We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

The Green Monkey Bar and Grill
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Two for one drink specials, happy hour. Breakfast and dinners, great prices, and a fun time visiting with other vacationers

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lana444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    29
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing find!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We found the Green Monkey as we were driving around and checking out the island from our resort, La Semanna. Breakfast was fantastic and all you can eat Wednesday rib night was FABULOUS!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love the food, the people, EVERYTHING!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I literally have no complaints about the Green Monkey. The people are so friendly and the food is amazing. The prices are great too! We went there every morning for breakfast, except the morning we went to Saba and the morning we had to go home... The coffee is great, the service is great, and the food tastes like a home-cooked meal instead of any greasy/not good stuff you'd find in a restaurant.
We went to the bar once for drinks, which I had the best pina colada I've ever tasted. The staff was once again friendly and very talkative! I was very impressed about the fact that we arrived 20 minutes before closing and when we tried to walk away because we didn't want to be one of those last minute customers, they refused to let us leave and made us our drinks! Amazing customer service right there!
We went back two more times for dinner, one night it was pasta night, which was fantastic (which is what we expected!) and the other night we just ordered off the menu. I ordered the quesadillas, which were cooked perfectly and so delicious. My fiance ordered the mussels and pasta, which he enjoyed so much he didn't talk to me for the entire meal.
The Green Monkey was hands down, the best place we ate at in St. Maarten. Absolutely wonderful!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaybal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Green Monkey leaves something to be desired”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Owner is not knowledgable of drink choices, no food available at 6:30 pm, female bartender had no personality cared more about texting on her phone then her patrons. Owner purchased the bar a year a go, would be surprised if The Green Monkey is still open in a year from now. Rum tasted watered down.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite restaurant, favorite people!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Green Monkey definitely made my trip to St Maarten one I will never forget. Sal and Marjory were one of a kind restaurant/ bar owners and people in my life who I will never forget. The food is not only outstanding but the atmosphere makes The Green Monkey such an enjoyable dining experience as well as an awesome place to hangout. If you haven't already The Green Monkey is one to visit! Not only will you leave with a full belly but you will walk out of there with a few friends as well. Best restaurant on the island!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy71219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Monkey Bar and Grill also viewed

Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to The Green Monkey Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing