We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic”
Review of Hotel The Lotus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel The Lotus
Ranked #3 of 13 Kalka B&B and Inns
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Basic”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Its a very basic hotel and you would use this only if you were to catch an early morning train to Shimla or reached Kalka late in the night and taking a flight/train the next morning. It is a 10 minute walk from the station. And this probably was the closest to the station. We reached Kalka late in the night from Shimla and had to take a flight from Chandigarh the next morning. The rooms are very basic and a little shabby to be honest. However, you'd get hot water and a bed tea at 5:00 am. Its a cheap option for a layover, but it did not appear safe if you are a lone woman.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzimuthalP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulgo50, Owner at Hotel The Lotus, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Sir Thank you for your review. Sir Hotel the Lotus is a budget hotel and serves the purpose as a transit place for tourist going to Shimla . We do our best to make the travelers feel comfortable and safe and I want to assure you that in past 15 years of service there has not been a single bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    33
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
53
35
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed in Room 106 on 16th Sep 2013. This is a very basic hotel. Staff was courteous. My room was on the third floor with narrow stairs and no lifts. I was with my family with 2 children. Extra bed provided had a dirty bed sheet on it. So I put some of my own clothes on it to make myself comfortable. I was staying en route to Shimla from Kalka.

I had to leave by Toy Train next day early at 4.30. I could not find anyone in the morning, so had to carry the luggage down by myself.. Since I paid a 100% advance, there was no reason for me to wait for anyone, so I just walked out so that I do not miss the train.

The hotel is very close to Kalka station and this is a very good advantage.

Only if you just want to pass your night without expecting any comfort, then only book this hotel.

Room Tip: Only for a backpack traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandraweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were savaged by bed bugs during our awful one night stay. The only saving grace was the fact that the manager did his best to remedy the situation, but his actions were in vain as the alternative room we were given after we complained of bed bugs, was also infested. In short, avoid kalka altogether to be honest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulgo50, Owner at Hotel The Lotus, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Sir Firstly I am really sorry for the inconvenience caused to you. I know that your stay with us was below satisfactory. I was there with you and I accept our mistake. We have always kept our standard for cleanliness and hygiene and this was a drop from our standard. I have personally looked into the matter and had it solved as I promised you .All the rooms were cleaned and sprayed the very next day. I apologize again for the inconvenience caused to you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stopped here for half a night in order to catch the train to Shimla, which is what I expect most of their customers do. Up a flight of very steep stairs we had 2 terrible rooms. I can do old, I can do shabby...so long as it's clean and this wasn't. The sheets were not clean, the doorframes and doors, walls etc were encrusted with dirt. I kept thinking that a large bottle of bleach wouldn't be amiss!There really is no reason not to clean, even if the hotel is basic in furnishings. The sole plus was that the guy in charge promised that he would get us up at 3.00 am in order to get the train, we didn't hold our breath, but he was as good as his word and even gave some information on where to go etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertH-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Before I tell you anything about the place I must admit that the people who are running this place are amazingly helpful.. They booked a taxi for me from Shimla to Manali and were always prompt to pick up my phone and help me during my 8 days in Himachal when they could have easily ignored to do so . Thank you Kumar Saurabh for being so helpful. The hotel is a small place with fine little rooms . There is not much problem with the place except for Steep Steps towards the room . This is surely a budget hotel but the Mr Saurabh you desrve to run a star property.

Helpful?
1 Thank HarishThakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I booked this hotel for my intermediate stay in Kalka while going to Shimla. They told me that its a budget hotel and not to expect much from it and town. Its a small hotel but the owner tries to go extra mile to please u ....apart from that its just a basic place with small rooms and steep staircase. One thing I didnt liked was a little confusion during the checkout process other then that its just fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipankersha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A good one for money conscious people.Very near to the Railway Station Hotel has very steep steps towards the room but overall the people are warm and the room service is prompt. We stayed in Semi Deluxe rooms which were on 3rd floor phew a bit difficult to climb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhimantri83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalka
3.5 mi away
Timber Trail Heights
Timber Trail Heights
#2 of 6 in Parwanoo
401 reviews
3.6 mi away
Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort
22.5 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Windcross Hotel
Windcross Hotel
#8 of 13 in Kalka
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Modi's Hotel
Modi's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Kalka
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Lotus

Property: Hotel The Lotus
Address: Railway Rd | Opp Tehsil Office, Kalka 133302, India
Location: India > Haryana > Panchkula District > Kalka
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kalka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Lotus is situated 300 Metres from Railway Station. It is the most reliable staying place for your family with the safe and secure environment for over 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing