We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and within budget”
Review of Shelly Restaurant

Shelly Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Kalka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Great Air conditioned restaurant right next to the TRain station in Kalka, with Indian, South Indian and Chinese cuisines.
Restaurant details
Description: Great Air conditioned restaurant right next to the TRain station in Kalka, with Indian, South Indian and Chinese cuisines.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and within budget”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The food was of good quality and within budget. Service was a bit slow thats the only bad thing I found other then its just fine

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Value for money, good location!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Shelly seems to be the only decent place to eat in Kalka (I may be wrong here, but that's what it seemed to me), and the fact that it's just a stone's throw away from the railway station is a massive benefit. We had the vegetarian fare, and the food was flavourful and the quantity was more than enough. We had the mixed veg, dal tadka and butter naan. Special mention here for the naan, which simply melted in our mouth. The oil content in the dal and vegetable was a bit on the higher side, but not unpleasantly so. The ambiance is nice and intimate, and the setting is clean.
A great place to kick-back and enjoy some good food while you're waiting for your train.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chockro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Mouth Melting”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

OK. The food quality was just awesome. The burger was melt in the mouth. I can infact just drive down all the way from Delhi to have it's burger! It had fresh veggies and a soft bun with seasame seeds and the crispiest patty and the most amazing mayonnaise in it with a slice of cheese. I am salivating just writing this review!

We also ordered malai kofta and even that was super yummm. The naans were soft and delicious and the food was not too spicy- just the right amount of spice! We had green peas masala too and it was made in heaven!

This place completely rocked. You have to have to have to stop and eat here! This place cooks up some super delicious stuff!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PragyaNarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good and excellent restraunt”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

liked it,excellent restraunt,good quality food,comfortable seats. good service. what more to write to complete 200 characters

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandy8133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Nice service in quite a dark restaurant.
Be aware of the times fo day you eat as we were in time to order our first batch of naans, but when we wanted more they had closed down the tandoor.
Quite a few items on the menu were missing, but there was plenty on there to choose from. The butter chicken was tasty but we weren't too keen on the sweet Shahi Naan.
We couldn't finish our meal but the staff bagged it up for us free of charge.
A visit is worthwhile especially at times when other restaurants are closed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelly Restaurant also viewed

Kalka, Panchkula District
Parwanoo, Solan District
 
Solan, Solan Tehsil
 
Kalka, Panchkula District
 

Been to Shelly Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing