We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Industrial safaris” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okonjima Bush Camp

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Okonjima Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
Level Contributor
246 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Industrial safaris”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

On the plus side: leopards and cheetas. Not a "guaranteed" sight, but almost, as some animals have collars and can be traced. And food is good. On the down side, it is more of a giant zoo and the guide we had was frightfully rigid: driving along our "safari", we saw 2 leopards sitting on the side of the road, but she refused to stop, as "we already saw leopards and we need to leave some for the other car to see". As if 2 cars stopping would be too much for those leopards... Also, a much too long talk (2 hours) on the Foundation, rehashing what we could read in the materail left in our rooms. All this while standing in the lovely 35 degrees shade. After spending time in lodges with extremely personalised and friendly service, this was a disapointing and expensive experience. Fans only in rooms, so very very hit during the day. Oh, and by the way, full board here means breakfast and dinner. Lunch is extra...

Room Tip: Garden view is cheaper and smaller, but for a short stay, good enough as most time is spent outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    85
    29
    11
    2
See reviews for
75
321
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were happy at the smaller Bush Camp. The chalets are neat structures and very relaxing. We had good luck with both cheetah trekking and leopard tracking, and enjoyed the visit to the nighttime hide with porcupines and honey badger. A few might complain that the cats are collared, but 1) the rudimentary radar system is definitely not GPS and there's no guarantee (esp if the cats are hanging out in the thick african bush) and 2) I fully enjoyed and appreciated the experience for what it is meant to be. I learned a lot about the cats, conservation efforts, and the many difficulties faced in protecting them -- Education is their main goal. The staff were noticeably young and energetic (and I was surprised to see the camp managers were also young). The food was tasty, though it felt a tad formulaic to me. Overall, we really enjoyed our visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Okonjima is home of Africat (a free cat). It has several lodges to stay at, from camp site, to main camp, to bush camp/suite to a villa. We stayed at the main camp in a view room. This "new" built room is free standing and has lovely views over the savannah. It is very spacious and modern. There we 2 big double beds with a view to die from. Who says you need a television when your view from your window is the best one to watch? Oryx. jackal and other wildlife just in front of your room.
We had a lovely welcome. The surroundings were astonishing.Very friendly staff and great guides. Our special thanks goes to De vries. Very enthusiastic person and very knowledgeable.

Without Okonjima (the lodges) Africat will not exist so please take part in the Africat activity to understand the core values. You will see and learn a lot more then you expect.

The food was great. Although no choices available they will take your dietary in account. Also you will be put together on a table with other guests. If you have any issues with it, please let the staff know about it and they will accommodate your preferences.

Please note, the Curio shop is "always" open. Just ask at reception that you want to see stuff and they will open it for you. Otherwise it will be open during breakfast time.

A must to in Namibia. Not only for the great accommodation but mainly to support the animals (cheetahs, wild dogs, lions, leopards and hyenas).

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the villa. Otherwise opt for a view room in the main camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rallybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Everything is great about this place...staff are lovely and very passionate and knowledgable about the wildlife. The food is excellent and the range of activities very interesting. Also the foundations core values are well worth supporting.

Fabulous setting....and a great escape.

Room Tip: The "View" rooms are amazing with panoramic views from your bed and terrace...we also stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
158 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Of all of the places we visited in Namibia, Okonjima is the hardest to review. On the one hand, we had an amazing experience, the common spaces are spectacular, and the room was certainly the nicest and most architecturally inspirational of any we encountered. But it was odd to track the big cats with radio-telemetry. That said there is still a lot of art and skill involved (as opposed to GPS tracking). And we did get to see two leopards at close range, as well as see a group of cheetahs at ground level on foot (which was a bit scary, even though they were habituated). The night drive was notable for a springhare (really cool), but, again, the feeding frenzy of the African porcupines was a bit uncomfortable. U.S. national parks used to stage events like this in the past, but the practice ended many decades ago. It somehow seemed staged and unnaturable. A simple night drive without the baiting would have been more welcome. Finally, the quality of the food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Okonjima is set in beautiful hills and the staff were all most welcoming. The bush camp has rondavels set well apart from each other, so it is nice and private.
Kudos to our guide (Rohan) who tracked a cheetah for us to observe, and pointed out all manner of creatures and birds when we did our game drive.
The main reception areas are lovely - the food was OK, not awful - but not amazing either - the least fun part was getting stuck with some incredibly dull people at meal times - you're kind of stuck with who they assign to your table at the beginning of your visit ...
Very glad to have been there, though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
150 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We got upgraded to a View room and it was fabulous. Really beautiful touches, lots of towels and a huge shower. The view whilst lying on your bed is fantastic. We were able to go on a walk on our own on the well sign posted path.

We did the early morning leopard drive and saw Nkosi the huge leopard up close. He was very beautiful but scary. In the evening we did the cheetah walk and got close to three beautiful cheetah's. Great sundowners.

We were able to see the Vets do an annual check on one of the cheetah's which was facinating. Getting to touch that beautiful animal was a once in a lifetime opportunity. Africat have stopped taking in any more animals and are instead concentrating on education. The farmers hate the cheetah and Africat are trying to educate the younger generation.

The food was very good, and plenty of it. Breakfast was delicious, bread and muffins freshly cooked.

The only negative was that we thought the white guide did not give the black guides the respect he should have. It was quite noticable especially on the cheetah walk when he told our guide not to get any closer and then proceeded to take his group within 10 feet of the cheetah's. We thought him rude.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade they will give you one if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otjiwarongo hotels
112.0 mi away
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Otjiwarongo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
79.2 mi away
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
#1 of 10 in Otjiwarongo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
113.5 mi away
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge
#2 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#7 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
111.1 mi away
C'est Si Bon Hotel
C'est Si Bon Hotel
#4 of 10 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okonjima Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okonjima Bush Camp

Property: Okonjima Bush Camp
Address: Okonjima Private Nature Reserve, Otjiwarongo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Otjiwarongo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Otjiwarongo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Okonjima Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OKONJIMA - home of AfriCat, a non–profit organisation, committed to long–term conservation of Namibia's large carnivores. AfriCat started out as a welfare organisation, but after many years of rescuing large numbers of carnivores from irate livestock farmers, it became apparent that the long-term survival of large carnivores on both commercial and communal farmland, is dependent on finding solutions to the ever-increasing human-wildlife conflict. OKONJIMA hosts the exclusive Villa & Bush Suite, Bush Camp, Main Camp, the private Omboroko Campsite & the Volunteer Programme – PAWS. Halfway between Windhoek and Etosha. (B1) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Okonjima Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okonjima - Home Of Africat Hotel Otjiwarongo
Okonjima Bush Camp Namibia/Otjiwarongo, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing