We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE”
Review of La Huella

La Huella
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Jose Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“LOVE”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

What is not to love? Delicious food, great ambiance and it is on the beach. My son could do art 20 feet away at "the art shack" while we ate! They even have blankets if you get chilly!!! The curry shrimp and sushi were my favorite. I think I went everyday for lunch for a week!

Helpful?
Thank heeweeLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,079
    527
    155
    69
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London,England
Level Contributor
272 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Haute beachfront!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

La Huella is the epitome of the ideal beachfront restaurant: fabulous location directly on the beach in the tiny village of Jose Ignacio, excellent food and a vibrant atmosphere. The menu is eclectic ranging from sushi and sashimi to grilled octopus to tasty small "pizzettas" to grilled meats and "volcanic" chocolate deserts. On top of this you can get a very decent dry Martini and there is a good selection of wines (primarily) from Argentina and Chile.The menu is written only in Spanish but the staff do their best to help non-Spanish speakers. The crowd is young and everybody seems to be enjoying the good life as it would be difficult not to do when dining at La Huella. Reservations are strongly recommended especially in the high season since this is reputedly one of the best restaurants in Uruguay and located on one of the most fashionable stretches of coastline in the country.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Vibe, Good Food”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Setting wise, you cannot paint a better picture. Small seaside village, beach setting and rather funky interior all add up to a great restaurant setting and the food is very good, well prepared. I understand this is one of the places to go and place to be seen on the Uruguay coast, which always is a good marketing tool for any business. Our family has traveled quite a bit and La Huella does live up to the hype. Worth a visit and about a 45 minute ride north from Punta del Este. We went for dinner and will go back for lunch so we will be able to take advantage of the wonderful seaside setting. This restaurant is on the beach, sand leading up to the entrance, so dress accordingly. Reservations required.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Latinman4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
205 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere Ibiza style”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We dined twice at La Huella which is an amazing place. Nice staff, they even recognize you after a first visit. We especially liked their onion/ goat cheese starter as well as their prawn spaghetti. Very cozy atmosphere with all possible candles lit. Second evening there was an event with a famous Argentinan chef and the place was packed. Maybe service suffered from that. At 11:00 pm people were still queueing to get in. Fascinating to see the Uruguyan and Argentinan upper class come and go. Reminds us of Saint Tropez and Ibiza.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better than the hype!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were so excited to try La Huella after reading about it in Bon Appetit magazine. We planned a trip to Jose Ignacio just because of La Huella. I'm happy to say that it totally exceeded the hype! We had two lunches there (on Christmas and on the 26th) and loved everything about the restaurant. The food is amazing (the mini-pizza grilled in the parilla, the little bites of fried fish with pesto aioli, the grilled fish [amazing!], the linguine with clams, etc.), the clerico is great (as is the Uruguayan rose) and the vibe is just perfect. It feels like St. Tropez without the pretension and it's actually less expensive than it could be. There are two lunch seatings: 1:30 and 3:30. The 3:30 may be the more in demand seating but we did both and actually preferred the first lunch seating. Definitely make reservations in advance!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashjoffe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Huella also viewed

Jose Ignacio, Maldonado Department
Jose Ignacio, Maldonado Department
 
Garzon, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to La Huella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing