We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,526 results
Traveler rating
1,256
179
65
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,256
179
65
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfidel castrohand massagepool butlerswim up barla parrillanuevo vallartasister propertythrough vrbobrad joeysister hotel next doorfour seasonsall inclusive packagepool staffbreakfast and dinnerfull kitchenliving roomall inclusive plan
Filter
Updating list...
1,088 - 1,093 of 1,526 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We came back to Villa La Estancia in February for the second time (first was a year ago).Although we were neglect in writing a review the first time, we wanted to give a look at it a year later. It was as wonderful the second time around as it was the first.The units are beautiful,
taken care of expertly by housekeeping staff that is always there to help out, but is not intrusive.
The views from the upper units (especially the ones on the south side) have outstanding ocean views for unforgettable sunsets. We did the AI plan again, which if you are planning to eat much there is definitely the way to go. Although the menu at La Casona is limited, they do any excellent job in preparation and presentation. The best part, though , is the staff.At dinner Rogelio, Bernardo, Miquel, young Miquel, Maximo , and our hostess Tanya were not only excellent, but so great to get to know over a week. That isn't to forget Raul, Omar, and Enrique at breakfast. The only downside with an AI is that is much to easy to eat just a little too much in a week. Oh well, the cost of a vacation. ( Don't overlook the Mexican wines, they really are quite good.)
As for PV. There is no feeling of insecurity in the city. As many have said, it often feels less safe in a large US city than here. Common sense is all you need. For a great time spend some time travelling around the area, but if you do, make it via city bus. They are great!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wyotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We went to this resort based on a recommendation from a work colleague. Overall, had a great time. Property is well maintained, pool very clean, service at the pool and beach very attentive. Enjoyed the restaurants there and next door at Flamingo. Estancia is more laid back than Flamingo, more adults and older tweens+ teens at Estancia.

Next door at Flamingo, felt more spring break with huge age range. Activities run hourly, louder music. Pool bigger as well.

Positives of Estancia:

Pool Bar with good service and food, no problem getting lounge chairs on beach, full but not crowded (someone told us only 40% of building sold), listen to the 1.5 hr sale pitch and get 20% off food, spa, etc. for duration of your stay

One Annoyance: People start putting books out to hold pool seats starting at 7-8 am in the morning and may not sit in it until 3-4 pm. Next door at Flamingo you have to give room number for towels, think that would help because people would at least turn the towels in when they are done in a chair.

A couple of things I wish I knew beforehand (have twins that are 6):

Our 2 bedroom/3 bath condo layout had a nice spacious layout. Odd part is the foyer. You enter a gated door with your room key and come in an entryway with a small table, to one side is a 2 bed room with its own door that you enter with room key. To the left is the door to family room and master bedroom(also use room key). All the rooms open to the balcony so you can leave both entry doors closed. The part I did not like is you cannot hear anything from that 2nd bedroom when you are in either family room or master room. I would have brought a monitor if I had known. When our kids got up in the morning, they crossed the balcony to come wake us up. If you had smaller kids, they could open the entry door and walk out. There is a dead bolt lock but I believe it opens when you open from inside. Really could use a high up bolt or sliding chain lock. The gate door is merely a deterrent security wise. Both my kids could stick their hands through the gate and open the gate door.

Other item is the depth of the pool. There's a lower and upper pool. They could not stand in the lower and the upper pool was maybe 6 inches shallower and could barely make it on their tiptoes. There is a 6 inch splash pad but that's it. There are 3 steps to entry that go the length of the pool on one side and around the pool a ledge that's maybe 2 feet deep. Not a problem but would have brought their regular floatation devices. You can use the pool facilities next door at Flamingo, where there's a zero depth section and also a small area that's all 2 feet or so deep.

Room Tip: Would try and get 4th floor or above for best view (Fewer palm trees in the way). As well as lower number which is at end of two wings closest to water. A room ending in 01 or 02 is the closest to water.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AP_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Villa La Estancia is exceptional. Hugo, Juan Carlos, Angel and a host of other employees go out of their way to make paradise even better. Our room was spacious and had a beautiful view of the ocean. Morning room service was always delivered within 30 minutes of ordering and was correct for the most part. The food was very good and daily lunch by the pool was relaxing and fun. I will be back...

Room Tip: 6th floor or above
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank W F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have been going to Mexico for over twenty years and this resort was one of the most beautiful I ever visited. The room/condo was gorgeous. The decorating was spot on, the view from the balcony was all you could hope for. Everything was immaculate. The staff was very accomodating and courteous, by the second day they were addressing me by name. We had great weather and smooth flights, it was an absolutely wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better ocean view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just returned from a wonderfully relaxing week at this beautiful 5 star resort! The condo was amazing; there are really not enough words to describe it! The view from the condo's private balcony was breathtaking and the condo itself lacked for nothing! The resort was truly top-notch and not crowded the way other resorts in Mexico usually are. The gym and the spa were very high end. Every staff member was wonderful and catered to all our needs. Jet skiing, parasailing, banana boating, and other activities right on the beach. The concierge was very helpful with excursions or local tips on activities. Also, if you are concerned about going to Mexico (like so many of my friends and family), there is no need to be. Everything in PV is safe, tourist-oriented, easily and cheaply accessible by cab, and friendly. Felt safer there than I do some places here in the states! Best vacation in a long time!

Room Tip: Try to get a condo on an upper floor; views are definitely better the higher you go!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews