We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Checked in on 10/26/12 and the air conditioner did not work. Just blew warm air not cold. Told the not so friendly crew at the front desk and was told they would have it checked. Long story short after complaining all week to front desk and talking to the manager 3 times ( who told us the first time it would be fixed the next day, and wasn't) the a/c was still not working when we checked out on 11/3/12. There were other guest with a/c and not happy.

Front desk crew are useless and unfriendly. It's like you are bothering them when you go down there. Seems like they are just there to make their hours and go home.

The hot tub did not work , the ice maker on the fridge did not work and neither one was fix by the time we left. If you need ice you have to go into town and buy it. No ice at the resort. Had a hard time getting clean washcloths .
The only good thing there is the Oreo22 bar. Stephanie and Sharon are GREAT! Would never stay here again and will not recommend to anyone.

You get off the elevator and the place has a moldy smell.

Room Tip: First tip would be to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silsbeeTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 655 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed in the two bedroom on the 2nd floor of "Tower 2".

First the bad: No two "twin beds" in the 2nd bedroom (more like a closet), only a trundle bed with a 2 inch thick foam matress. Sheets were old and stained, but we brought our own anyways. Freezer door would not stay shut, had to prop a chair in front of it. Occasional roach scampered across the floor, but nothing crazy for that island. All the other roaches and creepy crawlys lived in the dishwasher, causing it to be unusable.

The In-Between: Pans and cookware is in poor shape, also unusable. Maid staff basically picks up towels and makes beds; never swept or cleaned elsewhere. Sure, there are a lot of cats in the lobby, but we like cats so that was fine with us. Tub/shower has no curtains as everyone has mentioned. Hot water was scarce. Floor 2 (actually 3rd) had semi-good views of the Caribbean, ZERO view from Master Balcany to bay, and ZERO view from side balcany. Try to stay higher up. The location of the resort on the Island is well situated if you like to be inbetween action and relaxation.

Ending on a Good Note: Jacuzzi worked well, AC worked just fine. Internet in Lobby was decent speed. The new "Sapphire Cafe" is now OREO22, run by Steph and Colette, who make amazing food, serve great drinks, and provide solid entertainment almost every night. Although I would never stay at Sapphire again, I would go to OREO22 time and time again if I ever visit the Island again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just got back from a week there and was disgusted that the air con never cooled our unit, the sheets and pillows smelled moldy and when we told guest services that our t.v. and remote did not work they told us could not fix it and to watch the small bedroom t.v. The unit looked run down and the dishwasher was rusted so every time we washed dishes they appeared with rust. This place needs new management, the property is in a great location and the views are amazing but the property is not being kept up.

Room Tip: Asked for a new remodeled room, heard they are in the process!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week at Sapphire Beach Club in St Marteen. Having carefully read the reviews prior to our trip, I took the initiative of calling the resort ahead of time to ask if the air conditioning would be working for us. I was informed that while the AC often fails in their other buildings, I was to stay in Building 3 and the AC works well in that building. Despite their reassurance, I was concerned about the AC. As it turns out, building 3 is the newest (although still somewhat aged) of their buildings and our AC worked very well all week.
Housekeeping came and cleaned our "jetted tub" the first day and we used it several times during the week. The location of the jetted tub on the private balcony was wonderful and you could relax in the tub and watch the sunset. While it could be classified as a "warm" tub rather than a hot tub, it was pleasant and we enjoyed our time in it. Housekeeping came back every day (except when we put the Privacy sign on the door) and cleaned the unit. The Dishwasher and Refrigerator were both very old and looked dirty, but when my wife tried to clean them better she realized the dirty spots were really just places that the finish was scrubbed off and were not really dirty. Both the refrigerator and dishwasher worked well, although the metal racks in both were missing pieces and other pieces were bent. There was a musty smell when entering the unit which you didn't notice after about 5 minutes and we believed that it came from the refrigerator, dishwasher, and wooden cabinets which are always a little damp from the constant high humidity.
There is now a restaurant and bar on site. What a wonderful addition as the food was great and the prices very fair. Stephanie, who runs the restaurant, was a delight and I seriously hope she can show a profit and keep the bar/restaurant open. Beware, it is cash only!
There was a friendly (but not pushy) French woman selling jewelry at a little stand near the restaurant. Her prices seemed fair and she was willing to adjust the size of the jewelry as needed.
All in all we really enjoyed our week. We did spend much of our time out of the resort visiting the local beaches. Cupecoy beach directly behind the resort was one of our favorites, although small, there was little traffic on the beach. Beware however, as this is a clothing optional Beach, you may run into nude or partially clothed sun worshipers. Very close to Sapphire (a ten minute walk, or two minutes by car) is Mullet Bay beach. This is also a beautiful beach but is much larger than Cupecoy beach and will be visited off and on during the day by catamarans and other boats letting tourists off for a short (one to two hours) beach visit. Because of the time of the year (late September) none of the beaches were overly full.
My wife and I love the island (this was our second visit) and plan to return many times. We would stay at Sapphire Beach Club again, although through our timeshare we have access to numerous resorts and would stay at any of them just to experience the island.
Don't be put off by the bad reviews for Sapphire, but do make sure you have a unit in Building 3 and you will have a good vacation.

Room Tip: Building 3 has air conditioning that works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank One_Lucky_Guy_in_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

i was meant to spend a weekend in june 2012 with my brother and his wife. the place is poorly kept and no customer service. the elevator is very tiny, and there were german cockroaches there. i have a phobia of those so this was NOT acceptable in my book. the room is big, but it was sparsely used by furniture, so it felt huge. the room stank of a musky scent, the AC needed repair. once i used the bathroom, i saw a huge black cockroach on the wall by the toilet. as any normal person would do, i immediately exited the bathroom, packed my stuff and left the hotel. i told the bell boy, but he didn't seem surprised. i'd rather sleep in a rental car than stay at that place!

Room Tip: there is none. find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AbiFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our up stairs Air conditioning did not work. We ask 5 times to get it fixed it before we demanded to be moved or we were going to another hotel. The desk clerks would smile and say ok, Write it up on paper, then sometimes it would work for a while and others, nothing. The head manager was good to get us moved once we got to him. The villa on the ocean had a great view and small personl swimming pool. Was older, and needed a paint job. Garbage was left out for the customers to see and smell. All they would have to do was put a door on the garage to put it in until pick up. I would go some place better next time. We just did not want to be in a bad mood on our vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgirl1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our first week in St. Maarten. I wish we could have stayed here for the entire two weeks. Everyone was so nice, the room was a studio on the 3rd floor facing the ocean and overlooking the pool. The bathroom was very nice, huge tub! The beach was just a 1 minute walk out the back past the pool. This is quite a small beach but it is very secluded and I kind of liked that since we were on our honeymoon. There were some stray cats around the premises but I happen to love animals and found them entertaining. They would come up to our room and hang out with us....they were actually really cute and cuddly.

This place felt like home (we are from Maine). Everyone got to know us and always said hello. The concierge, Melody, was the sweetest thing ever and so helpful. I felt like this place really had the feel of the island, it was charming and laid back. It wasn't a boastful resort with all these amenities you don't need on an island. It was simple and peaceful. There was a nice parking garage to park in. Housekeeping was amazing and came on a daily basis. She was so sweet and nice and did a fantastic job cleaning. You do have to use the internet in the lobby unless you want to pay for it, but hey...at least theirs was working! This was not our experience elsewhere. Our AC was working just fine. There was a little market downstairs in the basement where you could buy simple snacks and drinks and alcohol. We never saw any insects in our room or outside.

They had nightly entertainment at the pool bar by this really jovial guy on the drums and singing. He was actually really good. The food at the restaurant was not very good but that is the only bad thing I can say about this place except that we did not have a TV remote for the entire stay. But again, we did not come to the island to watch TV. It wasn't a big deal. We absolutely loved this place and would stay here again if we came back to St. Maarten.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank labelle00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.9 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
2.9 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
222 reviews
7.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Club Resort

Address: Lowlands 147, Cupecoy Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: $193 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapphire Beach Club Resort is located just 3 miles from Princess Juliana International Airport on the Dutch Side of Sint-Maarten, on French-Dutch border. Situated between the turquoise blue waters of the Caribbean Sea and the beautiful Simpson Bay Lagoon on Cupecoy Beach. 180 spacious guest rooms, penthouses and villas elegantly decorated with Caribbean decor, fully equipped kitchens including coffee maker; with luxurious Italian Marble Bathrooms, Internet access, cable TV, VCR and DVD and fabulous view. Relax in style and enjoy tropical breezes from your private terrace or balcony, with spectacular views of the ocean or the expansive Simpson Bay Lagoon. All the ocean-view rooms have a private jacuzzi on the balcony, and all the luxurious villas and penthouses feature private swimming pools and Jacuzzis overlooking the view of the Caribbean Sea.Enjoy the island’s wonderful beaches . In fact, the resort is within easy walking distance of beautiful Cupecoy Beach, a prime spot for swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing and other water sports. SBC is nearby golf course and tennis court as well. In just few minutes you can enjoy duty-free shopping at the upscale designer boutiques and jewelry shops of Philipsburg and Marigot as well as nearby hip clubs and casinos. Take advantage of the whole range of hotel services SBC offers to our valued guests:- Open Reception 24h / 24 and 7 days / 7- Swimming pool- Fitness Room and Beauty Salon- Business Center- Bar & Restaurant- Activity Desk- Car Rental Desk. All surrounded by the fabulous mix of Dutch, French and Caribbean charm that makes Sapphire Beach Club Resort a delightful place for vacation all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sapphire Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Club And Resort
Sapphire Beach Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Wyndham Sapphire Beach Resort
Wyndham Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Wyndham
Sapphire Beach Club Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing