We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stop on Footsteps of St. Paul Pilgrimage”

Saint Lydia's Baptistery
Book In Advance
More Info
$111.72*
and up
Day Tour of Philippi, Amphipolis, and Kavala
Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

The name of this place is "St. Lydia's Baptistry" but I couldn't find a way to fix the misspelling on Trip Adviser. This was one of the last stops on our 10-day St. Paul pilgrimage, an of all the places we went it was where I felt the closest connection to Paul. The beautiful modern baptistry is on a site that has a reasonable claim to being where Paul baptized Lydia, the first convert to Christianity in Europe. But my favorite spot is the outdoor chapel by the river where Lydia was baptized. seating has been build along the bank. A channel has been constructed where the water is calm enough for baptisms, and there is also a small island -- connected by a short bridge -- where our bishop celebrated Mass for us. The gift shop is wonderful, obviously run by devout people who weren't pressuring us for sales. This visit was a beautiful, spiritual experience that greatly aided my understanding of scripture.

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"journey"
in 4 reviews
"chapel"
in 2 reviews
"paul"
in 7 reviews
"greece"
in 2 reviews
"paintings"
in 3 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 20 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

They have done a great job with his site whether in a large group or just with a few. Staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. There are no ruins just the river running through it. A great place to stop and read the story from the Bible.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank MartyO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2015

Lydia is known as the first person in Europe to respond to the Gospel. She is therefore known as the first to be Baptized on European soil. We had read about this and were thrilled to actually visit where history was made!

The traditional location is now a convent ran by the nuns of St Lydia and consists of a few buildings and a spacious parking area.

There is not a fee to park or visit the location. There is also a concrete path to the riverside and a small seating area is there.

After visiting the riverside, we stopped at the cafe/gift shop and had cake and coffee. We also purchased a few items in the gift shop.

Date of experience: April 2015
3  Thank TravelnurseUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Lydia's Baptistery also viewed

Kavala, Kavala Region
 

Been to Saint Lydia's Baptistery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing