We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service + guides, leopards, cheetahs, wild dogs, but is it Namibia?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okonjima Bush Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Okonjima Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent service + guides, leopards, cheetahs, wild dogs, but is it Namibia?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and were upgraded to a bush camp suite. The Lodge operates to a very high standard (comparable to what we have found in South Africa, and has that sort of feel). Food, accommodation and service were all excellent. We also had an excellent guide- Martin. Clearly the experience here is a little different to what we had experienced in other game focussed properties because the predators are collared to aid tracking. Of course as is pointed out without this it would be very difficult to see leopard and wild dogs, and through our own experience in other parts of Africa we know this to be the case. With locating made easier, it is possible to see more “action”- we saw a leopard with its kill, and subsequently saw it go up a tree to retrieve it, bring it down and take it into thick grass. We saw wild dogs and cheetahs, and also porcupine at the evening feeding. The provision of bird seed to draw birds to the area outside our suite was a particularly nice touch. Overall we enjoyed Okonjima- but we were fortunate to be there in the low season with low visitor numbers. This lodge does have a more commercial feel, and with a full camp and with increased numbers as a consequence of the expansion currently underway, the experience could be very different in the next high season. Certainly it risks moving away from the authentic wilderness experience which attracted us to Namibia in the first place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwalker1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    85
    29
    11
    2
See reviews for
75
321
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Okonjima and really wished there had been time to stay longer. The rooms were beautiful and Jonus our guide was wonderful taking us on leopard safari drives - magical ! The walking cheetah tracking experience was also a first for me and an amazing experience to stand just a few feet away from 3 cheetahs! I would definitely recommend this place - and i would love to go back. Thank you to all at Okonjima. Andrea and Steven.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at AfriCat for 1 night in Jan. of 2013. It is an amazing place, and we were thrilled to see cheetah and leopard close up. My husband went on the walking tour to spot the cheetahs on foot, and my daughter an I did the more educational part of the tour, which ended up visiting the "Adams Family" cheetahs. Our guide Gideon was amazing! He was really great with my daughter and I know he educates kids in the area. With people like Gideon on staff, hopefully the problem of farmers killing the cheetahs will decrease because he did a fantastic job explaining the problems that cheetahs face when orphaned. The time spent w/ him alone was worth the trip for me and my daughter - very educational. AfriCat - you've got a great guy there!!

Our only problems were with the facilities...our room smelled - like maybe a broken seal on the toilet? - it had a sewer-smell. Once we figured that out and kept the bathroom door closed, it was better, but unpleasant, still, and we couldn't move. And at dinner for our only night there, we were seated at a table right by the entrance to the tent. We were swarmed and I mean SWARMED with moths!! We had to have covers over our drinks and they were crawling on our glasses and on us! It was seriously uncomfortable!! We didn't notice others in as much distress - not sure if it was because we were right by the entrance or what?? (My husband is from Africa and he even thought it was out of control.) Needless to say, we had about 2 bites of our dinner and left. It was seriously unpleasant, and given that we had no other alternatives for food, it was very disappointing.

So, AfriCat, from the animal part and staff (desk staff, definitely the drivers and Gideon, etc) - Excellent! - the room and the dining part - not so great. I'm sure it could be better for others. We might have just had bad luck there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I still can't make my mind up about Okonjima. On the one hand you get a close up experience of leopards and cheetahs but on the other you can't help but think it is a bit of a zoo.

The accommodation was excellent, we had a view room which was spacious had everything you required with a fabulous panoramic window out onto the bush where impala, oryx, warthog and Guinea fowl roamed.

We arrived in time to visit the Africat project and had close ups of cheetah and caracal along with a very rare pangolin that had been rescued by a lady from the near bye cap vulture centres. The guides back at camp were very jealous as none of them had ever seen a pangolin!

Our guide, Angela, was very knowledgeable about the cats but was poor on anything else. Okonjima prides itself on the number of birds there but we did not stop to study them. Also the activities were very one tracked. If we were looking for leopards we did not stop for cheetahs. On our leopard drove past two cheetahs without stopping as they were not on the morning's itinerary.

Okonjima was our insurance policy if we had not seen many cats elsewhere and so it proved though we had been lucky enough to see a leopard up a tree in Etosha. To make it a near certainly that you will see the cats some truly wild leopards and cheetahs have radio collars so you are virtually guaranteed close encounters with both. From that point of view a stop on either to or from Etosha is very worthwhile.

Room Tip: The view rooms are spacious quiet and as described have a fabulous view of the bush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felixstowejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Villa, an upgrade as the main camp was undergoing renovations. We were 4 friends and loved the Villa. We had our own chef, guide and manager at our disposal and had a wonderful relaxing stay. Two of us went on a game drive with Norman who was brilliant and knowledgable and we saw an aardvark at the waterhole in the evening, a very rare sighting. The villa was large, the rooms huge and well appointed and the pool overlooking the waterhole lovely and cool. The food was well prepared and the wines brilliantly chilled. I would highly recommend the villa , if you can afford it, if you want close encounters with cats and a certainty of seeing something special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Thank you Okonjima for such a memorable last night in Namibia. We stayed at the Luxury Bush Camp - perfectly appointed, elegant and relaxing.
The 'house' warthogs provided constant entertainment on the lawns in front of the Lapa. The staff were efficient, friendly and gracious. Our chalet was perfect and we really enjoyed feeding the birds on our doorstep with the seeds etc. provided by the camp.
Breakfast and dinner were excellent.
The highlight of course was finding leopards and cheetahs on our safaris. Our guide - De Vries was exceptional - such enthusiasm and knowledge.
I could go on and on but suffice to say this is a must for everyone! Aaaah! Namibia at its best!

Room Tip: Bush camp room no 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariannehoyymanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The place is beautiful, the staff are friendly and very helpful, the food is top class, but what made our stay exceptional was the guide we had - Peter. He was very knowledgeable and got real excited about the animals around him, his enthusiasm was endless and infectious. We only stayed 2 days at the start of our holiday, none of the other places we visited came close.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otjiwarongo hotels
112.0 mi away
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Otjiwarongo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
113.5 mi away
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge
#2 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#7 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
111.1 mi away
C'est Si Bon Hotel
C'est Si Bon Hotel
#4 of 10 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
110.9 mi away
Bush Pillow Guest House
Bush Pillow Guest House
#3 of 10 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okonjima Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okonjima Bush Camp

Property: Okonjima Bush Camp
Address: Okonjima Private Nature Reserve, Otjiwarongo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Otjiwarongo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Otjiwarongo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Okonjima Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OKONJIMA - home of AfriCat, a non–profit organisation, committed to long–term conservation of Namibia's large carnivores. AfriCat started out as a welfare organisation, but after many years of rescuing large numbers of carnivores from irate livestock farmers, it became apparent that the long-term survival of large carnivores on both commercial and communal farmland, is dependent on finding solutions to the ever-increasing human-wildlife conflict. OKONJIMA hosts the exclusive Villa & Bush Suite, Bush Camp, Main Camp, the private Omboroko Campsite & the Volunteer Programme – PAWS. Halfway between Windhoek and Etosha. (B1) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Okonjima Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okonjima - Home Of Africat Hotel Otjiwarongo
Okonjima Bush Camp Namibia/Otjiwarongo, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing