We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for cycle routes”
Review of Postel Ter Heyde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Postel Ter Heyde
Ranked #3 of 4 Retie B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for one night whilst doing the Flanders Cycle Route. The hotel couldn't be closer to the cycle route and is the perfect distance between Mechelin and Maaseik or Thorn. Basic clean rooms with a good view of the canal. One thing to be aware of is that the hotel specializes in beef, locally sourced, but the chef did cook a nice vegetarian dish on request.

As mentioned by a previous poster the breakfasts seem a bit hit and miss and again meat focused, but they did provide cereal on request.

Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve345uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
There are newer reviews for Postel Ter Heyde
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Arrived on the Sunday lunch time for a cycling holiday, and had to find the landlord who was serving people in the tavern. Found him and said who I was, then he sort of pushed the room key in my hand and that was that, we had checked in lol.

The room was very basic for the price and it was not a very nice room. The handle of the wardrobe was a screw (see picture), TV was a little 14" one with about 6 channels. Kettle was not in the room, and net curtains was unheard of as well, so the room just above the pub's terrace and with nice weather you had to close the bathroom curtains and shower in the dark if you did not want to be on show!! The shower looked really attractive with the massage jets and a shower, so I had to try this out. Only one problem, the jets did not work! Oh well that was not going to spoil our holiday we had been looking forward to for a while.

Came down the first morning for breakfast, and it was delicious, warm crusty rolls,. cheese, 2 different sort of meats, boiled eggs orange juice and coffee as much as you wanted. That got some real big brownie points. Came down the second morning and there was 2 cold rolls each with chocolate spread and strawberry jam, a cup of coffee and... THAT WAS IT. No meat, no eggs, no warm rolls, no orange juice, zilch, nothing, nada. We still were not going to let our holday be spoiled because of it, so my wife complained to the waitress in the afternoon, she called the boss, and the next morning breakfast was all OK again.

The first day we came back from our cycle ride and the room looked really clean, apart form the floor which had sand and dirt on, so clearly the room was not vacuumed when they cleaned it. Well maybe the maid had been out on the town the night before so OK, let her of and see what the next day brings. Well, the next day resulted in a complaint (again after the breakfast one) as we came back from cycling to the room, with unmade beds, dirty floor, towels that were wet from the day before, in other words to a dirty room !! Complaint made, and hey hey the next day it resulted in a clean room with made beds again!

In the bathroom however, the walls are paper thin, and if in the room next door someone lets of wind you are going to enjoy the sound of it as well, so not that ideal :-)

All in all, not too bad a hotel but way, way overpriced for what it is, a very basic room with breakfast above a pub!
€40 per person, per night, it just is way too much, and unfortunately even though it is in a very nice area, I will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: If you are going to this area, have a look around on the internet and you will find better value for...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Arthur E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donatella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ger v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Postel Ter Heyde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postel Ter Heyde

Address: Postelsebaan 74, Retie 2470, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Retie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Retie
Price Range: $82 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Postel Ter Heyde 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Postel Ter Heyde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing