We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely spectacular views and relaxing”
Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chappaqua, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely spectacular views and relaxing”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at The Summit Resort Hotel on the Dutch side of St. Maarten. This hotel was the best at providing a relaxing vacation in the most beautiful of settings. Our room looked out over the lagoon and the pool. We awoke to sunrise over the water and mountains. The view? Awesome! The buildings are brightly Caribbean –orange colored, clean and cheerful. Each room has a large terrace where we loved the mornings with coffee and tea. The hotel staff and management are warm and kind, with true Caribbean charm. It is a short drive to the beach, golf course, towns and shopping. For a peaceful, relaxing vacation in a friendly St Maarten setting, the Summit was perfect for us.

Room Tip: It's worth the slight extra cost to be in the first row of buildings off the water. choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueLC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear SueLC8,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review, and 5 star ratings, you gave the Summit on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it!

Your review confirmed so many of the terms we use to describe the Summit; relaxing, beautiful setting, clean, cheerful, peaceful and more. And yes, our view is amazing. I am so glad you enjoyed it from your private balcony over coffee in the mornings as that is one of my favorite things to do as well. Perhaps most important, your description of our staff as warm and kind really is appreciated. We are proud to have staff who have been with us for decades and who view our guests as their own personal guests and who strive to make them feel at home. It's just one of the things that makes the Summit such a special place to stay.

Thanks again for such a wonderful review. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back to the Summit soon.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    100
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
63
164
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, KY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

There were many things that we enjoyed about The Summit Resort Hotel. The view from our "premium view room" (4B) was outstanding. The size, comfort, and cleanliness of our room was very good. Relaxing on the balcony in the evening, and, sleeping at night was a pleasure due to the peaceful atmosphere. The location is good if you want to be relatively close to the airport, without too much airport noise. The staff was friendly, and, responded to questions and/or problems promptly. Those are the positives.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at The Summit Resort Hotel, however, there are some negatives, in our opinion, that should be considered. The hotel is not located on a beach. The nearest beach at Mullett Bay is about a 10 minute walk, or, you can drive to it in just a few minutes. We were aware of this prior to booking the room, so it wasn't a problem for us. The hotel has a restaurant, however, during our stay there were so few patrons, we were not sure that it was even open for business. When we asked the front office about the restaurant, we were told that there should be a menu in our room, but, we had none. As a result, we never ate at the restaurant. We don't really consider this a problem for us, it's just a lost opportunity for the hotel. One recommendation we have for the hotel is to improve the ambiance of the pool area at night. We feel that if the pool, and surrounding area had better lighting, it would be more inviting. Our final negative that we feel we should mention, and it's a big one, is that there are cockroaches. On two of the five nights that we stayed, we found live cockroaches in our room. As I mentioned earlier, we found the room to be adequately cleaned, but still, finding cockroaches in your room is an unnerving experience. We're not sure if this is an isolated incident, or, if this is an ongoing problem. Our guess is that with our unit, and any other that has a kitchen, this could be a problem. It's unfortunate that we have to mention this because aside from this problem, we enjoyed our stay, and, would consider returning, if there wasn't a pest problem.

Room Tip: Buildings 1,2,3,4 have the best views. After those would be buildings 11 and 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jje51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear jje51,

Thank you very much for the review you posted of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your thoughts about the hotel, both good and not so good. I appreciate your feedback.

On the plus side, I really appreciate your positive comments about the size, comfort and cleanliness of the room you had as well as the outstanding view you had over Simpson Bay Lagoon. The peaceful atmosphere you describe is a hallmark of the hotel and our location, not only close to the airport but also close to the best beaches, restaurants and shopping on the island, has always been an asset. Our staff, some of whom have been with us for more than 30 years, is a major asset as well.

You listed three negatives in your review, two of which you stated did not present a problem for you which I was glad to see. One was our location which, as you know, is located atop a cliff and offers a spectacular view over Simpson Bay Lagoon which some people say is the best view on the island. We are not located on a beach, and priced accordingly, and most guests enjoy the opportunity to explore the 37 beautiful beaches that our island has to offer.

Another concern you expressed was our relatively quiet restaurant, which we see as a peaceful place to enjoy a delicious dinner after a long day running around the island. St Maarten/St Martin offer 365 restaurants, one for every day of the year, and we think guests should get out and enjoy as many of them as possible to truly enjoy the island experience. For those who prefer to stay in though, our restaurant offers a quiet setting, with delicious food, just steps away from your room.

Finally, your concern about insects in your room is certainly a legitimate one and I apologize for the experience you had. Insects are a problem that is endemic to any tropical island environment. We employ an exterminating service, that treats each room on a regular basis, but there will at times be exceptions that cannot be helped. Please rest assured that these were isolated incidents and not normal for the Summit at all.

Again, thank you for the review you posted and I am gratified to see you say that you enjoyed your stay and would consider returning to visit us again. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our first time back to St. Maarten in 30 years. The Summit was perfect for a low key, laid back vacation. It has clean rooms, well furnished, and a nicely private. A very accessible pool, restaurant, and bar area. It is a simple drive to many eateries in the Cupecoy, Maho, and Simpson Bay areas, and Marigot and Grand Case are only 20 and 30 minutes away for fine French dining.

Room Tip: Single story cottages are quiet; 2 story units are still private although you get some noise when fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Eric G,

Thank you very much for the very nice review of the Summit that you posted on TripAdvisor. I'm flattered that, after being away from St. Maarten for 30 years, you chose us as the place to stay upon your return. We opened for business 40 years ago and, while we've renovated and upgraded the property many times over the years, we still provide the clean, comfortable, low key and laid back vacation you described in your review. We think our guests get the best of both worlds. On the one hand, we're close to everything from the best beaches to dining to nightlife but, on the other, at the end of the day you can retreat to our quiet little slice of paradise. It's ideal.

Thanks again for the great review and we hope you'll be back to see us much sooner the next time!

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a relaxing hotel to lay your head after a long day at the beach this is the place. Located away from the hustle this property is so quiet I never want to leave. The rooms are comfortable, the patios or balconies are perfect for morning coffee overlooking the lagoon or an afternoon piña colada. Many small restaurants close by and some of our favorite beaches. If you are looking for updated and modern, this is not the place. If you are looking for peaceful and comfortable this place is perfect. We love this place and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LizOlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear LizOlsson,

Wow, what a wonderful review you wrote of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much. Your review hit the nail on the head and your choice of title, "Peaceful and Relaxing" couldn't describe the Summit better. We pride ourselves on delivering clean, quiet, comfortable accommodations in a beautiful environment that is close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island. I love that you spent time relaxing on your balcony over morning coffee. That is one of my favorite activities too and it certainly does give your brain a chance to relax and unwind doesn't it?

Thank you again for a great review. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back to the Summit soon!

Many thanks,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was our first time at The Summit Hotel and our 6th visit to St. Maartin. By far, we enjoyed our time more in St. Maartin because of our experience at this lovely, clean, quiet property. We had just returned from a month's sailing and this hotel was just what we needed.

We appreciated the good quality towels, the exceptional housekeeping and the friendliness of the staff.

The room was apartment style and well appointed. The pool area is lovely. This is an older property that has been updated without losing it's "old school" island appeal. We loved the location, behind the medical school and local high school. Felt like we were more in the St. Maartin community than in another hotel or resort. Close to everything...Mullet Beach, good local food hangouts.

We felt exceptionally safe and well cared for on an island that sometimes is more "party" than we'd prefer. Expect lights out early and the sweet sounds of nature drifting through the windows.
(yes, there's A/C if you'd prefer)

Only suggestion we would make would be to upgrade the mattresses...somewhat hard.

Otherwise...we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property, and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Had we known, we would have requested a directly on the bay. Ours was one row, back...still had bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisLife2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear ThisLife2Live,

Thank you so much for your great review, and 5 star rating, of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I can't tell you how much I appreciate it. It means even more to me since you are veteran visitors to St. Maarten but this was your first visit to the Summit. I'm glad we made your experience of our beautiful island even better than before.

When you mention our "old school" island appeal, you are describing exactly what we lovingly refer to as "Old World Caribbean Charm" and it's what we think makes the Summit so special. We've just celebrated our 40th anniversary in St. Maarten and, over all those years, have strived to deliver an experience that includes all the things you mentioned, friendly staff, connection to the community, safe and well cared for, close to nature and so much more. It helps that we're close to the best beaches and dining on the island too!

Again, thank you very much for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit on your next visit to St. Maarten.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

this was our second time staying at the summit and we now understand why people continue to come back to this resort year after year. Everyone is so friendly especially housekeeping as you walk by they will always say hello and ask how everything is. the rooms were spacious and always clean!! the view is just breath taking!! but the one person who stood out the most was the bar tender Denece. she was so pleasan,t always smiling and so very helpful. Denece has a gift with in her...she always seems to know what you want and is ALWAYS willing to do anything for you she really made our trip memorable!
Thanks so much to all of the staff they are fantastic!!!
See you next year!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear theresa s,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote about the Summit on TripAdvisor and for all the nice comments you made about our staff! I truly appreciate it. I think the reason our staff is so friendly is because, when you visit the Summit, our staff feels like they are welcoming you to their own home, not just to a hotel where they work. We are fortunate to have some staff who have been with us, quite literally, for decades, going back forty years to when we first opened in 1973. They love the Summit and they want guests to love it too so they go out of their way to please. As for Denece, you are right, she is a gem. Always smiling, always happy to offer advice about the best places to visit on the island and always quick to make you a delicious drink as well. I am so glad this was a repeat visit to the Summit for you and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. to see us. Thank you again for the great review.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The resort is absolutely quality and value for money. The rooms as roomy and tidy and well appointed. The views are amazing and the location perfect. The bedding and towels are brand new. However one criticism is that there pillows are like bricks and they do not have soft ones.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptlpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Ptlpip,

Thank you very much for your kind words and the high scores you gave us in your review of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your comment about the pillows. As a result of your feedback, I have just placed an order for a variety of pillows in different sizes and softness levels. I hope to offer you one on your next visit to our hotel. Thanks again for the great review.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
2.6 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
747 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,796 reviews
5.0 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Property: The Summit Hotel
Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing