We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Otorongo Amazon River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$367
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$351
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Explorama Lodge(Francisco de Orellana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveler rating
231
19
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
19
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishlocal villageamazon riverpink dolphinsother guestsflora and faunalocal guideexotic animalsjungle experiencehis knowledgeno hot wateran amazing experiencepygmy marmosetshome cookedfood was greatpeacock bassremote village
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 255 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We are the type of travelers who travel on a budget but look for extreme adventure. We found it at Otorongo Expeditions. Our correspondence began with the efficient and affable Elena, our liaison at the office in Iquitos, bridging the gap from the U.S. to Peru. Upon our arrival, Anthony, the owner and founder of the lodge, personally came to our hotel to greet us. Great first impression! Our expedition started the following morning when our guide (and fast friend), Edinson, picked us up at 8 o'clock sharp. That was when our adventure into another world began: long hikes deep into the jungle, winding boat rides into the flooded forest, fishing for (catching and eating!) piranha, encountering exotic animals, birds, insects and seeing both pink and gray dolphins. We took night walks with our guides, and several evening boat excursions. Spooky! ....and fun. Another highlight included visits to some small villages down river from the lodge. Highly recommended. And each evening we watched the sun set over the Amazon - some of the most beautiful we've ever seen.
The lodging was rustic, but very comfortable, and the food was out of this world. The buffet-style meals were shared with people from around the world. Lively travel stories abound! The hammock room offered optional afternoon siestas. Also highly recommended.
We would be remiss if we didn't mention our boatsman, Tayo, from the nearby village, Oran, who enhanced each day trip with his local knowledge.
The hospitality and generosity of Anthony and his staff made this a once in a lifetime experience. ...well, maybe twice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful basic lodge, great food, and an expert personal guide to take you hiking, camping, fishing or canoeing. But most importantly: the stunning scenery and wild life of the Amazone Jungle!

All organized to perfection.. Thanks for a wonderful time!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Michiel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I can't imagine a better organized and satisfying amazon lodge than this. I was a solo traveler and was assigned a guide for my entire visit. I had told Eddy(my guide) that I was primarily interested in photography and he took it to heart. Once he spotted something, an unusual bird or poison dart frog etc. he would not go on until I had the shot I wanted. A good and patient companion, Eddy and Otorongo Expeditions made my Amazon trip truly outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardenerSonomaCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

As a mature couple in the final weeks of our year around the world we wanted to end our time in Peru on an adventure. With budget running close to dry we wanted value for money whilst ticking the boxes in getting the true sense of being in the Amazon rainforest and amongst the wildlife/birdlife/flora and fauna. Otorongo seemed to match our requirements. From the first e-mail with Elena in the office in Iquitos until we arrived back at the airport after 5 days we could not fault the service or professionalism of the company. Osmar, who was to be our personal guide, collected us from the hotel and travelled with us to the lodge being constantly on hand should we have any questions or need anything whatsoever. His English, knowledge of the area and wildlife/birdlife were outstanding. With Mike as our boatman, the four of us spent many enjoyable and interesting hours together. These guys have the eyes of a hawk, spotting things that we sometimes struggled to see even with binoculars! Each morning and afternoon is spent on a different activity with just your guide and boatman, to ensure that guests are not tripping over each other and have plenty to chat about over the fantastic delights that arrive from the kitchen, courtesy of Rikki and his assistant. Catch your own dinner on one of the fishing trips and within minutes it's a culinary delight. Anthony and his wife, Ivonne, have left nothing to chance in ensuring that guests receive comfort, service and top class hospitality. The lodge's environmental and sustainability promise are to be commended. Our list of things that we saw, photographed and those that we stepped clear of is immense - go for yourselves and find out the wonders of Otorongo. Thanks to everyone of the team at Otorongo for a totally 'amazoning' time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We wanted to get away from people and enjoy the jungle. You have to go pretty far down the river to get that accomplished. Otorongo is a little less than a hundred miles out of Iquitos and it took us about 3 hours to get there, but getting there was lots of fun in a boat all to ourselves, with fresh air cooling us from the hot day and the first experience of the big Amazon all around us, the time flew by.

Hernan Ayambo Sanchez was our guide for 5 days. He is a native of the area and knows every tree, bush, bird, insect, mammal, fish, and river that you can imagine. From early morning to sunset ( with a break for lunch and a little time to relax) we were out exploring the rivers and jungles. He and Joe his guide in training, could spot what our untrained eye could not. They were our personal guides and they were sure to do their best to accommodate our every request. Thank you, we will never forget our time with you. I hope you get your wish to travel to Europe one day.

The grounds at Otorongo were beautiful surrounded by jungle, and there were some funny parrots that live there too. They put up quite a loud show when in the mood. My favorite was the green parrot that walked around the chairs outside.

Our room was "basic jungle" with a dash of fancy as we had our own bathroom. Don't forget your head light and flashlight as when it gets dark at Otorongo....it gets dark! No electricity except from solar and that is limited. Our room and bathroom at night had a small light that helped only to find the flashlight. The room was screened in well and we had nets over the beds, but we found no bugs in our room! We did find plenty outside so don't forget to bring repellent! Don't be afraid of what they call here the "rainy season" most days were sunny and wonderful. We had some showers but it felt great to cool off in them. You go down flooded areas by small boat rather than walk and that is more the difference.

The food in Otorongo is included in the price. We had a good breakfast, lunch and dinner, that gave us a chance to chat with other explorers and compare sightings. The food was tasty local fair with a lot of rice, beans and fried bananas to compliment meat and fish dishes. They serve local juices that I have never heard of, but most are quite good! The beer is extra but it is cold and wonderful no matter how expensive, but don't forget to count how many you drink for when you leave and you have to tally up.

My one big concern is the problem with the locals discarding plastic bottles in the river. I think it would be a win/ win situation for the Lodges in the area to start a program of recovery with the locals. When you call yourself an Eco Lodge, the worst thing to see is plastic floating by in the Amazon River! Perhaps talking to the elders of the villages and encouraging them to start a pick up program. They want tourist money to come to their villages just as much as the lodge owners want the business. To convince them that tourists want to see the nature not man made, harmful, plastic. I want the Amazon to be around when my grand kids come to have the same wonderful experience I had.

Room Tip: If you don't want to sleep in your room, try the hammock room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fcoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews