continental breakfast. A great place to stay, we were treated warmly and were otherwise left to ourselves - perfect!

Room Tip: They are all good. No worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmanblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed in Posada Arenas in Jose Ignacio over Easter this year and would recommend it to anyone.

The town of Jose Ignacio came as a huge surprise. We were delighted to find such a cool little town not too far from Montevideo. We adored the atmosphere (quite trendy and high-end yet relaxed and easy going) delicious food (La Huella is a MUST), and great beaches.

Posada Arenas is away from the main town which makes for a nice run or a very short drive. The hotel is like a very cool house, all white and very cozy. The living is a perfect spot to enjoy a bottle of wine by the fireplace with a good book. We loved waking up to a simple yet tasty continental breakfast which we enjoyed outside by the infinity pool. The rooms were large and extremely confortable.

I would go back to Posada Arenas and Jose Ignacio in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This bed and breakfast was paradise. The owners are architects, who took great care to create a comfortable and elegant 12-room hotel. There are two buildings, two floors each. There is a covered deck along the rooms, with hammocks for lounging. All rooms face inward toward the infinity pool and outdoor lounge area. The main room, where a breakfast of fresh baked goods, yogurt and fruit are served each morning, has wood floors, white couches and a comfortable airiness. The rooms themselves are basic, with air conditioning. We were there in the off season at the end of March and were the only guests for one of the nights. The manager was friendly and willing to sit with us and share his mate and knowledge. The beach was across the street and Jose Ignacio a short drive away.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaeffron65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2012

In this "posada", I can feel the "sense of place". But it is not enjoyable only for this special place, but for the high quality of the staff service and facilities (simple and excellent architecture). And Fernando and Ester, owners and managers, make the visitor feel very good, with a friendly way of acting.
Environment surrounding, the forest and close the beach, make possible to ride bike (ecological way without car, that I enjoy very much).
Good place to come back.

regards, Daniel Ruggiero

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jose Ignacio hotels
0.5 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
#5 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
92 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
111 reviews
3.5 mi away
Laguna Garzon Lodge
Laguna Garzon Lodge
#8 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
98 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Paradiso
Hotel Posada Paradiso
#6 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio

Property: Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Address: Calle la Farola a 150 m de ruta 10 km 185, Jose Ignacio 20402, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jose Ignacio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jose Ignacio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jose Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PosadaLocated 150 meters away from virgin beaches, a few steps away from the best restaurants of the area, and in a very attractive natural environment, Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio is conceived with an intimate profile which privileges your relax.Only 2 kilometres away from Playa Mansa and Playa Brava of Jose Ignacio which counts with cultural and gastronomic proposals of premium quality.Suroundings5 kilometres from Laguna Garzon, declared world heritage and an ideal environment to practice all kind of water sports.Twelve comfortable rooms, lobby with wi-fi and drink bar, two comfortable terraces and a large gallery with hammocks facing the pool will let you enjoy this singular space with plenty of calm and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Arenas De Jose Ignacio Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing