We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Paradise - Perfect Honeymoon”
Review of Rainbow Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cupecoy Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Beach Club
Philadelphia
1 review
“Island Paradise - Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at The Rainbow Beach Club on our honeymoon because we were looking for something that was not a "typical" island resort. It was the best decision we could have made. As it was the start of off season, we essentially had our choice of three private pools and the exclusive beach all to ourselves. Our condo was out of this world; perfectly clean, beautifully decorated with an amazing view. The condo had all the amenities that were advertised plus more and it provides the perfect location and staring point for anywhere on the island. The club is situated close to the border between the Dutch and French side and getting around was a breeze; be sure to make car arrangements.

When we go back there is no question that we will be staying at this club again - perfect for what we were looking for. The owners were great and the condo staff was friendly and helpful. As promised our security deposit was returned within days of us leaving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Congratulations.....I hope your honeymoon was everything you dreamed of! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our condo and we look forward to seeing you come visit again. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Condo 24-S. Jill, the owner, was both efficient and helpful. The condo itself is modern, clean and offers everything you could want for a lovely stay. Jill even provided all the small necessities such as soap, shampoo and paper products etc. which was a great bonus. Beach chairs, umbrellas and coolers are also provided. The views from the balcony are outstanding. The internet can be "patchy" but it does work. The Rainbow Beach Club itself looks tired, needing repainting but we read that there have been issues with the Management Company in the past which are slowly being addressed and may include updating the complex. Parking is first come, first served but we had no problems. The security is very good. The complex is well situated, within walking distance to beaches, restaurants, shops and bars but we would recommend a car to take in all that the Dutch and French side of the island has to offer. We highly recommend the Ocean Club Bar and Grill next to the Sapphire Club (less than 5 min walk away and they have a sign outside advertising $8 breakfast). It has been recently taken over by new owners, Sal, Sue and their daughter Gena. Their food and service was wonderful - they are such lovely people and make you so welcome whether it is for breakfast or dinner. Their prices are great too! Ernest & Fidel is another nice little restaurant in Porto Cupecoy which is open for breakfast and lunch. All-in-all, we had a wonderful time - can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Make sure you opt for a condo overlooking the pool and ocean. The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loverofkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay at our condo! I wasn't aware The Ocean Club Bar has new owners; must have happened right after we left in April. Love that place! Hope to see you again at Rainbow next year and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Jill's condo and it had everything one would need for a great vacation. Breathtaking view from inside and on the balcony. The unit was in excellent condition with all the modern amenities. The beach is private and there are three pools, two which face the sea. Jill provided everything from laundry detergent and toiletries to beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas. The building has 24hr security. I would recommend this condo to anyone considering a visit to St. Maarten. The complex is conveniently located near the airport ( you get a wonderful view from the balcony of incoming planes without the noise), has several good walkable restaurants, and is near the french border.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank portermbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay; we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at the Rainbow Beach Club for a week in April. The condo was very good -- extremely well kept and clean, well appointed with full kitchen, etc. Only negative with the unit itself was that the hot tub was not heated and thus not really a hot tub. Each unit is individually owned, so make sure to check what you are getting beforehand.

The Rainbow Beach Club itself needs some work. Two of the three pools were kept clean and very nice, third one was not clean. The gardening/ groundskeeping was nice and it seemed that they are putting lot of effort in making it even better.

The buildings themselves need a paint job. The overall look of the complex is tired and not very welcoming. From the roadside the first floor has lot of boarded-up windows. It seemed that lot of work around the property was being done, hopefully the complex will improve over time. The complex has no services -- i.e. no restaurant, coffee shop, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You are correct, these condos are all privately owned; this is not a hotel. There are no restaurants or coffee shops within the complex but there are many within walking distance. They’re in the process of opening a new gym in the roadside building; the wood around the windows that you saw should be down shortly. They did run into an issue with one of the pools; it was closed for 2 days and has been corrected. A lot of work is being done on the property and the completion of painting the buildings will continue.

Perhaps the owner could have mentioned in their listing what temperature the hot tub is set at. We hope you enjoyed your vacation overall despite the few issues you had during your stay. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for a week a Rainbow we rented a two bedroom ocean veiw. The room had nice decor and we where treated with complementary wine and flowers. The Staff was very nice and had 24 hour security. There was a issue with the A/C and we where offered another room but we choose not to move since the room was not to hot with the windows open. We will return.
Thank you Rainbow!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back in St. Maarten soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at The Rainbow Beach Club in Cupecoy….. with two girlfriends. Upon arrival I don’t know what was more stunning, the condo or the views. The condo was oceanfront and over looked one of three pools. It was beautifully decorated and had all the amenities that we could possibly ask for.

The unit is located in a secure gated complex; we felt very safe and the staff was very pleasant. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and others are just a short drive away. We loved the fishbowl margaritas and food at Jimbo's in Simpson Bay. We walked to breakfast at The Ocean Club...what a deal! Karaoke at Topper’s was a blast.

It was very convenient to walk down the spiral steps to get to the semi-private beach at Rainbow. Loved the cave! Also walked to Mullet Bay Beach, absolutely gorgeous! We used the chairs, umbrellas & beach towels provided by the owner.

I will definitely recommend this unit to friends and family, and will be returning soon! Love St. Maarten and The Rainbow Beach Club!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you return soon. I must say, I too am a big fan of Jimbo's margarita's! Thank you for taking the time to write your review & sending pictures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've been all over the Carribbean and the world, but this week I find myself staying at the Rainbow Beach Club in SMX and couldn't be more thrilled. As I write this review, I'm sitting on our private balcony of the 2 BR condo here at the RBC, looking out over the ocean (which is RIGHT THERE!) enjoying a breathtaking sunset over the water. The location is ideal--minutes drive from the airport and an easy walk to great beaches and resturants (and a big casino, if you're into that). Scanning back through some of the reviews on here, I see that a few visitors some years ago seem to have had some issues (e.g. no lights) but we've been here several days now and have seen no sign of that. The property is top-rate and the staff and the resident owners super friendly. Seems like they worked out any kinks. I know we'lll be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e-gregious1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We're pleased you could stay with us here at Rainbow Beach Club. We're fortunate to have a great group of owners here. Yes, there were some bad reviews in the past, but we've gained control of management and have resolved all issues. We look forward to having you visit Rainbow again! Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
0.3 mi away
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
#2 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Beach Club

Property: Rainbow Beach Club
Address: Lot #149 | Dutch Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World Class Rainbow Beach Club Resort is a bold achievement in architectural design. Built on a massive coral incline directly above its secluded beaches. This resort presents spectacular oceanfront residential accommodations with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea complimented by towering mountains, salt water lagoons, and lush, tropical foliage known only to St. Maarten. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Beach Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Rainbow Beach Hotel
Rainbow Beach Club St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing