We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Summit Resort Hotel”
Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Northridge, CA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Summit Resort Hotel”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Summit Resort Hotel was excellent, my room even had a full kitchen with dishwasher. The room was very big with a king size bed and a separate couch and table. There was also a flat screen TV, with numerous cable channels!!! The restaurant was excellent also, the French toast was delicious!!! The restaurant overlooks the Simpson Bay Lagoon and pool, you can see French St,Martin and Anguilla from the restaurant deck!!! The service was excellent too, very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel. Scott Ingram, Northridge, CA, USA

Room Tip: Get Lagoon View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Scott,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review, and 5 star rating, you posted of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it. As a small hotel, without a large budget for marketing, we try to earn high marks like yours from every guest and do everything we can to ensure guests enjoy their stays with us. I agree with your tip about getting a lagoon view room as these indeed have spectacular views. Our garden view rooms are beautiful too, and slightly lower priced, so they may be good option for some as well. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to St Maarten.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    101
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
63
166
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

When our daughter decided to get married at LaSamanna Resort, we wanted to offer our friends and family a more affordable lodging alternative that would allow them to extend their stay in St Martin. The Summit was the perfect option and about 40 of our guests chose to spend all or part of their stay there. The resort is not luxurious but the rooms are large, and well maintained. The pool/restaurant/bar area was an ideal gathering place for our group. There is a great view of Simpson Bay Lagoon and a welcome breeze. Bruce, the owner; Ms Evans, the manager; and Sasha, the activities director couldn't have done more to take care of our guests' every needs - even planning special activities and arranging transportation for us. Michael, Denece, and Marjorie took the time to learn our guests' names and made sure we never went hungry or thirsty! (The jerk chicken wings got rave reviews!). The housekeeping staff was friendly and efficient. We would highly recommend the Summit for couples, families and especially for a group!

Room Tip: The premium water view rooms are worth the extra money, however, Units 3A/B are not quite as nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear kudo,

First, let me say congratulations again on your daughter's wedding and thank you for sharing such a nice review about the Summit on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate it.

Your group was a pleasure to host and the entire staff is still talking about what fun they were and how nice everyone was. Our staff loves welcoming guests to the Summit and takes a personal interest in everyone's enjoyment, not only of the Summit but of our beautiful island as well. We love when guests have such a good time here and leave happy and with good memories. We hope you will come back and visit us again someday!

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent the weekend with our three young children - we had a great time - and the place is designed very nicely for small children to enjoy - very spacious - lots of space to run and play and the outdoors is magnificent - shady, grassy areas. The rooms were well equipped, clean, and comfortable! The constant breeze and fresh air, beautiful views and friendly service only added. A great place to be - for family vacation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moishe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear moishe c,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. We appreciate it and we're glad that you and your family had such a great time staying with us. As you noted, our grounds are spacious and our rooms are connected via walkways that meander through tropical vegetation like hibiscus, oleander, bougainvillea and more. There is always a delightful breeze, given our location overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon, and the view is indeed amazing.

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. Please come back and visit again soon!

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, oh
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Summit for 6 nights at the end of May/beginning of June for a destination wedding that was held elsewhere. There were about 35 individuals from our group who stayed here at least part of the time. This was a great venue for our group as there is a nice area near the pool that is under cover and has picnic type tables. We met there every morning for breakfast and at other times through out the day. The location is a little a way from the action but with a car that really doesn't matter. The daily cost was exceedingly reasonable, the rooms were large, cleaning was prompt and thorough. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is only a half mile from beautiful mullet bay beach--which is excellent and closer than that to a casino and some casual dining options. This is not the place for folks looking for a high end get away but for a longer term stay this is a very good option. We would recommend it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear pasweet,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. Your group was a fun one to host and I'm glad we were able to provide you with comfortable accommodations for the wedding you were attending. As you noted, our location is close to some of the best beaches and restaurants and we have many guests who think of us as their clean, comfortable and peaceful base to come home to after a day spent exploring all the island has to offer. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back to the Summit sometime soon.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is a little hard to find. The signs are small, but they are there when you look closely. Once you get to the hotel, it is worth it. The views from the swimming pool and deck are amazing. The resort sits right on Simpson Bay, overlooking the water and it is beautiful. It makes for an amazing place to swim, tan, or enjoy a drink at the poolside bar.

The rooms are large and very well equipped. We had a full refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, tea pot, and drawers full of dishes and gadgets. The bed was large and comfortable. The sofa was even more comfortable. The bathroom was on the older side, but functional. There was a security gate to get to the hotel, which was a nice feature. They also had free wifi and a computer in the lobby for guests to use (great for us to print our boarding passes for our flight home!)

On the down side, the air conditioner was old and quite loud, especially while you're trying to sleep. The plumbing and fixtures were old, though they worked fine.

Overall, I'd definitely stay here again. The hotel is only ten minute drive from the airport, so location was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Lee C,

Thank you for your great review, and positive comments about the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. You are correct that we are somewhat tucked away, up on a cliff overlooking the lagoon behind AUC, but I am glad that you made the effort to find us. Being located where we are gives us the advantage of being only minutes away from great beaches, restaurants and shops while still being private and peaceful and easy to get to. The view is one I never get tired of and I've been looking at it for 40 years!

Thank you again for all your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASSAPEQUA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Bright sunshine and crystal blue water views automatically make you feel good. Especially when you're coming from the cold. This hotel has the best views and a picture perfect pool location. It;s not ont hebeach but very prettyy views. The beach access is down the road and costs about 15.00 per person for the chair and unbrella.If you want any type of comfort and luxery this hotel is not it. The rooms are clean but very dated.Cracked floor tiles, stained lamp shades, a bit too old applianceas and utensils, cheap bed linens, bathroom curtains, etc... I didn't feel clean at this hotel and I can deal with a lot.Also, there were too many "wild cats" roaming the property. I know it was an improvement from their past ratings, but too much for me.
The "restaurant" has such low traffic, that I worried about the freshness of the food, especially when the bartender had to cook since the chef was not there. However, the meal was tasty.
They have a happy hour which draws the timeshare crowd.This is not the place for young couples or families.No activites or much to do. You do need a car, as most of the area is still under renovation from a past hurricane. Walking is not the safest at night. All activity is in the next town.(5 minutes)
Internet is in the main lobby.The staff was friendly and tried to accomodate but they know the restrictions and give service with a smile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a direct view. You can also ask for the owners unit which they rent from time w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pastalover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear pastalover123,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments about the Summit having the "best views and a picture perfect pool location" since we do indeed enjoy what many guests call the best view on the island. It truly is spectacular. I am sorry to see some of your other comments about the Summit but must confess to being slightly confused since some comments contradict each other. You say that you "didn't feel clean" but at another point you say "rooms are clean." Regarding the restaurant, you say you worried about the "freshness of the food" and yet right after you say "the meal was tasty."

It may be best for me to respond to this review in a way that allows potential guests to understand, and appreciate, the value that the Summit has to offer. We neither pretend, nor strive, to be a 5 star property and are happy to recommend other hotels, such as La Samanna on the French side of the island, to those guests who require Egyptian cotton linens and Sub Zero or Viking appliances.

At the Summit we offer clean, comfortable and spacious rooms in a beautiful, peaceful setting at a reasonable price point. Given that the Caribbean is an earthquake zone, and the ground here moves from time to time, floor tiles do occasionally crack and we strive to replace these as quickly as is practical. The six resident cats who live on our four acres of property are the result of our "catch, spay/neuter and release" program which spares these animals from being destroyed while ensuring that they do not reproduce. Free high speed Wifi is in all of our guest rooms and our staff, some of whom have been with us for many years, happily welcome guests to what many feel is their "home away from home" in St Maarten.

I appreciate that the Summit may not have been the right property for your vacation, but am gratified by the many wonderful reviews we receive from other TripAdvisor reviewers. In fact, just today we learned that the Summit has won a 2013 Certificate of Excellence Award from TripAdvisor for the overwhelmingly positive number of reviews received. This is our second year in a row of winning that award and thank all of our wonderful past guests for their great reviews.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston(southshore), Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room here as a last resort for one night after a flight problem. We had no car. Just taxi. No pool they are doing maintence but no one told us that. The beach is walkable but the last thing you would want to do after a day in the sun is walk that far. For the area it is in we were advised do not walk at night. We kinda felt trapped. The place is pretty but not my idea of a Caribbean Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank islaandwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear islaandwomen,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am concerned about your statement that no one informed you that the pool was closed for emergency repairs because there is a prominent notice on our website, when you go to book a room there, and our travel partners such as Expedia, Orbitz, RCI and others have all been notified and have promised to inform potential guests of the temporary situation we are in. I would greatly appreciate it if you would contact me through the Summit website and let me know how you booked your room. I cannot identify your booking through the islaandwomen nickname obviously, so need you to contact me if you would. Once I know how you booked, I will take steps to ensure the right notices are being given to potential guests.

Regarding the area the hotel is in, someone gave you bad advice. As the previous reviewer noted, BB's Lolo is right down the street and filled with people having fun. The Atlantis Casino complex, with more than half a dozen restaurants, is a three minute walk from the Summit and there is plenty of security around in the form of guard shacks and posted patrols. Many of our guests walk there regularly.

I would like to extend to you an invitation to return to the Summit, as my guest, next time you are on the island so you can experience the magic of our property when everything is running normally. Our pool will reopen no later than May 20, 2013 so anytime after then we would be happy to welcome you back. I hope you will take me up on my offer.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
2.6 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
751 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
5.0 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Property: The Summit Hotel
Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing