We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall a great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were looking for a quiet place to relax and have as a base for exploring the island. For that purpose the Summit was perfect. No noisy kids or dogs. The room was very spacious with a nice view of the Lagoon. The kitchen was well equipped, but I wondered what the designer of the kitchen had in mind. The dining table was mounted in front of the kitchen table, which made it useless. Nevertheless it was good to have a kitchen as we are both great chefs.
The service was great and the cleanness was outstanding.

The Summit promised free continental breakfast. Maybe we had too high expectations, but the continental breakfast only consisted 2 slices of toasted bread, a small slice of ham or turkey and a small slice of cheese, butter and jam + 1 cup of coffee or tea

Hot water seemed to be a scarce resource but it didn't matter much as we usually preferred cold showers.

TIPS:
1. Go to the fish market in Marigot early in the morning to buy fresh fish, veggies and fruits.
2. Rent a car through the hotel and make arrangements that they pick you up at the airport. the taxi to the hotel cost a half days rent and the agency the hotel collaborates with is excellent.
3. For food shopping go to the french side. On your way to Marigot there is a supermarket called US Market. Don't let the name fool you. Its french with all the goodies in the world you can dream of + US steaks at a very reasonable price. There is also a Casino Express which is very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    94
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
56
151
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

I recently visited St Maarten for the first time and stayed at the Summit Hotel. My first impression of the hotel was "Wow...this place is so peaceful and charming!"

The staff was incredibly friendly and didn't hesitate to help with anything i needed. The food at the restaurant was amazing (I highly recommend the salmon) but most importantly, our room was comfortable and cozy.

My friend and I stayed in room #8 and our view was breathtaking. We also had a large sunbathing deck that was perfect for mornings before exploring the island. We had a stove, sink, dishwasher, small table and refrigerator that was great for keeping food we had purchased at the local market. The Summit Hotel is also fairly close to the airport which was very convenient when we left.

I fell in love with the island and will definitely be returning at some point. I won't stay anywhere else but the Summit Hotel because my experience there was so great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandywodnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed at the Summit Resort for one night in order to catch a flight at the airport early in the morning. I stayed at the Summit because many of the other budget accommodations around the city were booked because of the annual carnival.

While I personally prefer more upscale resorts, I thought that the Summit Resort provided good value for the budget conscious. The resort is located in a very quiet area of Dutch St. Maarten, overlooking the ocean. The foremost advantage in my mind was the tranquility of the resort because of the location - far away from busy streets or other bustling hotels. However, do note that there are no areas of interest to visitors (restaurants, shopping, etc) within walking distance of the resort, so it would be best to have a rental car.

Accommodations were basic, but comfortable. Each room/suite comes equipped with a small dining area, kitchenette, and small living area in addition to the usual bed and bathroom. All rooms have doors that open to small outdoor decks or patios that face toward the bay. There seems to have been quite a bit of updating, as most of the buildings looked like they recently received a fresh coat of paint and many of the room received new doors and windows.

Grounds were basic, but comfortable. There is a a nice outside bar as well as a floating swimming pool overlooking the water. Staff in these areas were very friendly, as were that staff at the front desk.

Again, a decent resort for the cost, and I would recommend for anyone looking for a less expensive alternative to some of the pricier resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for the recently renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

There was no one to be found very early (5:00 am)to return room keys. Taxi pick up arrived but no one around to check out and return keys. No visible return box. No security guards around. No one to answer the phone or any questions. This experience was very frustrating since it was communicated that we had an early flight.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Overnight_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with us when you went to check out from the hotel at 5am for your very early morning flight recently. I apologize for what must have been a miscommunication on our part. Our front desk staff is trained to ask each guest what time they will be departing so that we can be prepared for exactly this sort of situation. Guests are normally told that they may leave their keys in the room and they can pick up their paperwork in advance. We are thankful to be made aware of needing improvement in this area and have taken measures to make sure that this type of scenario does not happen again. In the meantime, thank you very much for the high ratings you gave us in your review in every aspect except for this one. We sincerely appreciate the 5/5 and 4/5 rankings you gave us in categories like Rooms, Cleanliness, Sleep Quality, Value and Location. We work hard to earn our guests’ satisfaction and hope you will give us another chance to better accommodate you on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

My family and I stayed here for a week in April 2011 - highly recommended. Our room had an excellent view of Simpson Bay, and Marigot and Grand Case (French side across the way). Our room had a stove, refrigerator, microwave, and we were able to get food easily from Maho Market a 5 minute drive away. Mullet Bay Beach, which Fodor's identifies as the top beach on the island, is a five minute walk away and we went down there for a swim every morning. There is a golf course nearby that is sporadically used by golfers, and more heavily used by joggers. The hotel has a nice sized pool with an adjacent restaurant where they have very good crepes. There are many nationalities here - Dutch, French, Indian, Chinese, Spanish, American. The locals speak English as well as a local combination of French/Dutch/Spanish. Many businesses take cash only (dollars, Euros, guilders), fortunately there are ATMs in many locations. We snorkeled at Galion and Mullet Bay - not too many fish. We didn't make a run to Anguilla and St. Bart's this trip but we'll do that next time and use the Summit as a base.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian-Seattle-WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
157 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Sint Maarten was the first stop on my tour of the six island that used to make up the Netherlands Antilles and it was the best of all. I'm inclined to thing that my stay at the Summit Hotel played a part in that. I had read in earlier reviews that the rooms with the lowest numbers are closest to the bay and therefore have the best views, so I was thrilled when upon check-in we were handed the key to room 2B. Indeed the view from this room (on the upper floor of a 2-floor structure) was magnificent. The ground floor room (2A) would have been good too, as would be the view from the rooms in buildings 1, 3, 4, 11 and 12. All other rooms have more or less obstructed views of the bay, plus you may suffer some noise nuisance from the aircon of the apartment before yours if you sit on the balcony, as they exterior units are places behind each apartment.

Apart from the issue of the view the apartments all seemed to be fine: dated interior (with wooden panels, totally unfashionable furniture, and old kitchen equipment), but everything in good working order. The aircon was a bit noisy, and I needed ear plugs to be able to sleep through it. But at least the cold air flow was away from the bed, unlike in most other hotels that I stayed at during this trip. Breakfast is served on a terrace near the pool and offers good value for money, with goodies like American pancakes and French toast (but make sure the waitress has got your order right or be prepared to send it back to the kitchen once or twice). Parking is free and secure, with a guard on duty at the entrance to the parking area all night (the reception closes after 11 pm).

One final good thing about the hotel is its location on the island. Philipsburg (the capital of the Dutch side) is a 20 minute car ride away, as is Marigot (the capital of the French side), but the quickest way to visit the French part is to drive around the lagoon in the opposite direction. In this way you away driving the same road over and over again. The airport is really close at a mere 5 minute drive, and you avoid the sometimes very long waiting times at the bridge between the airport and Philipsburg. Beaches near the hotel include Baie Longue (no facilities), Maho Beach (with aircraft flying right over), and Simpson Bay Beach (with Karakter Beach Bar).

Room Tip: Best bay views are from rooms 1, 2, 3, 4, 11, 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_Jetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

It has been a bit of a delay in coming but I finally got around to doing my trip report for our journey to SXM on Sept. 1 to Sept. 12.

MrsE and I woke up in the wee hours of the day to catch our 7AM flight to SXM. US Air was pretty good at getting us checked in and on board. We had packed CAREFULLY so we only had to pay $23 for the one checked bag. Of course, this is a ridiculous fee but don’t get me started. We got to Princess J airport right on time. Unfortunately, it took nearly TWO hours for the luggage to come out on the belt. By the time we could leave the airport, our prearranged driver was gone. We called and it only took him 20 minutes to get us picked up. Our vacation had officially started. Off we went to the Summit Resort in Cupecoy.

Our driver, “Poochy”, was pretty informative as we drove along and we were amazed at the level of damage still evident from the 1995 Hurricane. To get to the Summit, you have to drive through the golf course (still operating) owned by an irresponsible Iranian who is not keeping it up properly. The course is not too bad but the road through it is definitely third world. On our first drive, we discovered that people from SXM were taught to drive by a 5 year old, as evidenced by the horn blasting, speeding, and rudely dangerous actions of these “suicide drivers”. The motorcyclists were WORSE!

We arrived at the Summit (turn right at the Atlantis Casino) the day after Hurricane Earl had done his damage. The place had a lot of damage to foliage but was still in good condition. We were checked in by a truly beautiful young lady, Ishka. She got all the paperwork done rapidly and handed us the key to cabin #19, which was a very short walk to the View Restaurant & Papa’s Place (My name for the bar). The Summit shows signs of wear and time but it has the romantic character of the way SXM USED to be. The room was spotlessly clean and we even had a “Welcome Home” sign waiting for us, along with a bottle of nice wine. The bed was, without doubt, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The AC worked like a charm and we had to turn it down at night or we would get too cold.

After a very quiet night of restful slumber, we woke up fairly early to go out to the View to look at the Lagoon. The Summit is lucky to have one of the nicest views on the island and we enjoyed it daily as we took our lunches there. At $5, the price simply can not be beaten. We found we couldn’t even buy groceries and eat as cheaply! The food was always excellent and chef Evaristo, who has cooked at many of the “finer” restaurants on the island often picks fresh fruits and vegetables grown right on the Summit property. Dr. Patricia, the head bartender, always brought the meals to us along with our drink choice (usually her special fruit punch) of the day. She always treated us like family and we became quite fond of her.

The staff at the Summit is second to none. The ladies at the front desk always took a few moments out of their busy day to say hello and to ask what we were doing that day. The gardener staff worked feverishly every day to get the place cleaned up after the hurricane. By our fourth night there, the grounds were perfect again. One day, I heard a strange knocking on the wall of our cabin. I looked out and saw one of our gardeners waving at me to come outside. A beautiful iguana, about 18 inches long, was sitting in a small tree next to our porch. He fed it while we took photos. Perfect!

Before ending this report, I would like to say a few words about “Energy” Evans, the manager of the Summit. This woman came by her name rightfully. She is a whirlwind of action and she “knows her stuff”! It amazed me at just how much she could accomplish in a day! Be sure to look her up and tell her hello from Greg & Donna!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gregory_ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Property: The Summit Hotel
Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing