We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant way to end our trip in Namibia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frans Indongo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A brilliant way to end our trip in Namibia”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our final stop on the way back to Windhoek from Etosha. It was delightful. All of the staff were amazing, friendly and welcoming. We arrived quite early but our room was ready. It was spacious and comfortable. The food was delicious. There is computer access and wifi available. We also climbed the water tower for great views of the watering hole. Was definitely a great choice to break up the drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    88
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
56
193
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This lodge was a lovely place to stopover en route from Windhoek. The chalets were very nice, the food was good and the staff were great. The lodge setting was very pretty with the verandah looking out on a watering holes for the game in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic food, wonderful staff, the most amazing location with its own wildlife. Don't miss it. We went out of our way to stay here and are glad we did. The staff were so kind to the kids and had am amazing pride and dignity in their work which was lacking elsewhere in Namibia. Maybe because this Lodge is truly black Namibian owned and run. The game drive was wodnerful - 5 white rhinos! The food is fantastic and the rooms wonderful. Don't miss it - a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripplevale_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had only 1 night at Frans Indongo Lodge. We would have liked to stay longer but it was full for the next few days. The best part of the lodge is the deck where you have a grand view across the bush savanna with many animals passing by. Next time I want to spend more time watching the savanna animals from the deck or via a jeep tour. The room was OK on the inside but the outside was very much in keeping with the local designs. The room was very large and had a patio. The room decor was very nice but not a lot of safari look. At the end of the day you really end up out looking at all the beauty around you. There is also a lookout tower for an even better view of the savannah. The best part of our visit was dinner. It was fantastic. Nice selection of wines and very good service from the staff. The interior is very warm and comfortable. We had to leave early the next morning and they were kind enough to give us some breakfast boxes.

Room Tip: Be sure to chill on the deck and take in the view of the land and animals! If you are not afraid of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rico, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We travelled for 17 days by auto in Namibia, and this was by far the most luxurious place we stayed in. It was relaxing and very low key. Staff welcoming, and accommodating. They had a "packed" breakfast for us in the morning as we had an early visit to the Cheetah Conservation site, about an 80 minute drive away, for 8am. Reservations for watching the cheetahs run at breakfast can be made here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJCRioRico_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you want to stay a few days here, rest, enjoy the surroundings and the pool, you're in the right place : the staff is welcoming, the maids are always smiling and laughing, you'll eat very well, the rooms are large and comfortable.

You may test the game drive : we didn't see a lot of animals and no rhinos ; but as you know, this is not a zoo ; the point was that the guide was new with a short experience of both the animals and the truck he drove. I hope they will teach him quickly...

Regarding the interesting spots of the area : Waterberg and the Cheeta's Conservation Fund, you're too far from them : you've got to drive more than 80 km (in which 60 of graveled road) to go to the CCF, so it's not possible to go there from the lodge (first activities are at 8 am so you've got to leave at 6 am) and then to come back. And Waterberg is farer.

So if you're just passing through, try to find another location (closer from Otjiwarongo), otherwise the place, again, is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campGrenoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at Frans Indongo for a couple of days. The food was interesting and excellent. They served a different game entree each evening so we had the opportunity to try foods we wouldn't have at home in the US. The hartebeest was by far the best dinner we had in Namibia.

The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated. They also had heaters in the room for those nights the temperatures dropped as it was winter (July) when we were there. We especially appreciated being warm, especially in the early morning.

The WiFi was free and worked very well, much better than we ever expected.

The best part was when Walt took us out for a game drive later in the afternoon. He tried his best to find animals of interest. It was probably one of the most enjoyable game drives for us as it was our first of the trip, and we were able to see so many animals.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otjiwarongo hotels
7.1 mi away
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Otjiwarongo
71 reviews
24.1 mi away
Out of Africa Town Lodge
Out of Africa Town Lodge
#3 of 5 in Otjiwarongo
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.2 mi away
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
#1 of 12 in Otjiwarongo
315 reviews
23.6 mi away
C'est Si Bon Hotel
C'est Si Bon Hotel
#3 of 12 in Otjiwarongo
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#8 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frans Indongo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frans Indongo Lodge

Property: Frans Indongo Lodge
Address: Otjiwarongo 1093, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Otjiwarongo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Otjiwarongo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frans Indongo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Frans Indongo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frans Indongo Lodge Namibia/Otjiwarongo, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing