We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
is definitely worth a visit

Trek from Micro Papigo takes about 4 hours depending on your condition. There are 4 shelters along... read more

Reviewed September 28, 2018
AndreaB1188
,
Bohumin, Czech Republic
Up up and away!

serious hick...3/4 hours to refuge then couple hours there and back to Dragon Lake...unless you are... read more

Reviewed June 17, 2018
swallowtails1
Read all 67 reviews
  
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
57
7
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
57
7
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews astraka mountain three hours takes about hours wild horses lake refuge dragon snow lodge trek 5hrs break nests surroundings water papigo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 67 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

It's one of a kind place, unique!! It takes us approximately 5 hours to go by foot but it deserves it! We were swimming there and it was great!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank theofak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

A steep climb through the forest brings you above the tree line to the Astraka mountain lodge with fantastic views. You can then walk for about another hour to the Dragon lake - a beautiful walk with many wildflowers - orchids and electric-blue gentians. Great expansive views in all around, walking there and back.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017

If you stay in the area, I thing it is one of the hikkings you need to undertake. It is middle range of difficulty. It is managable also for the inexperienced. You need to calculate then the whole day. Start early and take many breaks at the wells. They are 4 of them on your way, no need to carry a lot of water. The refuge is another place where you can rest and have simple food. No matter how you sweat, it is worthy the trial.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank lkiosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile

I am not a professional hiker nor am I a hiking enthusiast. The hike is tough and you must be prepared for a walk 5 hours up even though it states around 4. Did not use a hiking pole but I am sure it will help a great deal and reduce strain on knees.

You will need to spend almost 5hrs up to see the lake. Prepare to dip in the afternoon if you are not afraid of the cold waters. Some found it exciting to just jump in and swim and scream.

Along the way you will spot some creatures like goats & sheeps or shepherd dogs. Be careful they are wild and have their temperament.

Only a refuge stop after 3 hours. Take a quick rest and move on. The road ahead is still long to the lake. Take note of weather conditions too.

I must say the lake is average looking. Though photo turns out nice somehow but it is average looking. Perhaps if u camp overnight looking at stars or look at sunrise in morning it can be really amazing. In the afternoon it was alright.

Along the way there are water points maybe every 40min to 1 hour. At certain stop maybe no. Bring 2 of 500ml water is enough with some snacks to last you. Walking on rocky terrains is tough be careful of rocks and knee strain. Also many "natural fertiliser" from animals along the path, walk steadily.

The scenery along the way can be very beautiful at times when you look up or look beyond, behind u as u pause for a break to check your surrounds.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank AidanEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017

I would strongly recommend walking poles if planning to visit this little lake, it is a long uphill slog from Papigo - allow at least 3 hours, but there are a number of springs on the way so you do not need to carry a lot of water, and the nearby refuge sells food. Some nutters run the route. The path is clear and there are occasional signposts, and the wildflowers are amazing. The lake is a lovely spot when you eventually reach it, there are loads of cute little newts that give it its name, and the water is cool but lovely to swim in, the chances are you'll be pretty hot by the time you get here. On the far side of the lake is the most terrifying view I have ever seen - you are 2000 metres up. I had to lie on my tummy to look at this. Picnic spots don't get much better than this.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Greedymort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews