We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papaevangelou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Papaevangelou Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papigko
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a great week-end rafting Voidomatis and staying at this hotel. Giorgos, the owner is super friendly and combined with this peaceful breathtaking environment we have returned back home but spiritually still there. Would not stay in any other place when (not "if") we go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
137
281
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to this wonderful place! Again we were welcomed with great warmth and kindness, making it immediately a comfortable place to be. The setting is amazing - so beautiful, and there are carpets of wildflowers just a few metres beyond the hotel.Our room was warm and full of lovely features and we were lulled to sleep by a nearby nightingale. There is a lovely terrace where you can sit on comfy sofas, amid pots overflowing with flowers, looking at the fantastic view. Breakfasts are magnificent! - up to 8 varieties of home made jams and freshly made apple cake just a small part of what you're given.
The walking is great - suiting the energetic to the dawdlers (like us!). The village has many small restaurants each with its different character, so there is no need to go anywhere else - plenty to explore in a small area.
Can't rate it highly enough and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The first thing you notice is how well adapted Papaevangelou Hotel is to its surroundings — and those surroundings are spectacular indeed. Built entirely of stone and slate, like the other buildings in Papingo, the hotel sits high atop a ridge above the town, offering the visitor breathtaking views of the Astrakas mountain range and its deep, wooded, gorge. A dramatic hiker’s and photographer’s paradise, a veritable symphony of nature :-)

The owner, George Papaevangelou, is the perfect host...friendly, helpful, informative. He will tell you the best hiking trails, where to get a good meal in town, which places in the area are worth a visit. In addition to his ample and varied breakfast, he will make whatever style of coffee you want, on order. The rooms are large, clean, airy, sunny, and all with a good view.

Realy, if you want a great little hotel in breathtaking surroundings, Papaevangelou is it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went there at the end of a loooong day and we discovered this fabulous place...all is perfect and fantastic .... But something and I should say someone is fabulous ... Just stay there to enjoy the Life and live à dream

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

During my travels back to the homeland, I visit Zagori from time to time for hiking. Papaevangelou is a great place to stay when in Zagori. The rooms are all in a traditional style, built and decorated to a very high standard, and with nice views. We chose a room downstairs, because we liked the atmosphere and the view from the bathroom: I had my shower looking at Gamila (aka Tymfi, the high mountain towering over Papiggo). Bliss!
The breakfast is great too, with good coffee (that's VERY important) and a wide selection of foods, all homemade. I scoffed a whole jar of strawberry marmalade, having worked my way through cakes, different kinds of breads, eggs, cheeses, honey, etc... A perfect way to start your long hike to Gamila or whatever activity you're planning to do in Zagori. Papiggo is close to Kleidonia, where you can do river kayaking and to the Spiliotissa monastery, which can be found after an easy and short hike from Aristi. (Another nice and not too difficult hike is from the bridge of Aristi to Kleidonia, along Voidomatis river.)

The couple who own the hotel are both very friendly and helpful, and will give you advice about where to go and what to do, if you haven't done your 'homework'. We'll certainly be going there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. When we were there, the downstairs floor had just been refurbished to a very hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Many people have written about the natural beauty of the Zagoria region of Greece and Georgio who runs Papaevangelou. The beauty of the region is right on, and Papaevangelou is your home in the sky. From the moment you enter the property, Georgio makes you feel like one of the family. He goes out of his way to make your experience totally enjoyable and one to always remember. Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The property is at the highest point in Megalo Papigo with magnificent views of the mountains. After exploring the region and towns there in by day, we'd strolled down the cobblestone streets to restaurants for dinner Georgio would recommend by night. We would always strike up a conversation with nice people who either lived in Papigo, or were there like us on holiday which made for memorable evenings. Most tourists traveling to Greece on holiday, never venture out of the tourist areas like Athens or Olympia to see the beauty of Greece. The region of Zagoria, and Papaevangelou, should be added to any tourists destination while visiting Greece. This was by far the best part of our Greece holiday.

Room Tip: Love our room/suite above the archway. It had a single day lounger plus a queen size bed and plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertzliya
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you visit Zagoria you MUST stay at Papaevangelo!!!
Although the way up to Papigko is long and winding, it is worth it! The view is exceptional. The room is spacious, very comforable and very well equiped and maintained.
Breakfast is superb, rich and tasty. The owner, Iorgos (George), is so friendly and cheerful. He will make you the best coffee ever whenever you ask.
We stayed there 3 nights and enjoyed evey minute!
Thank you Iorgos!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrahmsY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papigko
3.7 mi away
Aristi Mountain Resort and Villas
3.5 mi away
Aberratio Boutique Hotel
6.2 mi away
Primoula Country Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aristi's Mansion
Aristi's Mansion
#4 of 4 in Aristi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
8.5 mi away
Archontiko Dilofou
Archontiko Dilofou
#1 of 1 in Dilofo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arkefthos Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papaevangelou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papaevangelou Hotel

Property: Papaevangelou Hotel
Address: | Megalo Papigo, Papigko 44 004, Greece
Location: Greece > Epirus > Ioannina Region > Zagorohoria > Papigko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papigko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Papaevangelou Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Papaevangelou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papaevangelou Hotel Epirus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing