We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Best Rest”
Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

After a long flight from the west coast, we were welcomed by very polite staff. We were road worn and needed food and rest immediately. We were shown to a nice, clean studio with a view of the lagoon, pool and restaurant/bar. (Everything we needed) The hamburger at the bar was the best on the island. We slept like babies on a very comfortable bed. We own a timeshare at one of the best resorts on the island, but I would rather stay at the Summit.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lagoon! (2B)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAM1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear GAM 1949,

Thank you very much for your kind words and the great rating you gave us on TripAdvisor. I am very glad we were able to provide you with the rest and relaxation you sought after your long trip to our beautiful island. I'm glad you enjoyed the burger too! I appreciate that you own timeshare elsewhere on the island but want you to know that you are always welcome back at the Summit anytime. We will be happy to have you stay with us again.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 323 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Our vacation at the Summit Hotel was a wonderful experience! The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the owner, who gave terrific recommendations regarding which restaurants and beaches to visit. We felt like we were being treated as if we were old friends or family, not just as guests. The rooms were very comfortable, large, and clean. The well-equiped kitchen was great, as we cooked and ate breakfast in our room every day, dining on the balcony with a gorgeous view of the lagoon. The bathroom was clean, with excellent water pressure in the shower. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and well-maintained. We especially enjoyed the pool,which was never crowed, and again had excellent views of the water from the adjacent deck. We did not have the chance to eat at the restaurant, but we heard from other guests that the food was delicious. The location of the Summit was perfect as well,and was close(but not too close) to the airport, and we were able to walk to Mullet beach and drive easily to other nearby beaches. I would highly recommend the Summit to my friends and family. We would not stay at any other place. I look forward to returning here the next time we go to St. Maarten.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Simpson Bay have an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenniseyeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear tenniseyeguy,

Wow, what a great review! Thank you so much for your kind words and great rating of the Summit on TripAdvisor. We do indeed think of our guests as friends and family so I am glad that feeling came across. It was great to have a chance to meet you at the hotel and I'm glad you liked the recommendations I made for restaurants and beaches. I've got many more to share so you'll have to come back soon! Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Summit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We've been vacationing in St Maarten for years and never knew this place even existed. It is delightful and so very laid back - great staff and very friendly guests as well. Some students (and their spouses) from the nearby medical school even eat at the restaurant and everyone raves about the home cooked food.
The accommodations are clean and comfortable - not fancy - but if you want to relax, this is the place. We hated to leave!

Room Tip: Try for the rooms near the pool - they have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear CMH,

Thank you very much for your kind words and great review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. People do say that we are the best kept secret on St Maarten but I am delighted that you found us anyway. We are indeed laid back, as you describe, and we think we provide exactly what so many people are looking for on vacation. A quiet, peaceful place to relax that is close to everything. We were honored to have just been featured in USA Today newspaper in an article on the best places to stay in St Maarten on a budget. Clean and comfortable describes us to a T, not fancy but not pricey either. Just a warm, welcoming place to stay with great staff and guests who have been visiting us for decades. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back to the Summit sometime soon.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've been visiting SXM for 12 years now. My first trip I stayed at another hotel (was Dad's timeshare), the next trip I did some searching and found this quaint little very reasonably priced place so thought we'd give it a shot. Well, 11 years later it is still the place I stay and the only place I have stayed. The property is so nicely kept. The staff is beyond amazing - from just idle chit chat to down right tears and gut pain from laughter at the pool bar! Can't say it enough, it is most definitely the best place. The pool is never crowded, the food is fantastic, the bar service is awesome, and did I tell you how wonderful the staff is?? ;) Seriously though, it really does have it all, rooms are spacious and have all you need, and if not, just ask - they will get it for you! If you don't stay here, at least make a trip to have a meal and hang at the pool bar for happy hour - you'll be glad you did!!

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the pool/bar area have the best views. If you get a deluxe ocean view, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear D L,

Wow, I can't thank you enough for the great comments and high ratings you gave us in your review of the Summit Resort on TripAdvisor. Thank you, thank you, thank you! You really make us all feel great. As you know, we love welcoming guests to the Summit and, in my opinion, one of the things that makes the Summit so special is our fantastic staff. They really are all about making guests feel at home and to them, it is not a job but rather something they enjoy as one person to another. You can see it in the smiles on their faces when they greet guests and in the extra effort they make to see to it that guests have all they need to enjoy the Summit and our wonderful island. Thank you for your years of visiting the Summit and here's looking forward to many more to come!

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for a quick weekend ended up staying 6 days
The room was very clean even had a kitchen
staff was above and beyond friendly
in making your stay enjoyable
overall I would recommend
This place to anyone who wants a
quiet stay to relax and recharge
thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piratepat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear piratepat25,

Thank you very much for your kind words and great ratings of the Summit Resort on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. I think you hit the nail on the head with the title of your review. We pride ourselves on being a quiet, relaxing place to stay and the fact that we are only a five minute ride from great beaches and attractions like Maho, Mullet Bay, Porto Cupecoy and others is a nice added bonus. It means you can take advantage of great beaches, restaurants, shopping and casinos right nearby and then have a quiet little retreat like the Summit to escape to when it's time to relax and unwind. Thanks for mentioning our warm and friendly staff. They are what make the place feel like home to so many guests. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit on your next visit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This "island" hotel was such a tropical delight with a beautiful setting. The staff was extraordinary, catering to our every need. Very reasonable rates, too! I highly recommend the Summit Hotel in St. Martin (St. Maarten)!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony view overlooking the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuJu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear JuJu H,

Thank you so much for your positive review and kind words about the Summit on TripAdvisor. We take great pride in our staff and the beauty of our setting and really appreciate it when guests take notice as you did. Thank you for that. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back to the Summit on a future visit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We checked in after delay in getting our rental car, anxious to unpack and enjoy the view from the pool deck. We have stayed here before for a few nights, but this time we were staying for a week. The front desk person was so cheerful and welcoming and smiled when she handed us our key for room 4B. Without a doubt, the best view of Simpson Bay lagoon and overlooking a beautiful garden and the pool. We really didn't want to check out a week later. The unit had a very efficient air conditioner wall unit and ceiling fans to circulate the cool air. The kitchen was more than adequate, and the bathroom had a great shower head with good water pressure. Joan kept the place clean and well stocked with towels etc. The pool is surrounded by a large deck and the restaurant-Tropical Heaven. It is independent of the Summit but caters to not only the guests, but locals as well as the medical students from next door. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. The grounds are a throwback to the way vacation retreats blended seamlessly with the beautiful natural surroundings, with plenty of flowering plants and shade trees. The whole operation, feels more like family, rather than the impersonal approach of many of the newer high-rise resorts. If you are looking for a relaxed, low keyed destination on the Dutch side in Cupecoy, close to some of the nicest beaches on the island (Cupecoy, Baie Rouge, Mullet Bay), I would highly recommend the Summit Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front row of buildings (Bldg 1-4) have waterfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 312islandbouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear 312islandbouy,

I can't thank you enough for the great review you posted on TripAdvisor about the Summit. You hit the nail on the head when you said "the whole operation feels more like family" since that is exactly how we feel about it too. From the warm welcome you get at the front desk to the care that our housekeepers take to make sure your room is clean and comfortable, all of our staff think of you as guests in their home and they love making you feel welcome. We are indeed a "throwback" as you said and proud of it too. We think that providing a clean, comfortable and beautiful environment at a great price and with a warm smile should never go out of style. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit sometime soon.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
2.6 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
6.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: $100 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing