We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in downtown Lakefield”

Village Inn of Lakefield
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Inn of Lakefield
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights for Buckhorn fine art festival. The property is clean and well-maintained, the personal is very helpful. Breakfast was ok, standard continental. There is a pub/restaurant on site, very convenient - you don't need to drive anywhere in the evening; the food is good. The inn is in downtown, pharmacy is on opposite side of the road and 24-hours Foodland with some hot meals is just a bit down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaOakville_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

Friendly staff, as is the entire town/area.

Great second floor "Suite" with balcony/deck facing west.

"Real bread and coffee" in "free breakfast". Simple - but to me worth noting not traditional "garbage". . .

Lots of free pakring + high speed internet works. Only potential concern "coiuld be noise" from Pub. . . Good noise last night as Boston was winning the Stanley Cup!

Solid value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastpouce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We found the Village Inn to be comfortable but slightly overpriced since it is the only accommodations in the village. The restaurant (Thirsty Loon) served good food and the staff were very friendly. We spent two nights at the Inn and were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockhoundParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This Inn is just lovely. Really nice spacious, well furnished rooms, lovely and clean. Comfortable and very clean beds. The staff have to be the friendliest and most accommodating I have ever come across. We traveled as a group and everyone in the group had the same opinion, no issues whatsoever. Breakfast is basic, coffee and muffins, yoghurt and fruit, but again, staff try hard to accommodate. Besides, there is a fabulous little coffee shop a few doors down. Can't fault this hotel or praise it enough. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meathop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterboroughJoseph, Manager at Village Inn of Lakefield, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

Thanks for that, you guys were a lot of fun to have here. We have your warm gift proudly displayed at the front desk.

Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

My sister and I were so thrilled with our choice of The Village Inn. We found it to be beautifully decorated and very clean. Upon arriving we were greeted by the hotel clerk who was very polite and pleasant.
The room was spotless and the decor was beautiful. We found several restaurants with walking distance, there were some very nice stores to shop in. Just a few steps from the hotel is a beautiful scenic view of the river where one can sit and relax. We are looking forward to returning to the Village Inn again shortly. It is a home away from home.
Our appreciation to all who made this stay very special..

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbie069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I stayed here for one night as part of a business trip.

The room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast of muffins, yoghurt and juice was included. There is no restaurant in the hotel,but a bar right next door serving decent bar food.

I needed papers copied and somewhere to interview my clients. I was offered the conference room at no charge as was empty and quiet. My papers were copied without charge.

Its the little things that make the biggest difference. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The only small negative is the room could have been hoovered around the bed as it was very dusty.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airmilesali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Some girlfriends and I choose the girls package for a weekend away.

The rooms are comfortable and thoughtfully decorated. The bags with brochures and chocolates in it are a nice touch. Only suggestion for improvement is to the breakfast snack bar - sparse and not much variety.

The staff were very accommodating and helpful.

I would definitely recommend the spa Sunshrine (http://www.sunshrine.com/) which is about a 2 minute walk away. Reasonably priced services and nice atmosphere.

The restaurant Cassis Bistro (http://www.cassisbistro27.com/) is also steps from the hotel. It is lovely inside, although the food was hit and miss. Would try it again though.

While Lakefield is small, it's perfect for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewel_leaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakefield
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
558 reviews
9 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
400 reviews
10.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn Peterborough
Quality Inn Peterborough
#8 of 12 in Peterborough
189 reviews
10.8 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,629 reviews
8.7 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#6 of 12 in Peterborough
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn of Lakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn of Lakefield

Address: 39 Queen St., Lakefield, Selwyn Township, Ontario K0L 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Selwyn Township > Lakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lakefield
Price Range: $99 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Village Inn of Lakefield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakefield Village Inn is a newer, boutique hotel located in the centre of the historic and quaint village of Lakefield, just minutes north of Peterborough. Accommodations are 28 in number including two luxurious suites and two wheelchair accessible rooms, ensuring a peaceful stay. The Inn offers 24-hour service and is fully accessible via ground floor power entrance and elevator. The Village Inn of Lakefield also boasts an excellent meeting and conferencing facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Village Inn of Lakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Of Lakefield Hotel Peterborough
Village Hotel Of Lakefield
Village Hotel Peterborough
Village Inn Of Lakefield Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing