We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”
Review of The Irwin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Irwin Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Lakefield B&B and Inns
Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed May 28, 2008

My husband and I decided to stay at the Irwin Inn for a romantic getaway. Upon arrival we were escorted to our beautiful cabin with a private pool and hot tub. We were very pleased, however, that night we went to turn on the air conditioner because it was such a warm night but it was not working. The next morning when we brought this forward to the staff, they came with a window unit that was not suited for the types of windows in our cabin. Therefore, we had an air conditioner that barely worked and only heated our bedroom and left the rest of the house incredibly hot. We had also set up to go horseback riding while there and booked a day but were called that morning and told we could not go. The next day it rained so we could not go and then the following day we were leaving and we were able to go just as we were leaving. It was quite a disappointment to drive home smelling like horse and we were even more angry when we found out that the reason why our riding was canceled was because someone came in off the street to horseback ride and they took them over us.

The good news was that the pool was lovely and we had a great view of the lake and woods beside us. The food was UNBELIEVABLY fantastic and they were incredibly accommodating to dietary needs. The place is quite ran down and could have used some updating but it was not incredibly horrible.

  • Liked — food, private heated pool
  • Disliked — no air conditiong and being passed over for horseback riding
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 052706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    13
    18
    17
See reviews for
44
52
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Irwin Inn for our 5th anniversary and we booked a cottage with its own pool. The cottage was absolutely perfect and that was where it stopped. The meals were just okay - but the service was substandard at best. You could manage to get a drink with your meal, but you were never offered another one, nor did the waitress come around so you could order one. I guess this was one way of saving money. We also really wanted to go on a cruise of the lake, but were told that they weren't doing it anymore. 2 hours later, we saw the boat leaving full of people. We were very dissapointed about this, as this was our 1st time in this area and we really would have liked to see the lake. We tried to get a couples message while we were there, but there weren't any available, and as we were there during the week, there weren't too many people there. As I said, the cottage was perfect and we pretty much stayed in our cottage and our pool for the 4 days that we were there. It was a very expensive few days for lousy service. Would I go back? No - not with all of the other Muskoka resorts that have incredible service.

  • Liked — the private pool
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lakefield hotels

ont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Stayed at the Irwin Inn August 19 - 24, 2007.
Had a great time ~ kids loved playing on the beach, doing crafts, walking to the stables to feed the horses, playing at the playground, swimming in the pool, soaking in the hot tub, boating, tubing, etc, etc.
The food was amazing and had a nice selection at the buffet and a la carte.
Staff was friendly and helpful - very clean room ( stayed in Lower Stoney )
Had a great time and would highly recommend for a wonderful family vacation.
J.C.

  • Liked — hot tub, very clean room, great housekeeping
  • Disliked — no water view
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank janekamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2007

We stayed at the Irwin Inn in August of 2006 and found it amazing!!! It is very family oriented with plenty to do for the kids. The food was amazing (athough, as already said, the breakfasts left a little to be desired). The staff was very helpful and accomodating. We met so many nice families that we have already reserved for the same time this year. If you enjoy a relaxed enviroment with none of the snobishness that you get at other resorts then the Irwin Inn is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanelsmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We booked my parents' 60th anniversary weekend months in advance and went solely on the website claims and photos. What a disappointment.

Decor was 70's rec room. Rooms were shabby (but clean) with worn, aging bedlinens, saggy beds, and old stained carpets. There were flies breeding in the windows and we had to swish them outside or kill them several times a day. They advertised paddle boats (broken) and a hot tub (drained and full of dead flies) a pool (a pathetic little eyesore behind a scruffy fence) en suite bathrooms (one of ours had no water to tub or shower).

The average staff age appeared to be 16 and they offered no help or suggestions at reception.They only dug out brochures when we prodded. We suggested a boat tour of Stoney Lake so one was organized but that's the kind of thing other resorts offer routinely.

Our cabin of 4 "deluxe" rooms for 8 had only one key. When we asked for more to be cut the youg receptionist agreed but keys never materialized. Food was good but breakfast service was bad...the buffet ran out of eggs.. then bacon... then jam. Not enough butter pats on the table, no offered coffee refills, 2 or 3 sweetener packets, missed cutlery,one little cream pot for 8 people, and on and on. No-one seemed to be in charge and as an experienced holidayer, I resent having to ask for everything.

My parents seemed oblivious but I was sad that we marked this extra special occasion at such a mediocre establishment.

Helpful?
12 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwininnkeeper, Owner at The Irwin Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2008
Your review seems to be mostly relating to our service. At the Irwin Inn we do hire young students mostly for the friendly enthusiasm that they give to our quests. But I must admit that early in the summer season, and I believe you were here the first week of July, some are inexperienced. However they do learn very quickly and do respond to suggestions positively. Personally I am not fond of breakfast buffet style, but most of our guests enjoy the "all you can eat" aspect and the free choice. My breakfast cooks are Instructed and monitored not to prepare large quantities all at once to sit in chafing dishes, and dry out, only to ruin the food and the reputation we have for our Excellent food. The "just in time, fresh" approach is the only way to do a buffet and retain quality food. When a large group goes to the buffet at once, the fresh items can disappear quickly, but will be replenished quickly. Also our reputation for room cleanliness I believe is top notch but sometimes flies enter though open doors while you are in the rooms, and they always congregate on the brightest windows. Scheduled Sunset boat cruises are always free as are all facilities at Irwin Inn. Your special
request for a private cruise is not unusual and always accommodated for a group at no charge. Few resorts can match this level of service. Family owned and managed resorts stand alone when it comes to special request. Hospitality is what we offer and genuine friendly service is paramount and can at times be as, or more effective than staff experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakefield
14.2 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
101 reviews
22.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
469 reviews
24.4 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
226 reviews
10.8 mi away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
86 reviews
3.8 mi away
Viamede Resort
Viamede Resort
#1 of 1 in North Kawartha
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Irwin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Irwin Inn

Property: The Irwin Inn
Address: 1390 Irwin Rd | Douro Dummer, Lakefield, Ontario K0L 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin Inn is a perfect family Kawartha vacation resort destination and ideal waterfront resort for couples getaways. Amenities include: a 9-hole golf course, full English riding stable & equestrian centre for horseback riding lessons and trail rides, tennis, outdoor pool, sandy beach, and countless fun and interesting activities. Accommodations range from traditional, cozy rooms in the Inn to luxurious lakeside cottages and waterfront suites with private swimming pools or hot tubs."Every once in a while you come across a place where the service is extraordinary, the food is delicious, and the staff are warm & welcoming. Once you find this place you want to return again and again." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Irwin Hotel Lakefield
The Irwin Inn Lakefield, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing