We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely relaxing cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
The stylish living area has plenty of comfortable furnishings, a wood burning stove & exposed beams.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stylish living area has plenty of comfortable furnishings, a wood burning stove & exposed beams.
The Reading Room boasts a separate dining area. A wood burning stove to warm those winter nights.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The stylish living area has plenty of comfortable furnishings, a wood burning stove & exposed beams.
The Reading Room boasts a separate dining area.
A wood burning stove to warm those winter nights.
Galley style kitchen with granite work surfaces and all the mod cons
Washing m/c, tumble dryer, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, cooker, toaster, microwave & coffee m/c.
The bedroom is on a mezzanine level and features a King size Hypnos bed with Eygptian cotton linen.
The bathroom is finished in natural stone and has Molton Brown hand wash, hand cream and shower gel.
The bathroom features a natural stone sink and has complimentary Molton Brown hand wash and cream.
A selection of 6 loose leaf teas for you to try during your stay along with Lavazza coffee.
Plenty of reading material
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Broughton Gifford, Melksham, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing cottage”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Well equipped and cosy cottage. Log burner a delight and owners quick to answer my arrival questions by text.
Great location for nearby walks and of course the many interesting sights of Bath.Would love to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happywife...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“reviews say it all!”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Other reviewers really sum up the accommodation and location well, so my thoughts and comments are purely backing up their points.
This is an ideal couples get away, as it was for us, it is a beautifully renovated chapel, thoughtfully laid out. The kitchen has everything you would need, and a nice touch is the range of teas provided, and a coffee machine. The seating area is cosy, and we lit the stove in the evening as the strong winds, and driving rain came down.
The mezzanine bedroom and ensuite shower room are cleverly set out to maximise space, and both furnished in a boutique hotel style with wood flooring and limestone tiles...plenty of towels and fluffy dressing gowns, along with the Molton Brown products add to this feel.
The village is lovely, and two good eating places are a short walk away, with the Rusty Stag in one direction, and the Bell on the Common at the opposite end of the village. It is ideally located for visits around the Cotswolds and Wiltshire...our stay was short, and our main visit was to Lacock which was fascinating.
A great book amongst the many on the bookshelves in the let was one on the history of Reading Rooms in the area, which includes this one in Broughton Gifford which was interesting to learn about.
We had a lovely time, and would definitely return at some point. Thanks very much to the owners for a great time here.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for two”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying in the reading room for a long weekend. The renovated chapel has been turned into a lovely retreat for two with a comfortable bed / bathroom on a mezzanine level and a cosy kitchen/ living area below complete with a log burner. If you're wanting to visit Bath, don't let the distance out of town put you off. It's a pleasant and relatively short drive away through picturesque back roads. Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
We had the pleasure of having Andrew stay at the Reading Room at the beginning of May. We're thrilled they had a lovely time and would love to have them back to stay again before they venture back down under. Next time I'll give them some hidden food gems local to Broughton Gifford. Looking forward to seeing you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5025emy
Forest, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Get Away”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I traveled at the end of July with my eight year old son to England. We stayed here for 4 days and it was really wonderful. We had a great time and the house was perfect. It was good for the two of us and we really enjoyed the town and being able to sight see daily from this location. We were able to see Bath and Stonehenge easily. Rest of the days were filled with just relaxing and walking around the village. The house had everything we needed and high end décor --not to mention the food that was available to us was amazing. The owners supplied local treats. Granted as Americans we had a learning curve...we had fresh bacon, sausage and eggs which I turned into a yummy but messy breakfast. My English breakfast skills were lacking but tasted great. Funny, I thought the eggs were decoration for the first 2 days. Never knew people did not refrigerate eggs until we went to the grocery store. The store is also very close by & convenient. Learned to use a French press which I'm glad there is youtube! Also the Fox Restaurant/Pub is close by that they own and is very relaxing and great atmosphere. Everyone working there was friendly & helpful to us outsiders! It was my Birthday over the stay and had best time and every meal was a complete home run. Recommend the Braised Lamb- AWESOME! Plus they helped us go to a local festival that was fun & full of good beer & music! My son enjoyed playing outside and loved the chicken houses that we had to visit few times to check in on while we were there. Highly recommend the house and made our British vacation complete. This house is for couples or in our case just the 2 of us. The only thing I would say that could improve was another fan. It was HOT the week we were there and that is Mother Nature and nothing to do with the accommodations. But the first night was really warm and we had to rotate the fan and a second one downstairs would have been key. Other than that loved our stay. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frodo4
San Antonio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely place in a quiet village”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Reading Room is an old chapel with modern renovations. From the photo's you can see how nice the kitchen, bath, and bedroom are decorated. It is small, but roomy. We stayed for two weeks, and there is PLENTY of storage space for clothes and other traveling bits-and-bobs. The kitchen is very well supplied with everything needed for cooking and or baking, and has a full sized refrigerator. On arrival, the frig contained some goodies, which I believe were from the owners farm. There is off road parking on the property. If you drive in England, you can appreciate how nice this is. It was warm during our stay, so we only used the wood burning stove once. It does generate a lot of heat, so I imagine it will keep the cottage warm on colder days. My husband and I like to run in the mornings, and there are several nice running areas around the village. Also, with a washer and dryer, we could launder our clothes. On nicer sunny days, there is a drying rack for clothes that you can put on the enclosed deck in the back. About two miles from the cottage is Church Farms. This is a nice place for meat, cheese and eggs. There are larger grocery stores only a couple miles farther away, so, food shopping is convenient. The owners also own and run The Fox, which is one of two pubs in the village. We only ate at The Fox, and the food was fabulous. If your in the area, please stop by for a meal. As I said, we stayed for two weeks and had absolutely everything we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: modern decor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jims1zl
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint, quality very good and an excellent base for travel”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property is as described and looks, the village it is located in is very peaceful, but also has easy access to Bath, Bristol and other very pretty towns and villages. The hosts were very welcoming and had thought of everything - fresh milk, butter, bacon, sausages etc already there, as was dishwasher tablets, kitchen towel etc. All good quality toiletries also provided. There was a good range of books covering a wide range of genres and DVD selection to match. We had a lovely break here and would hope to return in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the product
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing