We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One word...wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Frans Indongo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One word...wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is truly a wonderful place to stay.
They cater to all one's needs. Lovely rooms, gardens, game rides and best of all in December, are the aircons. We can recommend this as a place to stay and relax at ... whether its a day or a week. Excellent!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maryke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    83
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
52
183
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We camped at this facility and because we had the tents on the roof of our car couldn't get got he lodge with the kids after we had set up. They picked us up and dropped us of perfectly (probably a 2 km or more walk) on time. The facility was wonderfull and the food great. Our campsite had the best views we have had in that part of the country in a long time. Absolutely worth going to in the future; especially if you are camping and are self sufficient.

(We never stayed at the lodge itself so cannot comment on that.)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AvH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

A bit in two minds over Frans Indongo. Its not a budget option but the rooms and welcome are lovely. The staff are very pleasant and its a great location. The main building is great and keeps out bugs and birds without hemming you in.
But the edge that we found last time was not quite there. The food was OK without being outstanding and the atmosphere was not what we found last time. Maybe we were just knackered at the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, Wa Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This beautiful lodge made us feel welcome after our car broke down. Food was great and staff were fantastic. We got an early morning safari while we were waiting for the car to be fixed. Staff were kind and helpful and the rooms beautiful, went for an early swim but pool freezing.

Room Tip: As we were with a group of eight so 4 rooms, all rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wytske C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our final stop on the way back to Windhoek from Etosha. It was delightful. All of the staff were amazing, friendly and welcoming. We arrived quite early but our room was ready. It was spacious and comfortable. The food was delicious. There is computer access and wifi available. We also climbed the water tower for great views of the watering hole. Was definitely a great choice to break up the drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This lodge was a lovely place to stopover en route from Windhoek. The chalets were very nice, the food was good and the staff were great. The lodge setting was very pretty with the verandah looking out on a watering holes for the game in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic food, wonderful staff, the most amazing location with its own wildlife. Don't miss it. We went out of our way to stay here and are glad we did. The staff were so kind to the kids and had am amazing pride and dignity in their work which was lacking elsewhere in Namibia. Maybe because this Lodge is truly black Namibian owned and run. The game drive was wodnerful - 5 white rhinos! The food is fantastic and the rooms wonderful. Don't miss it - a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripplevale_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otjiwarongo hotels
7.1 mi away
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Otjiwarongo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
44.2 mi away
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
#1 of 10 in Otjiwarongo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#8 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hadassa Guest House
Hadassa Guest House
#2 of 10 in Otjiwarongo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
23.6 mi away
C'est Si Bon Hotel
C'est Si Bon Hotel
#3 of 10 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frans Indongo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frans Indongo Lodge

Property: Frans Indongo Lodge
Address: Otjiwarongo 1093, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Otjiwarongo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Otjiwarongo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frans Indongo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Frans Indongo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frans Indongo Lodge Namibia/Otjiwarongo, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing