We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Reviewed February 6, 2005

We spent 5 nights at the Wyndham in January, and it was absolutely amazing. After a "budget trip" to Europe last March, this was a very refreshing "American hotel." The room was very large, and the view was unbelieveable. My only gripe about this hotel was that the only beach access we could walk to to tiny, tiny. The cliffs are incredible, but not perfect for beach bums.

16  Thank KJTECU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 655 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Middletown, Delaware
17
Reviewed February 1, 2005

We spent the last week of January at Sapphire Beach. It was an absolutely great week. The staff, especially at the front desk, were delightful. The room was clean and the views were fabulous.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
215
Reviewed January 27, 2005

Stayed at this hotel for a few days in winter break. It looked great on the web but I got scared after reading these reviews, they were mostly correct. The floor we stayed in smelled of urine, there were leaks everywhere and the AC did not work. Management was called, sent up repairmen who were very friendly, but the problem was we constanty needed them. Trying to get towels was a joke as the lady allowed one per person. The security was a joke as the guard was offering ppl rides. Overall STAY AWAY go somewhere and experence a vacation.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2005

This cozy hotel is real caribbean style. Simple, unassuming yet comfortable. The rooms are large many with 2 bedrooms and 3 balcony's, the one that overlooks the ocean has it's own private jacuzzi. The master bedroom has a large bathroom with a jacuzzi oversized tub that has terrific power. They have a poolside bar restaurant that serves breakfast lunch & dinner. Great grocery store on premises. Small but adequate gym. Beauty salon and spa. Conviently located near French border. Walk to Casino, restaurant & small shops. Music by pool and activities director offers exercise classes in the morning in the pool. The best bafternoon bingo. Don't expect 5 star service. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely return. By the way the beach is not the best feature of this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fernk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2004

My husband and I just returned from a vacation at the "Sapphire" (as the natives call it). I traditionally come to "The Advisor" to gather information about the hotel and the place I intend to vacation. Let me say that I was particularly swayed towards the Wyndham Sapphire Beach Resort (WSBR) by the description on Expedia. Although, I did not receive the room I wanted with a Jacuzzi on the balcony overlooking the Caribbean Ocean. The room my husband and I were given was nice. It was on one of the upper floors, overlooking Simpson Bay, and had room enough to sleep six comfortably. Like a pouty child I was tempted to go to another hotel since I did not get my room with a view and a "Jacuzzi." Upon checking out the other accomodations nearby my husband and I felt that we would be "trading down," so we stayed at the WSBR. Let me say that "a little" of what all the reviews have written is true. I will not dwell on the "negatives." but will say that Eunice at the front desk at the WSBR is a "true professional." Thanks Eunice.
Although, the beach at the WSBR was almost "non-existent" there are plenty of beaches nearby to enjoy.

4  Thank OntheGoCyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
lakeview
13
Reviewed December 2, 2004

This property continues to suffer from management that could careless about the property. I would never stay here but my partner has invested in a Villa timeshare so it great for free.That about what its worth. This timeshare seem to lack enough money to keeps the rooms up to date. Broken doors,broken TV, fridge that dosen't get cold, broken airconditioning that doesn't work, yes they will send the repairman as many times as you are willing to keep calling. But come on at least they can keep it clean and free of the overwhelming mildrew smell, ever here of pine-sol,ammonia and bleach. Believe me they haven't at this place. . The staff is rude and clueless and the activity desk lady , Rhonda, is a big ripoff. Book activities direct yourself as she doesn't save you any money. Don't give her the $20.00 deposit because then you are charged full fare when you arrive at your activity. The hotel say they only rent space to her.! Right!Get away early and experience this beautiful Island and its Great food and beaches.The French side is outstanding and they people are lovely. If you just want a place to shower this would be the place. The Beach is not safe unless you are a very good swimmer, and don't even think about letting your kids in the water at their beach. I dare you to try to get a cup of coffee in the morning at the pool bar and a beach towel, this place is a joke.Talk about a tough place to get some service, try getting a drink from their bartenter.Someone should tell him that they can't make money if he doesn't serve anybody.
Please tell me why the Wyndham is envolved in this property. I haven't seen any improvement in this property since they have taken over.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sandy Hook, CT
112
Reviewed November 10, 2004

Dear All,
Prior to our trip, many of you made us feel a bit cautious about this property. In fact we considered going elsewhere. Well, we are glad that we did not. The property is in fact showing some age, probably built in the 70's or early 80's. The rooms were very clean, spacious and quite comfortable. Our unit had a new dishwasher, new double door refrigerator and an incredible view of the ocean and of the island of Saba, 27 miles to the south. Each room has a hot tub on the balcony (seats 4), the water is changed automatically every few days but they could do with a good scrubbing. Some of the drawers are old and are a bit difficult to open and close. showers are good, but no curtain, this tends to make the floor a bit wet. But it is really no big deal. If you're a bit pompass or arrogant, this place may not be for you. The service is ISLAND STYLE MON...That means a bit slow. If you take your time (remember, you’re on HOLIDAY!!) and don't act like the aforementioned adjectives you will love this place. The staff truly cares; you have to talk to them and get to know them a bit. Special mention to the young lady from Santo Domingo who works in the store, she was a blast. And she knows her coffee!!! The bartender (from France) Mathew was friendly, informative and really is good at opening beer!! Several days per week, you will find vendors in the lobby selling island goods, they are reasonable and of course, you can negotiate.
Some pointers:
1. Attend the island informational meeting on Sunday. It is worth getting up for. No sales pitches from Time Share hawks.
2 Do NOT BOOK with the travel information desk. She will ask you for a deposit, which is usually about $20.00 per couple. Then you get to your tour/attraction and you will pay the face value of whatever you purchased. The so-called deposit is actually the compensation for Ms NO personality Rhonda. Trust me, call direct, I found you can negotiate with the operators. I received between 10 and 25% off my activities on average. Oh, and she tries to manipulate you with bad facts to convince you to book with her. Not a good reflection on the establishment.
3. Take the pub-crawl on the Celine!!!(Boat cruise on a 40'cat) This is awesome! You have an open bar on the boat, welcome drink at each of three locations and some food with each stop. We had a great group of people and really enjoyed the evening.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
2.9 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.9 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
1.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.2 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
222 reviews
5.2 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Club Resort

Address: Lowlands 147, Cupecoy Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: $196 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapphire Beach Club Resort is located just 3 miles from Princess Juliana International Airport on the Dutch Side of Sint-Maarten, on French-Dutch border. Situated between the turquoise blue waters of the Caribbean Sea and the beautiful Simpson Bay Lagoon on Cupecoy Beach. 180 spacious guest rooms, penthouses and villas elegantly decorated with Caribbean decor, fully equipped kitchens including coffee maker; with luxurious Italian Marble Bathrooms, Internet access, cable TV, VCR and DVD and fabulous view. Relax in style and enjoy tropical breezes from your private terrace or balcony, with spectacular views of the ocean or the expansive Simpson Bay Lagoon. All the ocean-view rooms have a private jacuzzi on the balcony, and all the luxurious villas and penthouses feature private swimming pools and Jacuzzis overlooking the view of the Caribbean Sea.Enjoy the island’s wonderful beaches . In fact, the resort is within easy walking distance of beautiful Cupecoy Beach, a prime spot for swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing and other water sports. SBC is nearby golf course and tennis court as well. In just few minutes you can enjoy duty-free shopping at the upscale designer boutiques and jewelry shops of Philipsburg and Marigot as well as nearby hip clubs and casinos. Take advantage of the whole range of hotel services SBC offers to our valued guests:- Open Reception 24h / 24 and 7 days / 7- Swimming pool- Fitness Room and Beauty Salon- Business Center- Bar & Restaurant- Activity Desk- Car Rental Desk. All surrounded by the fabulous mix of Dutch, French and Caribbean charm that makes Sapphire Beach Club Resort a delightful place for vacation all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sapphire Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Sapphire Beach Club And Resort
Wyndham Sapphire Beach Resort
Wyndham Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Wyndham
Sapphire Beach Club Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing