We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Temptation

Temptation
Reserve with OpenTable
Temptation is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $55
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Elegant dining, live piano nightly, creative , seasonal cuisine and cocktails featuring award winning ,St .Maarten born chef Dino Jagtiani, and award winning bartender Paul Peterson.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Great scene, amazing food.....I mean seriously, amazing. Wait staff was attentive but not obnoxious. Loved it!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    57
    31
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oustanding Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I have been coming to this restaurant since it opened in 2002. I make sure I come at least twice a week for the 3 weeks every February. I just started coming back In August for the 1st time in years with my new grandchildren to continue our family tradition. I came twice last week with my 2 Sons and their wives and they loved it. You will never have a bad meal. The Lobster Paella is fantastic.They started a price fix menu that is a great value. All the dishes are excellent. Also the deserts are fabulous, The ambiance is the best in St Maarten especially with the fantastic piano man. Also, if you like cocktails, My friends and I have all said that they have the best cocktails we ever had. I like rum and coke and it is blended perfectly. A Must go to restaurant in St. Maarten. Chef Dino and his Mom are great Hosts. They really make you feel welcome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgg1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dino16, Owner at Temptation, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your comments on tripadvisor. I appreciate your continued support, and look forward to serving you again in February.

Have a great fall and winter in NY

Dino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant on my favorite island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

On the eve of my 70th birthday, I chose to dine with my wife at Temptation, where we hadn't been in 3 years - a tough choice, given all of the excellent restaurants on the island. We stay in Orient on the French side, but the drive took less than 1/2 hour, and parked near the door. We had made a reservation - even in the off-season every table was filled by the time we left. After being seated, we were served a starter of toasted bread cubes with a basil infused dip. Next our appetizers: I chose the caramelized Vidalia onion soup, my wife the crab beignets. My entrée was "Chinese quack-quack", which consisted of round balls of duck breast, cooked perfectly - crispy on the outside and pink inside, with shrimp, Chinese veggies and stir-fried rice. My wife had a braised short-rib. For dessert, we shared "Mr. D's tempura apple pie". Basically, this was doughnut shaped rings of tempura coated apple slices, baked and coated with powdered sugar, and served with vanilla ice cream, with caramel and crushed pecans. We shared a half bottle of cabernet. The service was flawless - attentive, yet not obtrusive. The cost, including wine, was $162. The piano player even played "Happy Birthday", and the dessert came with a sparkler. As we left, Chef Dino's mother came over and gave us big hugs. This truly was a dining experience, enjoyable from the time we entered until we left. We could find no faults - the food, the service, or the atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 99triumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dino16, Owner at Temptation, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear 99Triumph
Thank you for taking the time to share with everyone about your great dining experience with us. We are flattered to you made the trip all the way from Orient beach, to celebrate a special birthday. Many thanks for your continued support.
Dino Jagtiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Be Tempted!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Inside dining with a live pianist. Wonderfully entertaining. A little cold and only inside dining, but very accommodating. The food was superb. Worth a visit. Give in to your Temptation. P.S. Shane (waiter) was great and good looking as well. The girls in your party will love him.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tigger303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just as good as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Temptation is a MUST when in St Marten--no matter which part of the island you are staying on. Wonderful service & EXCELLENT food (carmelized French onion soup is best anywhere) & terrific drinks..especially the special martinis. Everything was so good we went twice during our 1 week stay & cant wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaBKatonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temptation also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Maho, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Temptation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing