We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Dinner”
Review of La Gondola - CLOSED

La Gondola
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Dinner”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I always say everything happens for a reason. The restaurant we was going to was closed so we choose La Gondola instead since it was nearby. It was a good choice. We had a very enjoyable quite relaxing dinner on the terrace. The food was very tasty and the service was excellent. We have been going to the Atlantis casino for years and missed out on La Gondola right there (who Knew lol). We will certainly return to La Gondola on our visit to St. Maarten next year

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    7
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good dinner on the porch!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We ate here our last night on the island since we were craving Italian food after eating seafood all week. We were seated on the porch patio which is definitely the place to sit. I agree with some other reviewers that the inside could use a little updating. But we only strolled through it to use the restrooms. We were very happy and comfortable on the porch. The caesar salad was authentic dressing which is hard to find these days. A few in our group asked for some substitutions of items in their pasta dishes and were all accommodated with no problems. The desserts were really amazing so if you come here, don't skip the dessert! An enjoyable meal and time had by all in our group.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This seems to be the restaurant of choice for our family. We always seem to go there on our first night. Relaxing atmosphere, welcoming staff and the food is always great. Good wine list, too.

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Food is OK, dining room needs a reno”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We dined here upon our arrival on the island. We stayed two weeks at The Cliff condominium and the restaurant was within walking distance. The food was OK, service was accommodating, and the wine list was OK. The restaurant is in need of a renovation. I think if they want to attract more people they need to invest in a new look otherwise it will deter people from eating there. If the dining room is dingy I would hate to think what the kitchen looks like.

We have been to the island six times and this time around we noticed the restaurant is not opened every day. Not sure why and am wondering if it is on the decline. Just an observation

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cute Patio, Great Service, Good Food”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Dined here a week ago and had an enjoyable meal. Our server was lovely .
Lots of choices for me the vegetarian, home made pasta noodles, the choice of the evening for our party of four was the home made lasagne with fresh noodles. For me they did a penne with fresh noodles in a garlic and olive oil which was a little but still good.
Enjoyed our wine, and bread with olive oil, not a calorie counting night when we then added in dessert.
Creme Brule, was delicious, we all LOVED it.
We noticed that some reviews stated this restaurant has gone downhill. We had nothing to compare with it. We went with an open mind, an evening with friends and had a great meal with wonderful service. Dining is more than the food itself although a big part of it, but ambiance, company , service can turn an Ok meal into a great experience. We had a nice evening at La Gondola and would recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunsets18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gondola also viewed

Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing