We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village Inn of Lakefield
Nearby Hotels
Robyn's Motel(Peterborough)(Great Value!)
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$110
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Peterborough(Peterborough)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burleigh Falls Inn(Burleigh Falls)
$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Peterborough)(Great Value!)
$97
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westwind Inn(Buckhorn)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
47
44
11
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
44
11
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastmain streetyogurtwithin walking distancerestaurant downstairscassis bistrocoffee makerwould definitely stay here againjacuzzi tubbar sinkgrocery storebed was comfortablepubloonpeterboroughthirstypackage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 108 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at this quaint in for a hockey tournament for 2 nights. The inn is situated on a cute little street with little fudge shops and walking distance to a grocery store. The breakfast that was included was ample, and the room was clean. We booked the use of the party room for one night so the team families could have a get together. If we were in the area again, we would stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hurrayforvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have stayed here twice this year and found it a very restful place. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The village of Lakefield is amazing everyone made us feel at home. Cannot wait to go back. Talk to the staff and they will tell you what to visit. Shop in the great little stores it feels like stepping back in time. Patrick and Maggie.

Room Tip: Close to Peterbourgh and lakes. Lots to do just ask the staff. The rooms at the back are quieter on the upper floors. But it is nice to sit and watch the world go by on the balconies at the front.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Really enjoyed our two night stay, only used the place to sleep as we were in town for a wedding but found it very sweet with a lot of history. Lakefield is a beautiful little town and this Inn fits in nicely. Didn't know about the continental breakfast included until the morning of our departure but we enjoyed it that morning. Lots of variety and good coffee. The Inn itself is very clean and quiet. The rooms are spacious but I do wish there was wireless internet. There is a cable connection on the desk but couldn't use it as I had an iPad. The pub that's connected to the main lobby has free WIFI though but you need a password. Lakefield is small and not a place for a 5 star hotel so the quaintness of this Inn matches the feel of the town perfectly. If you are looking for all the bells and whistles from a full service hotel this isn't the place for you but for a place to lay your head or a little getaway, it's PERFECT!

Room Tip: Opt for the balcony room as you'll have a view out the front and see Downtown Lakefield vs the back parking lot!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Manager at Village Inn of Lakefield, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your response. We are in the process of getting WiFi, and hope to have it in the entire building soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed here for a conference in the area recently. Serviceable accommodations....breakfast is below average...business amenities lacked a lot...small desk..no business centre..copy services etc. No pool or work out room. Pub on site is average. Nothing much to do after six....they roll the streets up pretty early. I'll stay in Peterborough next time. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Stay in Peterborough if you want stuff to do and available everyday amenities and services.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed at the lakefield inn for 5 nights and I found it "sad". My son and I were happy to leave that place. It has no soul, no smiles. The bedroom is Ok but looks so dark, if they just change the bedcovers for a lighter color it would already make a big difference. During all my stay the shower/tub was not cleaned and the vaccum was not done, they just make the beds and bring new towel and clean the sink. So they are not big on cleaning (the inside border of the window was full of dirt). It feels like nobody is motivated in that place, they just do it as a job. The front desk people do what they have to do without a smile, again just doing their job...
This place could be so nice but the light and life is missing. May be the staff is not treated properly by management ?
But I will say that the waitresses from the Thristy loon (the pub-restaurant attached to the inn) were very nice and helpful .


The breakfast...well it is just some factory made croissant and muffins, some cereals... We always ate out. Such a negative feeling...

Room Tip: Take a room facing the parking lot, will be much quieter than a street one as you have the restaurant with a terrasse just under.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

The Village Inn is a small, quaint inn that prides itself on providing clean rooms and personal service. The rooms are individualized with richly, coloured bed quilts which may make them a little darker, but very cozy. Housekeeping staff provide daily room service which includes making the beds, providing clean towels and any needed bathroom amenities, doing the dishes and taking out the garbage. Floor vacuuming and bathtub cleaning are done between bookings and when requested. I have reminded the staff to wipe out the window sills as dust and dirt from the parking lot does collect there.
The staff of the Village Inn are valued and respected by the management and are often complimented on their friendliness and helpfulness by guests. As last week was very busy they may have had a little less time than usual to chat with guests.
The complimentary continental breakfast that is provided includes coffee, tea, juices, milk, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, bagels, muffins and fresh, locally made scones, croissants and cinnamon buns. We try to offer a wide range of cold items for guests to enjoy.
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry your recent experience did not meet your expectations but l hope you will consider trying us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Sherry Brundle, Manager
Village Inn of Lakefield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews