We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fettuccine Alfredo Ever”
Review of Le Bateau Ivre

Le Bateau Ivre
Ranked #15 of 40 Restaurants in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: On the edge of the MarinaFine restaurant, traditonal French kitchen, specials every night Lunch and Dinner Open every day except Tuesday From 10 AM to 10 PM Live music every week
U.S
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Fettuccine Alfredo Ever”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a lovely little restaurant in the Cupecoy Plaza. It is very small so make reservations. I had the best Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo ever. It is huge, so split it. The service was great and even the live music was good. Definitely a place to go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMJETS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le-Bateau-Ivre, Propriétaire at Le Bateau Ivre, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We sincerely thank you for your very encouraging review: Indeed we do our best to represent the French cuisine and appreciate being recognized
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    35
    6
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicous Dinner”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I were at the Le Bateau Ivre last week as a treat to the coming of the end of our vacation on St. Martin. The atmosphere was perfect. Sitting inside, but with clear dropped panels to prevent the wind, fresh air still allowed through the doors and the sides made it perfect temperature. The view of the marina is great. People walking around, on their boats, walking dogs. The staff very friendly and accommodating. Speak English very well and help you to work on your French if you'd like. Snails and mushroom appetizer was delicious but very large, easily could have shared. Same with the tuna/mahi appetizer, which actually would make a delicious lunch. Seabass for dinner - which was a special, was incredible. Light and just enough. My husband wasn't crazy about the veal, but because it was rich, not that it was bad. Great wine list with some very nice French options in both red and white. We try to hit this restaurant every year as our going away meal as it is on the pricy side but definitely worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amt1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le-Bateau-Ivre, Propriétaire at Le Bateau Ivre, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We sincerely thank you for your very encouraging review: Indeed we do our best to represent the French cuisine and appreciate being recognized
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Consistently good lunch”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Have lunched there three times with friends. Sited in the Porto Cupecoy development (which is trying hard to convince you it is populated by wealthy people), the restaurant is great for a laid-back lunch. Wait staff tries very hard to please. Tuna Tartar is quite good. Wines are good and are served at the correct temperature. We were impressed enough to keep going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le-Bateau-Ivre, Propriétaire at Le Bateau Ivre, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We sincerely thank you for your very encouraging review: Indeed we do our best to represent the French cuisine and appreciate being recognized
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great food”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The chef and staff went out of their way to accommodate our group of 14 and made a 10 year old a very happy birthday boy with quite an amazing sparkly dessert. From snails to dessert - excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le-Bateau-Ivre, Propriétaire at Le Bateau Ivre, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We thank you sincerely for your review very encouraging and we are happy that your birthday party gives you a very good memory.
Indeed we do our best to represent the French cuisine and appreciate being recognized
Hope to see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Instead of Bateau Ivre (Drunken boat) it should be called Bateau Coulé (Sunken Boat).”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had eaten here on our last trip and although not a wow restaurant it was reasonable. This time the wheels fell off the bus. We were not very hungry so we ordered off the appetizer section of the menu. I ordered the French Onion Soup while my wife had the charcuterie plate. We accompanied this with a glass of wine each. When the food arrived the disappointment began. My onion soup seemed to have a chicken base and the onions were barely soft let alone caramelized. Salt was present in abundance and it was impossible for me to eat more than a couple of spoons. We have had charcuterie plates at other island restaurants as well as in Europe and at home. We were also aware that many fine cheeses and meats are available on the French side. Thus when what we called the Oscar Mayer plate arrived we were shocked. It looked like someone had opened a couple of lunchables and slapped them on the plate. Thoroughly disgusted we asked for the cheque and left. We told the server and the other staff we could see that the food was awful and inedible but nothing was done. I recommend that you pass this place by and instead eat at Le Quatre Vents upstairs.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candu_scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le-Bateau-Ivre, Propriétaire at Le Bateau Ivre, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
I sincerely apologize that we did live up to your expectations for your tapas dinner.
We usually get a lot of compliments for our onion soup and we are surprised that this evening it was not up to his reputation. We are sorry if it was not
Concerning the cold cut plate, we depend on arrivals on the island, and we recognize that the cold cut may be more or less abundant and diverse.
I hope you will give us another chance to deliver a great dining experience
We look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Valérie
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bateau Ivre also viewed

Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Baie Nettle, Saint-Martin
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Baie Nettle, Saint-Martin
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Le Bateau Ivre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing