We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The location of the Plateau Rooms is fantastic, overlooking the African plain. Reception was very friendly, accessibility was limited, both the road to the lodge as well as the road on the premises. We were happy to have rented a 4x4. But as said, the plateau room made up for this. With a private plunge pool and large (but basic) bathroom. Dinner was basic, service friendly but not without flaws. We booked a safari which did not go up the plateau itself: you'll have to stay at the NWR resort. But still, the safari was worthwhile with a friendly guide and good sightings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stalex24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 165 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Plateau lodge. The views from the room, its locations and the privacy was great. We used the plunge pool alot despite the cold water. Overall however we have mixed feelings about the place. The food was OK but not great. Service also was varied. We did the walk up on the Plateau led well by Linus but we had to share it with three other large parties of walkers all from the lodge. This detracted a lot from the experience.
We did enjoy a self guided walk down at the wilderness lodge. Landscapes were impressive. Valuewise it might stack up ok against other places in the area but we can't really comment. However, versus the rest of our accomodation through our trip it did not represent value for money. Glad we went there but would would probably not go back..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scamp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We loved this place, the staff were friendly and very accommodating. Having stayed 1 night next door at the National Waterberg Park Hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by what was on offer here. Lots of guided walks, and trips. We were indeed lucky to get a Plateau Lodge room and what a treat! As it was winter, the nights were cold so we had our very own wood fireplace and our water was heated through wood fire system. The meal was delicious and the wines excellent. Would go back there any day.

Room Tip: Splash out on a Plateau Lodge room if you can afford it. It's worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank carohuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

we stayed for two nights in the plateau lodge at waterberg wilderness. we were completely unsatisfied. the staff is dedicated, but does not have the neccessery experiences the manage responsibilities that the owners give them. the rooms are a mix of lodge (main room) and backpacker place (bathroom). the food for is unaproptiate for a lodge in this price class. the game drive was ok (we saw the rhinos as hoped) but nothing great. overall we would not recomend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rweides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

we reserved for the wilderness lodge but upon arrival we saw the waterberg plateau lodges and decided to change. We were lucky there was availibilty in both. The waterberg plateau lodges have a very nice view and are all situated on top of the plateau. Every lodge has its own 'watertub' where you can 'jump' in at warmer days. For us the nights were too cold but a donkey served us warm water (boiler heated by wood) and a fireplace in the room gave sufficient warmth. Nice restaurant with nice view. Friendly staff. Food ok.
We also visited the wilderness lodge (same area, same owners) and were pleased by the kindness of the staff who showed us all around and prepared a lunch for us. Wilderness lodge is more hidden and certainly better for families with younger childeren as you're not that close of the plateau/valley. nice rooms as well.
For us first stop after arriving in Namibia(3 1/2 hours driving from windhoek) and immediately in a very african landscape this is iedeal. We stayed for Two nights and didn't regret. We made a very nice walk (combination of different trials) and enjoyed the beautiful and peacefull landscape.
To recommend !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KREEFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed here in January 2010. We stayed in the plateau lodge wich have amazing views and a small private diping pool
Simpley amazing en relaxing. You can look for miles and miles away form your own terrace
We started our holiday here and that was perfect.
Did a walking safari and saw beautifull rhino's fom 10 meters.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for just one night on our honeymoon, and we would have loved to have stayed longer! We arrived at night and left the next morning, so we didn't get to see much of the surroundings or really experience all that the lodge had to offer. But, the food was excellent, the rooms were spotlessly clean and big and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otjiwarongo
0.0 mi away
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Otjiwarongo
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 16 in Otjiwarongo
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge
#2 of 16 in Otjiwarongo
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Camp
Waterberg Camp
#2 of 2 in Waterberg Plateau Park
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
#1 of 12 in Otjiwarongo
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Etjo Safari Lodge
Mount Etjo Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kalkfeld
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterberg Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Address: D2512, Waterberg Wilderness, Otjiwarongo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Otjiwarongo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Otjiwarongo
Price Range: $97 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterberg Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The buildings of Waterberg Wilderness Lodge shelter in a long valley in the midst of the Waterberg mountain range. Built from red Waterberg sandstone they nestle under enormous old trees. The atmosphere in the mature, well-kept garden with its two pavilions, many cool and shady places and an immured spring water basin lined by giant bamboo is idyllic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Waterberg Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge Namibia/Otjiwarongo, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing