We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasant experience”
Review of Pine Vista Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Vista Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lakefield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Cottage was old and run down. One of my kids came home with lice. It rained almost everyday,not that that is their fault, but few other activities to enjoy if the weather is bad... Need to invest in good satellite TV package.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delta1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha, Manager at Pine Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments, we review any problems that occur while vacationing with us, but it is always nice to rectify them at the time of stay. Sorry we did not get that opportunity.
We continue to strive for excellence in all areas of the business. Upgrades and new amenities to the resort are always in the works. Currently our satellite package consists of over 200 channels.
Unfortunately we can't control the weather, Hope you and your family can join us again sometime in the future.
Thanks again for bringing this to our attention.
Pine Vista Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    18
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
53
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed in Pine Vista 9-16 July 2011. Beautiful place with a second to none Kids club. Can understand why the locals return year in year out. Would love this place on our doorstep!. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We have gone to Pine vista Many times in the past. Before children and after.
i would highly recommend them.
Great service, Great accomodations
play and boating and fishing all fantastic
great hot tub , rec room and grounds..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmumof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
259 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Time of stay: We came off season near the end of October so the resort was very quiet.
Check in/out: Very pleasant - no issues at all.
Cottage: Stayed at the Heritage Manor which was very spacious and had that cottage feel. Three bathrooms upstairs and one full bathroom. Downstairs had a large living room, a TV with cable, a DVD player, a long galley style kitchen, a dining room and sitting area facing the deck with a nice lake view. Heat worked well which was important to note at that time of year. I have also seen the resort in the summer as well and it looked very inviting.
Another point to note is that the grounds are quite spacious and space between cottages is generous. Some resorts put the cottages right beside each other and there is not that much privacy.
Facilities: The fishing was very good at that time of year because the lake was quiet. My son caught (and released) several fish from the dock. Firewood is available, garbage and recycling is your responsibility. The main lodge has a small games room and library and a convenience store with very basic items. They will also give you dvds to use if it rains that day. Note that this is a housekeeping cottage and there is no restaurant on the premises. Other items (which we did not try) were an outdoor play area, shuffle board, an outdoor pool and hot tub. There are children's programs in the summer as well.
Overall: I would recommend this resort for a relaxing family getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank synToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Booked a March Break three night holiday for my family at this resort. We booked one of their Pines 2 bedroom cabins and had an incredible mini holiday here. The accommodations were spotless, the children's activity program was excellent, and the staff went out of their way to make your visit memorable.

Even though the snow had melted away for the winter activity program, the staff found a lot of wonderful replacement activities for families to do - Horse & Wagon rides, Scavenger Hunts, Movie Nights, Frisbee Golf, Camp Fires, Maple Syrup Taffy, a craft program, and nature walks.

The three days went by so fast - we didn't want to leave. It was well worth the 8 hour car ride for us to travel here. We definitely will be coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shutterbug64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2009

We stayed just before the Christmas 2009 rush and it was very, very good. We were the only ones in the Kawartha units and the owner said only 2 other families were on the resort at the same time. There was a tremendous amount of privacy, which is exactly what we wanted. We practically had exclusive access to all the available facilities. The nature trails were the highlight of our trip. They were secluded and peaceful (and we even saw a deer!). The unit was very clean, fully furnished and the staff were super friendly. We would love to go again but next time try it in the summer.

Byron and Sandy
PS. We recommend driving out to the highway and parking your car so you can see the thousands upon thousands of stars at night. Absolutely mindblowing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xsharkfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemere, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

It's hard to find a place that will please all members of a family. We loved our stay at Pine Vista Resort. Our teens (18 and 14) mingled with others of the same age, they participated in several activities and had enough space to do their own stuff. We enjoyed the fully furnished cottages, made some bar-b-ques, went canoeing, lounged around the pool, played shuffleboard etc. The setting by Stoney lake is idyllic.

We are hoping to go back again soon and recommend it warmly.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikiseeksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakefield
11.6 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
101 reviews
19.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
359 reviews
21.9 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
464 reviews
10.8 mi away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
226 reviews
5.3 mi away
Burleigh Falls Inn
Burleigh Falls Inn
#1 of 1 in Burleigh Falls
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Vista Resort

Property: Pine Vista Resort
Address: 932 Gilchrist Bay Rd | Douro-Dummer, Lakefield, Ontario K0L 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lakefield
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Vista Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Vista Resort is an award winning 4 season 4 star rated Housekeeping Resort on Stoney Lake in the Kawarthas. Centrally located under 2 hours from Toronto and 3 hours from Ottawa on the Trent Severn Waterway system. Upscale, fully equipped accommodation and Recreation programs and facilities for all ages. Rated 5 star with Fun For Kids. Enjoy, fishing, water activities, nature hiking and biking. In Winter take part in ice skating, tobogganing, horse drawn sleigh rides and Winter Carnivals. PGA Golf Course within 5 minutes as well as many dining out options. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Vista Hotel Ontario
Pine Vista Resort Lakefield, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing