We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,440)
Filter reviews
2,440 results
Traveler rating
938
585
434
256
227
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
938
585
434
256
227
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbel airinfinity poolpalm terracesushinuevo vallartamartini bartime sharethe general managermaster suiteocean viewswim up barall inclusive packageriu palacewater aerobicskids clubdaily activitiesquiet resort
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 2,440 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2016

Upen arriving at the resort we were greated will excellent service . Suite was great . Agustín at the front .. Martín at Activities and also Alex aré the go to people (awesome) The only problem is that there is not enough chairs at the Pool área to acomidate the people at the resort

Room Tip: Ocean veiw was great
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente General... G, Manager at Reflect Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2016

Dear Linda,

Thank you very much for your kind words, we truly appreciate them; we are delighted that you had given us the opportunity to be at your service for this family holidays; thank you for making us part of vacation experience. Although we want to apologize for the accommodation in the pool area, we are working in getting more chairs. Thank you very much for your visit; we are looking forward to have you back for another wonderful vacation here, at your home away from home, Belair Resort & Spa Nuevo Vallarta.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Angel Zavala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2016

My wife and I have visited this resort nearly every January for about a decade. Since Bel Air took over a few years ago, there have been constant improvements. It's not perfect. If something is broken in your room, they take the item from another room to solve the problem. So it isn't uncommon to check into a room and the toaster, blender or microwave is missing. Quickly solved by a call to the front desk. This year they had improved their WiFi. Previous years it was down about half the time and only a few spots had good strength. This year it was constantly available and good signal strength all over the grounds and in the rooms.
People going to this resort are there to relax and enjoy, so there is a laid back attitude. Lots of dialogue around the pool about places to go and neighbourhood restaurants. Every night at sunset, there is a free champagne toast. Typically 10 to 30 people there - again for dialogue, to toast the sunset, and to decide where to go for dinner. Great place to meet other vacationers - we run into the same group year after year as well as add a few new friends. Two thumbs up for a great place to relax.
This year they were repainting the outside of the #3 building. They sent around a note to advise us. One afternoon we returned to the room to find a ladder leaning against the balcony railing. We were on the 6th floor. I thought that a 60 foot long ladder must be special! I went out to find two 30 foot extension ladders tied together with rope. From the top of the ladder, there was a rope extending up to the roof. At one point, there was a man standing on the clay tile roof holding the rope. He wasn't tied off, and neither was the painter who skillfully climbed from balcony to balcony with paint roller and bucket in hand. 60 feet in the air without a safety rope! I guess that's just what painters do in Mexico! Pictures of the ladder attached.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GeeGee10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente General... G, Manager at Reflect Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this detailed and wonderful review. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our improvements in the hotel, such as the painting of the buildings and Wi-Fi. I am sure that your feedback will serve as an encouragement to our team, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for all your kind comments, it is very heartwarming to read the experience of our guests.


Sincerely,
General Manager.
Angel Zavala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2016

Probably the two best things about this resort were the view and the staff. We found everyone to be extremely friendly and attentive and they all worked very hard.

The view from our room (we stayed on the 6th floor) was fantastic, and the infinity pool and restaurant patio have incredible views as well (especially at sunset).
I've seen sub-par reviews of the food in the past but we thought it was great with lots of variety. Our kids aren't picky eaters but they're not terribly adventurous but there was enough 'comfort food' for them.

The couple of times they had a buffet it was a nice change of pace (and good if you were in a hurry) so I would recommend they offer more buffet options/opportunities. (We were on the all-inclusive package).

Our kids (4 and 7) loved spending time at the kids club with Jessica and were able to stay entertained in the pool and on the beach. The swim-up bar happily made kid-friendly cocktails so that the kids could have 'special drinks' with everyone else. There's also iguanas that roam the grounds and a bustling pond that our kids loved, so I'd consider it quite family-friendly if you have younger kids.

Our activity coordinator, Alex, worked really hard and could keep you busy all day.

The room was clean and the beds were comfortable; the bedroom/bathroom had lots of space. Free Wifi had good service to the rooms.

Things get fairly quiet in the evenings so if you're looking to party later into the night, this likely isnt the best spot for that. We were all usually wiped after a day in the sun (though the karaoke night got pretty lively one night).

We didn't use it, but there's a very nice spa and workout building.

Room Tip: get a floor with an ocean view, if possible;
Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente General... G, Manager at Reflect Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2016

Dear Jason,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review; it’s a privilege to know that BelAir Resort & Spa, lived up to your expectations in every aspect of such a relaxing vacation: food and beverage selection, facilities and comfort of your room, and certainly, the service which is the greatest and probably most important element of our resort. We are looking forward of having the honor of being your hosts again.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Angel Zavala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2016

Bel Air Vallarta (or 'Playa del Sol' as we still often call it) is a beautiful resort -- small, but (and maybe because of it's size) super friendly! It retains a very Mexican atmosphere while still being extremely comfortable for us non-Spanish speakers. It's gardens, 'koi' (and other fish) pond and stream, along with the turtle pool are beautifully maintained and favourites of all ages.
A lovely big infinity pool with a fantastic pool bar/snack bar staffed with equally fantastic servers (too many to list by name but a really remarkable bunch of great looking, clean-cut, friendly young men!) makes for wonderfully lazy days of sunning, swimming and relaxing. Down a few steps (a ramp is in place as well) is a beautiful big beach with, at times, enough swell to be interesting and fun for the boogie board crowd, but usually calm enough for everyone -- all ages and abilities -- to enjoy themselves in the sun, the sand and the sea!
The Restaurant food, which one has to admit, has not been the Resort's strong suite in the past, has shown a great improvement the last couple of years. We had some trepidation when choosing the all-inclusive option, but this year was a very happy surprise! There were lots of interesting choices in the new menus and the meals were delicious and well presented. There was, sometimes, a little confusion among the always smiling, friendly and very willing wait-staff but eventually the orders are sorted out and everyone got what they wanted. Breakfast, when everyone arrives at once, remains a bit of a problem as far as food delivery goes, but the choices were especially good and worth waiting for! A breakfast buffet was tried a couple of times during our stay, and was a great solution. We think that breakfast and (maybe a brunch?) should always be buffet style. Dinners were really good: the food and the service was first class.
A question: Why do some folks go to Mexico for a holiday if they want the kind of "fast food" and rushed service we too often have in Canada and the US?
In summary, our room was clean and comfortable, the ocean view was breath-taking and our two week holiday was very enjoyable; made so by all the great Bel Air staff, from bellboys and check-in clerks to wait-staff, servers, recreation organizers (check out the aqua-size fun), the hard-working cleaners and last, but far from least, Carolina Rodriquez in Guest Services!
Comment and complaints about structural and maintenance problems, of which there are more than a few, should be, I think, addressed to the owners of the Bel Air Collection at their Guadalajara headquarters. I have expressed my dismay several times over the apparent lack of interest (and more importantly, budget!) that the owners of the Vallarta property have shown. (It is well known that best General Manager ever, Carlos Dominguez, is no longer there because of senior management's indifference to his requests which were always and only for the betterment of the resort and its guests!)
Although we love "our" Bel Air Vallarta and will continue to holiday there as long as the amazing staff remains, it's high time some real money was re-invested for the long-term future of this great beach-front property!

Room Tip: If what you need is a 1 BR, ask for a ocean-view room
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2016

When my family of seven requested a van to take us to "The Ocean Grill," (about a 40 minute drive,) The Bel Air was kind enough to call us a taxi, but not just any taxi driver showed up, Carlos Ramero showed up. His charisma, knowledge, intelligence, and pride in his job/country made for one splendid ride to our destination. Not to mention his humor and positive energy.

We ended up scheduling a tour with Carlos for later on in the week, the seven of us had an absolute blast-Carlos took us to local villages, which were like untouched hidden, local gems. We learned a bit of history, with a major slice of humor always included, indulged in authentic, fabulous local cuisine, visited places such as a local Clay Factory way off the beaten path. It's always amazing to visit another country and to see what the country has to offer from a local's perspective. Did I mention we ended the day with a tasting at a family-owned Tequila Factory? It was definitely interesting to learn the process/types/and history of true Tequila tasting. Not only was the "factory," if you will, beautiful, the tasting and tour itself was too fun for words.

All in all, I HIGHLY recommend giving Carlos Ramero a call if, or when, you are in Nuevo Vallarta. His genuine enthusiasm and kind-spirit will leave you beyond satisfied.

Give him a call:

Carlos Ramero
Taxi Service
CEL. # 322 111 3656
Hotel Bel Air

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyJaeger21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente General... G, General Manager at Reflect Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2016

Dear Kelly,

Thank you for having taken the time to post the review of your recent stay here with us the BelAir. It is great for us to know that you have chosen this property for your family vacation. We hope that everyone have had a great time and hopefully we created nice memories that will last forever.

Sincerely,
General Manager.
Angel Zavala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews