We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secret Gem of a hotel and resturant of St.Maarten”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secret Gem of a hotel and resturant of St.Maarten”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My wife and I have just completed a three week stay at the Summit Hotel. On a scales of 1 to 10 I would give it a NINE. From the front desk to the grounds personnel everyone was glad to see you and could not do enough to make our stay the very best possible. You do not have to leave the property for your meals. Tracy, the chef, creates your island desires from ribs and chicken to ribeyes to red snapper or salmon. The banna pancakes for breakfast are as good as any you will find. The bar staff is by far your new best friends. There happy hour is like a meet and greet your neighbors. Michael the resturant and bar owner makes you part of the St. Maarten family, always with a smile an always willing to go the extra mile for his coustomers. Have a great vacation laying by the pool that had a steady breeze all day . Happy travels. Wayne & Ann Raleigh, NC

Room Tip: Had no noise problems day or night. Water front view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    96
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
158
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This is not a luxury hotel. This IS a very nice place to stay in a good location that is definitely priced right. It is a very short walk to some great restaurants. The people who work here are very accommodating. The rooms are very clean. The location is very good. No need to spend big bucks at an impersonal hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the Premium View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Power outages, water outages, cable outages, etc., plus no hot water! It all happened while my husband and I stayed there in November 2011. Yes, the view from the property is nice, but one pays for more than a view! And for those planning a trip...do not sign the sales slip until your departure. We departed after only two nights and they charged us for the entire 5. After much diligent assertiveness on our part, we were refunded the three nights, but just beware.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trooopn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Summit Resort is in a beautiful location on what of the most beautiful islands in the Caribbean, St Maarten. The one nice thing about it are the nice views of the lagoon from the pool deck and the sweet smiling faces of the restaurant employees. However, the main office employees can be sassy and they are not as friendly for this friendly island. When it comes to having internet connection ( I know you are probably thinking "who needs internet when you are on vacation"), when the internet is on, it works well. However, when the internet goes down, it takes them days to get their so-called "IT" people on it. This is a HUGE inconvenience when it comes to having to make new reservations, or check emails, or check your travel arrangements online. When I asked the staff to look into it, they just smile and say they "are working on it". In my experience, I had to get the contact information of the "IT" people myself and call them, when it is actually the front desk's job to do this. The "IT" person did not show up for 4 days and when he came, the internet STILL DID NOT WORK,This is not how a hotel business should run. There are also some weird permanent residents that live on the Summit property and they kind of scared me from leaving my kids at the pool. This is definitely not a good place to stay on St Maarten. I hope this prevents anyone from having to deal with their incompetence when it comes to internet and their lack of professionalism. I will definitely NEVER stay here again and I do come to St Maarten quite a lot.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay at Summit Resort. Look into The Westin on the other side of the island, or The Cliffs if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed at Summit Hotel in Sint Maarten (St. Martin) recently.

The hotel is located like 10 minutes from the airport on the Dutch side of the island.

The best of the trip was the room we had at our hotel, that was over the top. One more thing is the breath taking view from Sunset beach restaurant at Maho beach when the 747 jumbo jets land at Princess Juliana International Airport. You need to see that if you go to St Maarten.

The Summit hotel is very nice and has the most welcoming staff. The rooms have a complete small kitchen with even a dishwasher! The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms very clean. You can get a water view room or partial water view to the lagoon (not the ocean).

The only thing that I didn't especially like is that the hotel is located in an area where you cannot find many taxis or public transportation easily. You have top ay US$15 as the minimum taxi fare any where you go. You could walk to a couple of beaches that are located like about a mile (hilly roads) from the hotel, not bad at all either.

If you go to the French side of the island called Marigot, everything changes! People are extremely rude and arrogant, they all want to steal your money making prices double or triple.
There is not much to see on the French side anyway.

This hotel is excellent for honeymooners' or families with children. They have a happy hour by the bar at the pool with excellent local cocktails and snacks.

Rooms have internet connection free of charge if you bring your laptop.
They do a very good job with housekeeping and take care of you. The front desk office is closed after 11 pm.
I recommend this hotel for your trips to St Maarten, a beautiful Dutch island on the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Try to get a de luxe water view room instead of a premium de luxe one, they are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gringotraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praia, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I'll be forthright up front. I don't like St. Maarten. It is a congested, overpriced and unremarkable place. However, I really liked the Summit Hotel.

The staff is friendly and accommodating. Due to a looming tropical storm, we had to alter our dates. They were helpful and offered great advice.

The rooms are bright, attractively decorated and have well equipped kitchens. Modern TVs have a wide choice of channels. The price was extremely reasonable considering what else was available.

The adjoining restaurant is excellent and of great value. Their barbecue chicken is particularly outstanding and quite substantial. If you have kids, they can swim right next to
the tables while you wait.

I strongly recommend the Summit Hotel. I wish I could say the same about Sint Maarten.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chetsuabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were looking for a quiet place to relax and have as a base for exploring the island. For that purpose the Summit was perfect. No noisy kids or dogs. The room was very spacious with a nice view of the Lagoon. The kitchen was well equipped, but I wondered what the designer of the kitchen had in mind. The dining table was mounted in front of the kitchen table, which made it useless. Nevertheless it was good to have a kitchen as we are both great chefs.
The service was great and the cleanness was outstanding.

The Summit promised free continental breakfast. Maybe we had too high expectations, but the continental breakfast only consisted 2 slices of toasted bread, a small slice of ham or turkey and a small slice of cheese, butter and jam + 1 cup of coffee or tea

Hot water seemed to be a scarce resource but it didn't matter much as we usually preferred cold showers.

TIPS:
1. Go to the fish market in Marigot early in the morning to buy fresh fish, veggies and fruits.
2. Rent a car through the hotel and make arrangements that they pick you up at the airport. the taxi to the hotel cost a half days rent and the agency the hotel collaborates with is excellent.
3. For food shopping go to the french side. On your way to Marigot there is a supermarket called US Market. Don't let the name fool you. Its french with all the goodies in the world you can dream of + US steaks at a very reasonable price. There is also a Casino Express which is very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
727 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Property: The Summit Hotel
Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing