We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian carvery!”
Review of The Chequers Inn

The Chequers Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of the village of Lytchett Matravers, The Chequers Inn is an idyllic country pub & restaurant. Having recently been taken over by husband and wife team Tim and Vanessa, The Chequers is enjoying a new lease of life with fantastic food and great quality ales and lagers. The famous Sunday carvery is still a huge hit and there is a wonderful new children's corner to keep those little ones occupied and allow you to fully enjoy your meal.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being a vegetarian going to a carvery isn’t ideal you’d think. But I went with my family & was spoilt for choice and came away with a very full plate that filled me right up. So don’t write off this carvery if you’re vegetarian-it’s amazing

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Scallyveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of 6 friends staying in Swanage for the weekend.
Went to The Chequers after a recommendation, excellent service,wonderful carvery, small and large plate available. Great selection of vegetables including red cabbage my favourite. The desserts were delicious, especially the white choc parfait.
Thank you to all the staff

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank elliebellie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited 22nd September for a family Sunday Carvery. Food was average/acceptable but service was truly chaotic.
Nobody overseeing or running the show - staff randomly taking drinks and food orders with no idea of which tables were still waiting or had been served.

Staff working ‘hard’ but without any direction.

Sunday lunch took nearly 2 hours - and that’s with lots of chasing from me.

Presented with wrong bill at the end of the meal.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank KelvinW919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited after looking on Tripadvisor, we ordered a fish and chips £13 and a ham and chips £ 10.25. Well, what some large portions of really good food, we could not finish our meals.We will definitely be returning when in the area.I cannot see why this place is not higher up the reviews, be aware though no food Monday and Tuesday evenings.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rover201457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

After being extremely let down by the neighbouring St Peter’s Finger we stumbled across this delightful pub. We couldn’t be more pleased. It is now our new favourite place to eat. The food - particularly the carvery - is excellent! The wine is superb and the service is friendly and welcoming. A new firm favourite! Bye bye St Peter’s Finger - won’t waste our time there again.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Looking4TheBe5t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers Inn also viewed

Lytchett Matravers, Poole
Lytchett Matravers, Poole
 
Sturminster Marshall, Wimborne Minster
 

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing