We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under New Manager!!!”
Review of The Ocean Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cupecoy Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ocean Club
Reviewed December 19, 2007

The new manager of The Ocean Club is pretty much a mess. The pool side bar was hardly ever open, and when it was they had minimal food and drink avalible. We had to walk to the resort next door for lunch everyday.

I don't remember this guy's name but he presented himself as quite a hustler...offering shady trips deals around the island to the visitors. At one point he actually offered a friend of mine marajuana. ( no joke)
It's unfortunate because the facility it self was lovely and so were many of the other visitors. I would come back to this resort only if a capable management team took over.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amymarie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 62 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2007

We were at the Ocean Club Waterfiew in Cupecoy Beach. The accomadations were small, we had a studio but clean and remodeled. The airconditioning was not very good in the afternoon because the sun heat came through. Also, we were not allowed to leave the "airconditioning key" in working while we were not in the room. The bed was very hard, my husband liked it but it was too hard for me. The shower was small and you could not take a shower without washing your hair. The manager was very helpful. We rented our car thru the manager for $150 week (this is low season). Becareful of driving. It can be very hazzardous. We rented beach chairs from the front desk for $15 the week. The bar was great and the pool was great. We will probably come back because we got a good deal and it was clean and provided us with everything we needed. If you are looking for 5 star, this is not it. But it does provide all the amenities that you need for the basics.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lou709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, MD
326
Reviewed July 13, 2006

The Ocean Club was acceptable. We had a studio apartment that overlooked the pool and the ocean. The view was great. The room was adequate - nice, but just basic. I heard that some rooms required a AC key to operate the unit, but ours did not so we kept the room at 75F during the day and 70F at night all week. The room came with everything that you could need, except an iron which we got from the front desk. The room includes a fridge/freezer, sink, dishwasher, toaster, microwave, a small bathroom with a standup shower, and a tv with 10 New York City channels.

The front desk also has free beach/pool towels. The service was friendly. There was hardly anyone staying there. The place has a bar by the pool where we had pretty good steak and cheese subs while watching the world cup. Beer prices were reasonable, with 2 for 1 prices from 4:30-6pm. The timeshare at one time had the Internet, but the receptionist told me they didn't. Our hot water didn't work for 1-2 days. The resort charged us a $100 energy surcharge, and $2.70/minute for phone calls to the US. I had to go to the Wyndym Hotel next door to use the Internet for 0.15c/min. They also had a small grocery store in the basement of that hotel which was overpriced.

The Ocean Club sits on Cupecoy Beach (nude) which is very nice secluded beach with great sand nestled into rocky cliffs which provide even more seclusion. We rarely saw anyone else, but the water was a little rough for my wife. We recommend Baie Rouge (topless) which is about 10 minutes by car, and offers a pretty happening beach with the best snorkeling of the island including a tunnel through a cliff that you can swim through. Also recommend Maho Bay Beach (topless) with fairly good snorkeling but a nice wide open beach with plenty of people watching.

We also rented beach chairs and umbrella from Packlight (found on Internet) for $25/wk and snorkel equipment $20/wk. We rented a car (a must) from Ace (found on Internet) for $125/wk which was the cheapest I found. A rental car is a must as there are few taxis or buses, and the island is fairly big. I heard that you shouldn't leave anything in the car. Also don't drink the water, but if you do, make sure to visit the pharmacy for an over the counter remedy (I forget the name) that worked within an hour.

I also recommend stopping to get groceries for the week, as just about everything is expensive, especially if you travel to the French side of the island as the dollar to euro exchange rate is 1.2 to 1. Some places will honor the dollar though, be sure to ask before hand. There was a good grocery store in Mullet Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2006

Returned a few days ago from visiting St. Maarten. We stayed in a time share "The Ocean Club Villa's" at Cupecoy Beach. Had a fantastic time and will go back again. Everyone was super friendly. Very relaxing vacation.

We had a huge one bedroom with a king size bed, the living room had two separate sofas. One of the sofa's pulled out to make a bed. Large deck with two chaise lounges, another chair and table that over looked the pool. Time share did charge a $50 energy bill. Thought that was strange since you had to use your door key to start the air-conditioner. (NOT CENTRAL AIR)but did cool the rooms adequately. You only received one key to the unit. People who owned at Ocean Club Villas were great. Most have been coming to St. Maarten for years and they are like one big happy famiy. They did include us and made us feel welcome.

Loved visiting all the great beaches. Cupecoy Beach was within walking distance of our timeshare and we enjoyed watching the sunset and great waves. Did not actually spend time sunbathing on Cupecoy. It is a nude beach and saw just a few men. Orient Beach had a lot of water crafts that you could rent. Lots of tourists and topless women. Baie Rouge was our favorite beach not real crowded. Great waves and beautiful blue water. We had HAPPY HOUR at Gus's and also enjoyed appetizers. You could sit under an umbrella and just enjoy the sites.

Visited Marigot on the French side and enjoyed the restaurants and great shopping. Philipsburg on the Dutch side also had great shopping, restaurants and a beach where you could see the cruise ships in the distance.

Went to "HARMONY NIGHTS" in Grand Case-entertainment in the streets and people selling all types of crafts also great food. Grand Case is also known for its great French restaurants but sorry to say we did not have time to have dinner. We were on a bus trip.

We rented a car while in St. Maarten from Summer Set Car Rental a local dealer. Super people-Mitch was great.

Will go back to St. Maarten again. LOVED IT!!!!!

14  Thank Carol36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
119
Reviewed October 31, 2005

we came for a week and stayed a month. Yes, it was that good. We had a corner unit, with beathtaking view of the oceans and the lagoon. The sunsets were fabulous. The crowd at the Oasis lounge was friendly and the owners were entertaining as they free poured our drinks and boy can they cook. Yum!!!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2004

I have owned a time share here for 7 years and like it so much that I bought a second week this year. The beach is out your front door, and the privacy is spectaular. Small but perfect for th discerning traveller.

11  Thank c3boats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
138
Reviewed March 1, 2004

We had a corner, ocean-view (from 2 sides) unit at Ocean Club Villas for a full week in January, 2003.

Every aspect of the unit was bright and pleasing to the eye. The grounds were clean and well-kept.

The view from the windows, and from the balcony, was absolutely breathtaking. Ocean Club sits high on the beachside cliffs, and there is nothing obstructing the vista.

The people also staying there were a good bunch, quiet, yet friendly - the antithesis of the lot you cannot avoid on a cruise ship. Ocean Club seems to attract a good group of guests.

The staff was most cordial and engaging. The poolside bar and restaurant was a fun place to go between visits to beach and town(s).

Sint Maarten has a most relaxed attitude towards one's dress, or lack thereof. Ocean Club expects you to wear a suit at the pool or on the grounds, but down at the beach swimsuits are an rarity. There was no friction between these two environments...

We would have returned this year, but we didn't act quickly enough and no avails existed. We'll be back.

38  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
0.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Towers at Mullet Bay
The Towers at Mullet Bay
#1 of 1 in Mullet Bay
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
#2 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Club

Address: Lowlands 146 | Cupecoy Beach, Cupecoy Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cupecoy Bay
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Ocean Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
The Ocean Club St Martin / St Maarten/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing