We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windcross Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$27
$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
15
20
12
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
20
12
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrailway stationone nightnice staydecent hotelrooms are cleanbudget hotelmroperative
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 59 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

perfect for staying overnight to catch the train to Simla. we had a pickup straight from the station with another guest. The hotel is spotlessly clean and we had a very comfortable, quiet night's sleep. Good TV channels too and room service if you want. only Small minus point is hot water wasn't working but not a big deal all in all.

Breakfast was good and check out is late if you want a lie in for the later train.

all in all would both definitely recommend the Windcross - a lovely little hotel with very welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Think all rooms are very quiet and clean
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

i had booked the room for my parents ,who were travelling for the first time to shimla,via kalka. The room was very nice staff was courteous. And a special mention has to be made about the owners nephew ,i think Mr.Amit, who went out of the way to make my parents comfortable. All in all, a very nice hotel with high ethics. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shahzad_sheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have booked this hotel online for a night stay at Kalka to catch early morning train for Shimla, The hospitality was awesome we got complimentry pick up and drop from/to railway station, Well mannered staff with good cooperative nature except the driver of car, the food which was also excellent, Hotel looks very ordinary from out side but rooms were very good.
Facilties provided
Hot water, Ready to make coffee/tea in room
Internet
Pick up and Drop from Station
Wakeup call etc

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azab_abubakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We cannot book the overnight train to Kalka to connect to the morning train to Shimla, so we stay a night at the Windcross in order to catch the following noon train to Shimla.

I am worried in the beginning it may be a big mistake because I have never heard of anyone staying at the hotel in the middle of nowhere (for us).

First, when we arrived at Kalka Station, the driver is already waitng for us, he has arranged one big van to take us and one auto rickshaw to take our bags, about 4-5 people are helping us.

It takes around 10 min to reach the hotel in the dark, it is a relatively new building on the 2/F, on the main road, next to the rail line. The room comes with free internet, breakfast, comfortable beds and hot water. Hot water in the shower is difficult to to make it work but once you know the tricks the hot water comes out very hot! The hotel is also next to a truck yard. We woke up early by the trains around 7am, it doesn't bother us, the truck yard doesn't get busy until after 9am. The breakfast is included and we have the most tasty paratha (we re-order second round).

Sumit the Manager is very efficient and quick in answering emails, he gave us a good quote for the room that includes pickup/drop off and breakfast and internet.

I definitely will recommend to stay there for a brief transit on the way to/from Shimla.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunmansyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smt_grg, Manager at Windcross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Sir,

We sincerely thank you for your valuable review and feedback posted for our Hotel.

Regards
Sumit Garg
Managing Partner
WindCross Hotel
Kalka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

after finding out that there'll be no train running to shimla that day anymore, we just tried to find out where to sleep in kalka. after having a look at closely all the rest of the places in the city which all turned out to be shabby and brutally run down, we remembered one place which i had the number from.

they picked us up from the railway station (complimentary) with a brand new suzuki, gave us a beautiful dinner and showed us a room which looked five star compared to the other horror rooms seen in shimla. and even compared to other places india,this place seemed pretty well maintained.

as it was only a short night, we made an appointment that they'll bring us to the railway station to catch the shivalik deluxe in the early morning. unfortunately no taxi appeared and time ran away. staff was still sleeping in the morning and i had to wake up one if the boys to call the cab. aftrr another 10 mins of nothing happening we started to walk with our luggage. after 3 mins o walking the hotel owner himself stopped on the street, picked us up and felt very sorry. again, we made it in time in ankthrr beautiful suzuki station wagon.

room eas clean without a doubt, unfortunately there were masses of ants. but we've been able to get rid of them with the help of the water heater :)

staffs tv was pretty loud in the lobby but after giving them a notice about it, they just switched it off. if you manage to get a room at the backside of the building, take it. lobby is always louder.

all in all the best choice in kalka!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pansenfrucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smt_grg, Manager at Windcross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Sir,

We sincerely thank you for your valuable review and feedback posted for our Hotel.
After your review we have had a Pest Control Treatment done in our entire Hotel and it is free from ants now,

Regards
Sumit Garg
Managing Partner
WindCross Hotel
Kalka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews