We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CCF”

Cheetah Conservation Fund
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A unique opportunity to experience conservation in action! CCF is the global leader in cheetah research, conservation and education. Its Centre, 44 kms east of Otjiwarongo, is open to the public all year round (8 am-5pm) except Christmas. CCF works to keep cheetahs in the wild and educate the public. However, it provides sanctuary to injured or orphaned cheetahs, many of which cannot be released back in to the wild. Learn about the cheetah's plight, watch them being fed or exercised at high speeds, meet some of our scientists. Our Model Farm teaches farmers how to co-exist with predators. Visitors can meet some of CCF's Livestock Guarding Dogs and their flocks of sheep and goats. You can also try our home-made goat-milk cheese, ice cream or fudge at the Cheetah Cafe. Limited luxury accommodations and camping are available.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

CCF is a well run establishment and a very pleasurable experience, for young and old!
With educated and friendly guides, they also have the Anatolian dogs.

Thank Elle122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review. Please come back soon and invite your friends to come too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 350 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you are in Namibia and have any interest in any of these C’s, this is a must stop. Although cheetahs may be the feature, the story is so much bigger and all the experiences you can select from are worth the trip. Not only has CCF studied the cheetah and saved countless orphaned cheetah but their conservation efforts with farmers as well as utilizing local resources for jobs to aid the economy are remarkable stories to hear. The international support is obvious as we met staff from Canada, UK, USA and Switzerland, all accommodating to our needs and enthusiastic about their mission. Our local guide Stephen was knowledgeable and an ambassador for all aspects of CCF; ask for him. You can review the educational exhibits and grounds for a low-cost day or pay for the game drives or cheetah runs and feedings. Those costs are worth the money when you consider these funds help support their research and community outreach. We selected the Cheetah Run (fascinating) and Beelebeno Cheetah Safari Drive, worthwhile even though we have been on multiple game drives before in Namibia and ZA. Book ahead via email for specific experiences. Be aware that the 44 kilometer trip to CCF from Otjiwarango requires more than the 45 minutes suggested by our GPS: more like an hour depending on your vehicle and driving speed.

2  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Sandy, what a wonderful review, and so informative. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and hope it will encourage others to visit us as well. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Glad we visited the CCF staff very informative and knowledgeable learnt a lot about this incredible animal. Great to see them close up watched them being fed which gave us an opportunity to ask questions and understand the concept of this centre.

Thank Tingleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Tingleig, we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and that you were able to learn more about the endangered cheetah. Please come back and tell your friends to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you want to learn about the fastest land mammal, visit this extraordinary refuge and support the great work being done by the volunteers and staff to save the Cheetah. We spent two days visiting the site and met volunteers from around the world who come to help with Cheetah conservation and education. You can watch the feedings of the young cheetahs, visit those nearly ready for reintroduction to the wild, and just enjoy watching these magnificent animals. If you can, pay for the extra opportunities to see the animals up close. We threw meat to racing cheetahs from the back of a speeding pick-up truck as the naturalist prepared them to hunt for their food. We also got to meet the cheetah ambassadors and to visit the genetics labs--both were informative and wonderful experiences. The staff are so dedicated and their enthusiasm is infectuous. The CCF is funded by contributions from people who are interested in seeing these wonderful animals survive. Once you visit the CCF, you'll want to make a contribution, I promise!

1  Thank TravelingDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your very informative review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It is not a zoo, it's a non-profit experiment saving cheetahs cubs who have been made orphans by the killing of their mother by an other animal.

Thank Thierryonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your valuable review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheetah Conservation Fund also viewed

Otjiwarongo, Otjozondjupa Region
 
Otjiwarongo, Otjozondjupa Region
 

Been to Cheetah Conservation Fund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing