We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Downhill”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reggie's Camel Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed at Reggie's 2 years ago and returned March 2012. Simply put, things have declined at Reggie's. In fact, Reggie commented to one member of our party that he "was done with camels and was developing a new property in Udaipur." It shows. The fountains were either empty or very dirty. The whole place had an unkempt look and lacked many of the exotic touches of my last visit. The tents were not well maintained - the bedding was dirty and worn. The food was nondescript and only average. The gardens were dying. We did not have hot water during our visit. The service was average at best. And the train blasts by about every 45 minutes all night long. A stay at Reggie's is interesting and generally enjoyable - for one night. But it currently does not match earlier reviews. I would certainly evaluate other "camel camp" options.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasJetLag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 116 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had a 2 days/1 night package at Reggie's Camel Camp in Osian end of January. After reading so many great reviews on Trip Advisor, we were looking forward to be there but we were extremely disappointed!

We specifically chose the early afternoon package so that we would have 2.5 hours camel safari time and get to visit local villages as well as see animals on the way, as they advertise on their website.
They asked us to be there for lunch so we rushed our visit to the beautiful city of Jodhpur. Upon arrival, we were told that the camel safari would only start from 5PM and last only 1 hour, and that in the meantime we should wait 2 hours doing nothing...We were surprised as it was not what we booked but the camp manager told us the package we were refering to was not the one we booked. We were confused but there were no way of checking the internet there...So all we had was a 1 hour safari, which really means only 15 minutes top in the desert as it takes nearly 40 mns to get out of the camp and be on real sand.

Once back home we checked their website and indeed the package we paid for included a camel safari of 2.5 hours starting from 3pm. We really felt ripped off! After complaining to Reggie, he told us that he would take this safari out of the website as they had similar problems in the past, but one month later no change on the website...

Plus, the location is not very remote, it is quite close from the city (there was a party right next to the camp, which was so noisy we couldn't sleep), really close to a train railway (also very noisy during the night), and the sand next to it is not very nice. The tents and the camp are nice, the food was OK, but nothing fantastic.

We were extremely disappointed and the experience we had was definitely not worth the money. We felt ripped off, definitely not worth 12,000Rps!!!

We loved every part of our Rajasthan trip but only this experience left us with a bitter souvenir.

If you have a tight itinerary, do not make time to go there, it's not worth it!

And if you do go, definitely make sure to check with them before what is included in the package.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ludivine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This trip was simply amazing!! We booked 2 nights, one in the desert and one in the main camp. We were 2 couples of good friends going together. Our camel-"drivers" were so friendly. They sang and were helpful every time we asked them what we saw. Reaching the desert camp at sunset just took our breaths away. The camp was so luxurious. Even though we were in the dessert, we had toilets and "running" water in the sink for tooth brushing and a real bed to sleep in. We were stunned to say the least. Our host in the desert, Dipi, was so friendly and warm and we felt so spoiled! :D

On the second day we headed out in the morning after a nice breakfast and a hot(?!) shower! :D Who can ask for more :) Around noon we reached the lunch site. Again we were speechless. The food was so good and they had found the perfect spot with and great view. After that we drove to the AMAZING main camp, where we were greeted by 4 friendly german shepherds. Again our "rooms" were tents - more permanent than the ones in the desert though - and it was unbelievable. flushing toilets, running water and a hot shower and a real comfortable bed. For some it might be normal, but we didn't expect that kind of luxury in the dessert :D We would have loved to stay for an whole week.

We had to spend a day in Jodhpur before our train denaturing in the evening. But when one friend got sick Reggie was enormously helpful arranging a room for him at a bed&breakfast in Jodhpur. He also helped us finding auto rickshaw drivers to take us around for the day. We absolutely could not ask for more! :D

So a real big and warm thank you to Reggie, Dipi and the rest of the team that made our desert adventure unforgettable. :D We are already planning a trip to Reggies Mountbatten Lodge :D

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitaCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I don't usually feel compelled to write a review, but my husband and I had such a lovely night's stay that I wanted to say a big thank you to Reggie and his brilliant team of staff and to encourage others to visit too. We stayed for 1 night as part of our honeymoon in November. We arrived just in time for lunch - I'm glad since the food was delicious. Staff are attentive, Reggie himself a friendly host and the place is beautiful - our tent was spacious, impeccably clean and it felt like such a treat to be staying there. Thank you Reggie for organising our very special, petal-scattered dinner table in the turret - one of our honeymoon highlights! The only bad point was having to leave the next day! As for the train noise others have mentioned in their reviews - I didn't find it annoying at all. I'm an incredibly light sleeper and wasn't kept awake by the rumbling tracks in the distance! Can't wait to go back one day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ayesha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay here. Our room (tent) was nicely done up and our queen sized bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The food was delicious and there was sufficient variety for us; the service was superb. We did not consume any alcohol. We took a short camel ride during the day and enjoyed it. We liked the tipping guidelines that asked us not to tip staff individually but to leave a tip in a box at the end of our stay. The whole site is clean and beautifully laid out including the swimming pool although it was too cold for us during our January stay. The best part of our stay was the performance by Rajasthani musicians and the accompanying dancer who performed in the evening light while we were surrounded by a bonfire in a massive cauldron or metal pot. The only slight negative was the absence of internet access. The train passing by at night did not bother us too much.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Having read the mostly enthusiastic reviews about Reggie's Camel Camp, I expected something close to paradise on earth. Well, it didn't exactly life up to its reputation...
The few positive features: Very nicely decorated and designed palace and tents. Good service, clean, the most comfortable beds we slept on in India, hot water, nice swimming pool, free pick up/drop off (in our case, only Osian).
Considering the hefty price of approx. 12'000 Indian Rupees per night for a double room/tent (without taxes), the negative list is by far too long - particularly regarding price-performance ratio:
- Location: Although the camp sits on a (the only) sand dune, due the very close proximity to Osian (from the swimming pool, you go down to the dune, cross the rail way line and the town starts on the other side...approx. 500-600m distance) you don't feel being in the desert as you hear the city noise, the train horn (all night, ask for ear plugs) and the autorikshaws honk. Conclusion: The solitude of the desert is definitely not what you get.
- Service: Although the service is very attentive, it tends to get too eager: it seems as if the staff wants to force their pace on the guests. It should be the other way: The customer is king. Some examples: We were having a rest in the tent when the staff was "knocking" at our tent telling us that it was time to see the dance performance. People on holiday want to relax. In my view, this particularly implies that you don't want to have the feeling that you have to stick to a tight and semi-compulsory time schedule (e.g. as if being at a work related conference)
- Dance/music performance: Quite nice, but don't force guests to participate in dancing along.
- Food: Tasty, but not much variety (particularly, if you stay more than one night). No fruits for breakfast. Tablecloths have stains. Waiters tend to grab your plate and cutlery a millisecond after you have finished eating.
- No Internet/no WI-FI: This is quite unacceptable for this price range (12'000 INR for a double tent, excl. taxes). However, you may ask to use one of the computers of the staff.
- Drinks: Overpriced and hardly any alcohol in it. Don't even think about the champagne at sun set for the camel ride: Apart from the fact that the champagne gets shaken during the camel ride, this service is just simply ridiculously expensive!
- Camel ride: As the guides hardly speak any English, it is very difficult to interact.
- Romance: I still don't understand how the camel camp made it into the list of the 20 most romantic hotels on this planet...
Should you plan to stay at Reggie's camal camp anyway - don't book/pay ahead; vacancy isn't a problem (which gives you plenty of bargaining power)

Overall impression: Enormously comfortable bed in a luxury tent in a wanna be romantic palace that sits on the only sand dune just around the corner of the outskirts of Osian that comes at an overpriced rate. Hence, skip the camal camp and invest the saved money in a more upmarket accommodation in Jaisalmer or Jodhpur.

Room Tip: Take tents with a patio in front of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dustygianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed two nights at the camel camp with friends, in transit between Narlai and Jodhpur.

The place is elaborated designed and decorated, a kind of faux castle, with separate dining halls for each meal of the day, courtyards with seating spaces, and a swimming pool. It's guarded by six German shepherds that are hunting dogs - they'll be friendly to you, but intruders and the neighbors' cats should beware. We were warmly greeted by the eponymous Reggie, who is outgoing and personable and invited everyone to drinks (but not on the house).

Our tent, one of the ten or so that have permanent foundations, was quite attractively laid out, with a full marble-floored bathroom including flush toilet, basin, and shower. However, we'd booked a twin, and they gave us a double; when we asked for twin beds, they said they'd have to move us to a lower-quality tent on the other side of the complex. Instead, they provided a foam cot, which took up most of the tent's leftover floor space.

However, you should know that the appearance of this place is probably its best aspect. That, and the wonderful music performed nightly from 6-7 by a local group of musicians, who are very receptive to audience appreciation and participation. (These folks aren't paid by Reggie, so you might want to give them a generous tip.)

When you arrive, your party will be handed a price list for drinks. Look at it carefully, because soon it will be taken away - perhaps you'd better memorize it. They make a lot of money on the drinks markup.

The lovely pool is lovely, but because it's unheated, no one who tried was able to stay in swimming for more than a minute.

Though, like most Indian hotels, the Camel Camp have generators, electricity is extremely iffy; power was off by 8 a.m. and often intermittent at night. In addition, hot water was not reliably available even when promised; three times, once at 9 p.m. at night, we had to hunt down staff members to insist that they make the hot water flow.

Most important: the camp is located adjacent to train tracks, and from midnight on, we were roused repeatedly out of sleep by the whistles of multiple trains (probably 6-7 per night). This isn't the pleasant faraway sound of a train in the distance - it's like you're right in the station waiting to greet a disembarking friend. The owner knows it's a problem and provides a packet of foam earplugs for each guest. However, the earplugs (rated at 28db) can't begin to block out that kind of noise.

Our 4-hour "camel safari" - something to which we had very much looked forward - was underwhelming to say the least. The guides leading our camels were talking on their cell phones most of the time, then they changed the trip plan suddenly at 11 a.m., converting what was supposed to be a 15-minute break into a proposed hour-long break and moving back lunchtime from 12:30 to 2 p.m.. We bailed on the final two hours and the "champagne lunch" part of the ride, which - we found after asking - cost an extra $90 for the bubbly. The guides were not interested in talking to us about the camels or about the scenery; it was a pretty dull experience and not particularly scenic.

Our friends were startled when the toilet in their tent bathroom tipped over and smashed onto the floor in the middle of the night with a crash matched only by the night-time train sounds. They were not reassured when a staff member tried to make them feel better by telling them that they would not have to pay for the damaged toilet. (!) They had to make do, that night and the following morning, by using the bathroom in an adjacent tent.

We are experienced travelers in South Asia, having stayed at a variety of hotels and lodgings, and we would recommend this place only as a last resort. It's kind of a pity, because the fort itself is so gorgeous - but the amenities and comforts are sadly inadequate.

Room Tip: The tents with permanent foundations are superior to the canvas-only tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jadwin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osian hotels
1.3 mi away
Safari Camp Osian
Safari Camp Osian
#1 of 7 in Osian
92 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Rawla Osian Resort
#6 of 7 in Osian
2 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reggie's Camel Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reggie's Camel Camp

Address: Behind the Tagore School, Osian 000000, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Osian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Osian
Price Range: $220 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Reggie`s Camel Camp Hotel Osian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing