We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River House Bed and Breakfast

The River House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The River House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Lakefield B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I was looking for an overnight break to get out of the city, and this was just the job. It was an easy drive from Toronto and a great option for a last minute/spontaneous escape.
The house is really cosy, comfortable and impeccably clean. The back garden has a gate that literally deposits you on a nature trail. and the front of the house overlooks the river - it's in a lovely spot.

We stayed in the attic suite which was much bigger than expected and had all the loving touches of staying with your favourite aunt. Embroidered cushions, lamps already lit and there was a bottle of wine and some chocolates waiting in our room. The breakfast the next morning was proper homecooking and delicious. Deb is a wonderful host, so welcoming and warm. We wished we could have stayed longer.

I would highly reccomend this BnB as a getaway for relaxation and enjoying the outdoors.
Peterborough is not too far by taxi/driving for dinner and dinner if you want some more lively that the local spot. And if you are in the area I would strongly suggest taking the time to visit the nearby Petroglyphs http://www.ontarioparks.com/park/petroglyphs (Largest known concentration of Aboriginal rock carvings in Canada). Fascinating place that a surpringly few amount of people have heard of.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FoxTripper04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

From the time we drove in the driveway till we left the next day following an unbelievably delicious breakfast, we couldn't have been treated better!! Deb was the ultimate hostess and my daughter and myself felt we had made a very special friend. I would highly recommend this lovely place, and hope to go back some time this year.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stanley, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My daughter and I stayed with Deb and Joe for a girl's weekend the last week of September. We were looking for a place where we could catch up and spend time together. The River House has two suites. We stayed in the back suite which has its own sitting room with a fridge and a table, as well as a separate bedroom with queen sized bed and satellite tv. It has it's own bathroom. The sitting room has a pull out bed. This room has a private entrance with a key and there was a most welcome chilled bottle of wine awaiting us on arrival. We didn't see much of Deb the first day, as we declined breakfast due to other plans. The second morning,we had an unbelievable breakfast of fresh fruit, yoghurt and granola, baked apple pancake and sausage with real maple syrup. The house overlooks the river in the front and in the back, the "rail trail" which leads up to the village of Lakefield. We hiked about 5 k, but if you want, there are half a dozen bikes available. We had such a good time that we are heading back up on Thanksgiving weekend. Normally, I'm not a B and B person, but Deb and Joe are most wonderful guests, totally relaxed, spending as much or as little time and giving as much or as little advice as you need. They seem psychic about their guests' needs! I can't say enough about this amazing B and B.

Room Tip: Back room is best for "privacy" - not sure about how the loft will go, it's bigger, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Archangelsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Fantastic stay! Everything was excellent! The house was beautiful, the location was charming, the food fantastic and the hosts were wonderful! We don't usually travel to the same destination twice but we have made an exception with the River House B&B and we are returning for the September long weekend. We stayed in the loft bedroom, it was lovely and very comfortable. We are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Troy-Hempey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brampton, ont.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had such a lovely peaceful night stay with a most delicious breakfast the next morning. We stayed in the loft upstairs which consisted of a king size (most comfortable) bed, extra bed for grown up or child, fresh air coming through the window facing the river, 3 pc. bathroom, microwave, fridge, relaxing chairs, table & chairs by the window (you just couldn't have a nicer room & service by Debby the owner. Highly recommend this B & B to anyone 100% satisfaction.
The warmth you are greeted by is such a good feeling. Front porch so inviting if you feel like sitting outside in the beautiful weather. I cannot speak highly enough of the warmth and peaceful stay we had.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank louella g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had such a nice stay in the top bedroom of the house/cottage. the room was perfectly clean and the service was exactly what you would want from a b & b. what a warm & welcoming place! our hostess made the most delicious home-made breakfast - it felt like home away from home. loved it!!!
it will be worth coming back to lakefield just to stay here again! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Level Contributor
457 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Very enjoyable. Good food and service and dessert was out of this world. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthDarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakefield
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
11.7 mi away
Pine Vista Resort
Pine Vista Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
10.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
9.4 mi away
Twin Pines Bed and Breakfast
Twin Pines Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 14 in Peterborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The River House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4069 County Road 32 | Douro-Dummer, On, Lakefield, Ontario K0L 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lakefield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The River House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River House Bed And Breakfast Lakefield, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing