We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheetah Run - a must do”

Cheetah Conservation Fund
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A unique opportunity to experience conservation in action! CCF is the global leader in cheetah research, conservation and education. Its Centre, 44 kms east of Otjiwarongo, is open to the public all year round (8 am-5pm) except Christmas. CCF works to keep cheetahs in the wild and educate the public. However, it provides sanctuary to injured or orphaned cheetahs, many of which cannot be released back in to the wild. Learn about the cheetah's plight, watch them being fed or exercised at high speeds, meet some of our scientists. Our Model Farm teaches farmers how to co-exist with predators. Visitors can meet some of CCF's Livestock Guarding Dogs and their flocks of sheep and goats. You can also try our home-made goat-milk cheese, ice cream or fudge at the Cheetah Cafe. Limited luxury accommodations and camping are available.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed overnight at the CCF and the entire time spent there was absolutely amazing. The staff were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. It was an awesome experience and a privilege to see the Cheetah run so close to us in the morning. The knowledge that was shared and the display / videos completed a wonderful experience. Make sure you bring a camera.

3  Thank AineTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Aine Australia, thank you so much for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your visit. The Cheetah Run, as many of our guests tell us, is something they will never forget. We hope you'll come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"local farmers"
in 16 reviews
"cheetah conservation"
in 11 reviews
"gravel road"
in 7 reviews
"gift shop"
in 6 reviews
"hour drive"
in 3 reviews
"short drive"
in 2 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 4 reviews
"large enclosures"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful cats"
in 4 reviews
"wild animals"
in 4 reviews
"guard dog"
in 4 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 3 reviews
"goat cheese"
in 3 reviews
"research facility"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful project"
in 3 reviews
"early morning"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing place"
in 2 reviews
Filter

138 - 142 of 363 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Go there ... and you ll learn a lot about cheetahs. Really a good guide who explains everything about these great animals.

1  Thank Dani1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Dani, thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We loved this place. There is so much to like here including watching the staff working with the cheetahs, particularly working them out at high speeds. It is incredible to be so close to them while they run at top speed! Take some to me to visit the museum it is such a treasure of knowledge about cheetahs and their heritage.

1  Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear JunctionJack, we were so thrilled to read your great review. Thank you so much and please come back, and encourage others to also come visit. Our work is not done if we cannot share it with the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited for the cheetah run in the morning (pre booked through our lodge). It was wonderful to see the cheetahs in such close proximity and the guide was knowledgeable and informative. We were very pleased to have had the opportunity to visit and support their work.

Thank emyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review Emy. Please come back soon and tell your friends to visit too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Awesome to see how this project is helping to save the cats and giving farmers alternatives to killing the cats. Thanks for your hard work and dedication.

Thank Kory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your visit, Kory. Please come back and tell all your friends to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheetah Conservation Fund also viewed

Otjiwarongo, Otjozondjupa Region
Namib-Naukluft Park, Khomas Region
 
Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park
 

Been to Cheetah Conservation Fund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing